radiator got oil

anakin

Dear Sifus,

about a few months ago, my engine got over heated and caused my to replace my head gasket and skim my engine head as well. everthing seems to be ok until recently i found out that my radiator if full of mud and can see a bit of oil on the surface inside the spare water tank.

i've try to clean up the radiator by using water and also radiator cleaner. but the things come back after a week. then, i try to add in coolant and the result is better. but a few weeks later i can still see the coolant got contaiminated.

anybody know what's the cause of it? which are the parts that i need to look into? if need to replace parts/ servicing, how much does it cost roughtly? can i just ignore this problem and will it harm my engine further?

thanks for all the advice.

bro just go and flush ur radiator any workshop can do....after dat if still gt oil...i think ur block gt crack already just do a check and see la....tis are the ony 2 options....by da way wad u think is mud in the radiator is actually rust...which is very normal in radiator after a long run....a flush will clean tht out...anything pm me !!!

r u sure oil
if its oil then most probably ur head gasket gave way already
wont be engine break laaa, dnt scare him lolx
also check ur oil dip stick, if got water kinda spots, then u know laa, ur water has reached the oil pan already
best u perform a radiator flush , then see how things go

well, first of all, thanks for all the advice.

but i don't think it's the head gasket as i've replaced it last time when my engine got overheated (about 6 months ago). what i'm worry is that the workmanship when skimming the head it not good enough and now the oil still splash through to the water chamber.

not sure about it.

try flushing ur radiator and engine 1st.
u need to take out the thermostat thou.
run water thru the radiator n radiator hose for a while.

then assemble back all the hose and refill.
see if still got oil after running the engine.

well, first of all, thanks for all the advice.

but i don't think it's the head gasket as i've replaced it last time when my engine got overheated (about 6 months ago). what i'm worry is that the workmanship when skimming the head it not good enough and now the oil still splash through to the water chamber.

not sure about it.

agree most probably they not skim the head nicely...

agree with all the above. it may be due to

1. cylinder head gasket blown again. avoid low quality gasket. try metal type if u want
2. cylinder head not nicely skimmed. it maybe still distorted
3. engine block cracked. this is very costly repair and time consuming. try swapping engine as alternative.

the mixed oil in radiator is maybe only residue from engine block, which were not flushed properly.

my suggestion - carry out cooling system pressure test and from there you will know whether there is any leak or not. externally or internally.

zan,

where can i get the cooling system pressure test? any other test i can do at home to check if there's any leaking?