water pump leak..dono should replace or fix.. dono how much

sam1741

hi all...
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v473/sam1741/pump-leak3.jpg

my water pump got leak
but the water inside the radiator.. is ok, i just need to refill it about once in 2 weeks,
each time just fill in less than 500ml

so i need to change it or not?
is it serious?

just now i start the car for about a minute
and there already got 5, 6 drops of water....

anyone know ... can fix one?
or need to replace?
dono how much is the price...

i so poor..

Better to replace it... if water pump jams... engine will overheat!

normally water pump leaks when its cold. once engine is hot, metal expand and the leak is temperarily sealed. that explains why small amount of water is loss over the period of two weeks.

preventive is better than curing, same goes to cooling system. i strongly suggest change the water pump. its not so expensive. but as the labour to change water pump is almost similar to change timing belt, get the timing belt change as well. unless u had just change the belt last month. :D

zan said:
normally water pump leaks when its cold. once engine is hot, metal expand and the leak is temperarily sealed. that explains why small amount of water is loss over the period of two weeks.

preventive is better than curing, same goes to cooling system. i strongly suggest change the water pump. its not so expensive. but as the labour to change water pump is almost similar to change timing belt, get the timing belt change as well. unless u had just change the belt last month. :D
my car no timing belt lor... is OHV.. :D
got fan belt and compressor (air cond) belt only..

er..
how much ppl change timing belt ar?

so time to spent money liao..

change to a better one lo.. fixing this kind of thing will be not realiable.. if no budget, get 2nd lo..

sam1741 said:
my car no timing belt lor... is OHV.. :D
got fan belt and compressor (air cond) belt only..

er..
how much ppl change timing belt ar?

so time to spent money liao..

OHV? urs is what car? KE10 corolla ke? wahh..FR huh?

er.. my car is old car
120y.. :D

i think later i go halfcut shop find water pump liao

so normally new one cost how much?

the water pump runs on seal & gasket , after some time sure to give way . so buying second hand one might will probably last for 5k km or so . a new one only cost about RM 120 to 150 GMB japan made . labour would be slightly expensive cause alot of work needed to be done .

oic... so buy new one from japan better.....

sigh.. have to start eat bread liao
hope end of this month can get enough ...
maybe around 400 can do it....