Pls help!!!!!!!

raining

hi everybody,recently i brought an evolution 7.5 GTA from a malay gentlement from damansara,it's a black one shown in 'The Motortrader' recently. When i first drive the car,it seems ok n everything seems normal..After an hour driving the car,i found that the 'Engine Check' light was on,but after i drive it for a while,it was gone again. BUt,it was on again n then off...usually,the period when it was on depends,sometimes 15 minutes,sometimes 1 hour. I went to some workshop to get everything check up,some said there was leaking of air-flow,some said the censor break down,but none of them got the problem fixed..until now,the light was on and off from time to time. Has any evolution owner face the similiar problem before? My car engine was not heavily modified,the previous owner changed the exhaust system, the blow off valve, turbo timer n boots timer. I need some advice from you all since this is my first turbo-charged car, i really wish this problem can be fixed as soon as possible,and i really need help. Thank you.

what type of AIR FILTER did ur car use??
u can check ur air flow meter...
anything happen u can post it here...
i'm not a foreman but trying to give u a hand...:nurse:

do u have any piggy back or any aftermarket ecu?
maybe some wiring longar somewhere i guess...

Bro, ask the mechanic to check for air leaking silico hoses (i.e. BOV, intercooler, etc.)

Last time my BOV had a tear in the silicone hose ..... mechanic were looking high & low for the leak ... until i finally located the leak.

Hope this helps...

But the other bros suggestion also must be checked...

Keep us posted

Rgds...

Suggest do OBDII check with MUT or X431 (or even with laptop + tactrix) to check what the CEL said. There should be an error code that tell what is faulty rather than guessing here and there.

air leaking will cause engine check light?didn know that

btw,the owner really a gentleman to let u test his car over an hour:rofl:

air leaking will cause engine check light?didn know that

btw,the owner really a gentleman to let u test his car over an hour:rofl:

Yup, Ken. Mine kena. Engine check light came on ... the leak was at the BOV side. Cannot boost above 0.8 bar.

Hmm..this looks like a job for....Ten, ten ten...Mr. P and Mr. VP to go for rescue and get another member in..hehehehe

Hi raining,

do u use any aftermarket ecu.. i.e e-manage or other piggy back type. If yes , nothing to be worry about. It's just a signal that during that time your injector in fully on duty... just need a re-tuning. normally will happen if u r driving under very hot weather.

hi everybody,
Thanks for all ur useful informations,i really appreciate it. I only found out the problem after buying the car. Anyway,the problem is solved after i went through 3 workshops,it was the problem caused by the loosing of air pressure due to unproper connectivity of one of the air hose. The problem was solved once they put back the air hose.(only after i went to the 3rd workshop) The engine light was on to warn us not to kick the paddle so hard since it might cause engine damage due to unstable air flow,but i don't know what they call that hose...something like maniflow air intake hose. Well anyway,thank you all brother.

hi everybody,i have another question. My GTA is a standard stock car with a little modifications like boots controller,turbo timer,exhaust system and HQV blow off valve,but the turbo timer shows the 1.2bar when i boots the turbo,usually standard stock comes around 0.7 bar,may i know why like that? is it consider normal?

hi everybody,
Thanks for all ur useful informations,i really appreciate it. I only found out the problem after buying the car. Anyway,the problem is solved after i went through 3 workshops,it was the problem caused by the loosing of air pressure due to unproper connectivity of one of the air hose. The problem was solved once they put back the air hose.(only after i went to the 3rd workshop) The engine light was on to warn us not to kick the paddle so hard since it might cause engine damage due to unstable air flow,but i don't know what they call that hose...something like maniflow air intake hose. Well anyway,thank you all brother.

Bro Raining ... ho seh liao!!! Hahahaha seems like u kena same-same as me ..... that time I located the fault after leaving my car for almost a day at the workshop while i was at work. the mechanics search high & low, tune & re-tune the ECU ... until i saw the BOV was vibrating whenever the boost was applied ... check check then found the problem ... KNS!! tiao the mechanics lor ...
But great to hear that your sleepless nights over liao .... Now u can contact Mr. P or Mr. VP on how u can become a MLOC member and join us for TT/convoys/outings!!!