sw20 power steering problem

yn_hell

Jul 27, 2005
hi, need some help from the sifus.
my power steering went off few months back, it was fix (the electronic board).
but recently, it went off and on again, as in sometimes when i start the power steering went off, then when i start the car again after few hours, it went on again. anyone know how shd i fix it?

soff

Nov 13, 2005
iexit knows. iexit advuse pls.

I think it is the relay getting dirty. Plug the key in and out making full turns each time for about 20 times, real fast. It should clean it.

soff

Nov 13, 2005
what can I say SW20 has character plus it's 20 years old, who knows what they build then.

midship

Jul 22, 2004
Across the pond
www.nismo.com.my
Soff is quite right... as the shape/edges of the key are worned after some time and therefore the power steering contact point fails to detect the key and does not activate.

You will need to insert the key in and turn to the ACC position several times to make sure contact is made. Repeat until it is resolved failling which you may need to replace the key ignition chamber.

in the new edition
this some of the fun car we coated with more fun and pleasure

bringing you the fiesta

we ciated this 2 months ago