change power steering fluid

skyline2m

i've changed my power steering fluid
the prob is the day i've change my power steering fluid, my steering runs smooth i the steering is very light
but after 1 week, my steering return to the previous condition that the steering is hard
what is the prob?hw can i do with it
i've asked my friend and he says got air inside the power steering hose and he teach me to repair it. he teach me to turn my steering over and over again when the engine is on. i've tried but nthng happens

if u turn right & left the fluid lvl no decrease, tht mean there was no air inside. so u gonna do is to check the power steering belt, loose will make the power steering heavy, so adjust till tight so the power steering will lighter. or u must send to the expert worker to check yr power steering rack, how is the condition...

i also got same problem...mine is taken from halfcut...when cold...engine power steering very good...but after driving sometime...the steering will be heavy quite often...how ocme???could it be that the fluid is too hot already??

could it be in our head? coz drive long ady of course sien la ... hehhheh..

i saw mr. nismo's hiper dcm silvia uses some kinda fireproof socks to cover his power steering bottle and brake pump bottle.... is it the similar theory??...

Doink said:
i also got same problem...mine is taken from halfcut...when cold...engine power steering very good...but after driving sometime...the steering will be heavy quite often...how ocme???could it be that the fluid is too hot already??

i not sure...but some cars hv power steering oil cooler....i.e impreza gc8 sti version....

Doink said:
got noisy or not??? got clean before fill new the new fluid??? the fluid is it SP-III??? now many cars use proton SP-III brand, now KIA & Hyundai we use proton too...

1st...are u sure the fellow help u change all the power steering oil?
coz got some mechanic only change the oil from the resevoir.
and the steering rack stil use back the old oil.
is beter to flush the whole steering system.
it wil cost below rm200.
i guarantee u can feel the difrent.
how old is ur car? wat car?
check oso ur belt and oil leak.
if everyting ok...the problm should be the oil u using...
oil vapourize oso can cause lag to steer.

wash ur engine bay, then drive it for a few days...

- check reservoir tank cap, the cap rubber in good condition or not...
- check for any leaks ...

hope it will help u...try that first...

my car model is isuzu troper
year 1994
the time when i change my ps fluid i've fully drain all the fluid by turning the steering to left and right to drain it all
is any 1 of u are kind enough simply sms with me and tell me 0138849299
coz i seldom online