SW20 Power Steering.....

cynicks

Feb 29, 2004

Need some help here, my SW20, just today, I faced a P/S light ON, at the dash. Power Steering is not working. Checked the fluids, all ok, what can be at fault ?

Any one faced the same problem before ?:sad_smile:

henria86

Jul 14, 2006
hello..
most likey its the power steering relay.. or check the fuse its a fuseabli link..
just flick the keys in the ign on an off very fast just to see if it comes on.. or swap out relays from another mr2..

henri

goober

Jul 20, 2005
Cynicks,

Happens to me sometimes too. Henria is correct. Try the relays first, secondly try using your spare key to turn on the car. It sometimes works.

iexit

Aug 18, 2005
iexit.multiply.com
Or u can keep turning the key and pulling it out several times as fast as you can… it sometimes restores the power steering…

Don’t ask how, it just works.

p/s are you still selling off your baby?

cynicks

Feb 29, 2004

Restored the power steering on and off, start and restart... funny eh...

Iexit, yeah, waiting for some interesting party to offer....

Evo^Madz

Nov 8, 2005
cynicks... i got the same problem few months ago. I think its the relay. I am still trying to get the relay replace. Somehow I try to flicker the relay and the problem ok now........ *wondering*

lek9925

Nov 7, 2006
how about just work few sec only when after start ? and when u rest the gas the sterring will work on few sec also after that very hard to turn? is it a problem?please let me know?

henria86

Jul 14, 2006
sounds like the relay is bad. an when you change the relay make sure theres no corroison.. an corroded wires

cynicks

Feb 29, 2004
Yeah.. sold the MR2 liao... tks I "exit" power steering problem never came back after that little twist

iexit

Aug 18, 2005
iexit.multiply.com
upfront hidden by the plastic cover on your left (when facing the engine) the relay sits just before the suspension tower. If its not on the left then its on the right :confused: pardon me i have no more point of reference since i sold the car

hi all sifus,

i wanna lower down my serena C24 by 1.5" - 2", just for the sake of good
looking.
just wanna ask, can i just cut off the original spring? will this affect
the comfordness?.

just when to a workshop...FTS Motor works in Ipoh, the owner himself is a
drag racer, he advice me to just cut off the original spring and he will
modify the absober (shorten it) for me...

thank you very much!!