Pimp my Drift Ride ! ! !

PTLemon

Sorry guys and gals, I see most of the threads here are pretty much abt pictures postings, drift locations, got drift event for gals, etc....

I think that we should bring it to more technical discussion on drifting, not how to drift...coz I believed everyone at least can drift in 1st gear, so let's skip the how to drift stuffs ! Let's go to how to make your ride, stylo-milo when drifting or when parked....

Imagine simple methods to use, or cheap alternatives to use, etc.....when you get the stares from the crowd ? PRICELESS ! ! !

For official D1 Spec cars, there are tons to money poured into these cars, because everything used are to be as a show piece to the rest of the world, be it on Option Magazine, BM Magazines, Car Boy Magazine, Drift Tengoku Magazine, etc or on Option Video, Drift Tengoku Video, Best Motoring, etc....

However, as per our context, we want it, but it is expensive, so how to do the cheap and affordable way....

The techniques....I am sure that most have watched the drift bible VCD/DVD and understand basic techniques in drifting....

The Car....of course, preferred to be Rear Wheel Drive Car.... there are lots of rear wheel drive cars and the feeling are different such as if you compared a MR2 Turbo with a AE86, a KE70 with a S14, S15, etc and to cars like skylines, A31, etc....Go for what you can afford and within your means....

The Setup.... A good suspension is important meaning that, you need a good set up of dampers and springs, if you can afford, go for a coilover setup, then castor rods or arms are important too. If you have more $$$ to spare, spend a bit more on a set of good LSD, 2 way is common being used for drift, however there are people who preferred 1.5 way also depending on your liking and style of drifting, if you got more money, then upgrade the stock arms and stock bars in your car to adjustable type so that you can fine tune the handling....followed by bushings, and other road holding products....

Engine....later then we go into this, coz it's expensive to go into.....

Tyres and Rims....go for the most basic tyres/rims combi.... slightly grippy tyres on the front and lousy tyres on the back.... You can even play with different combinations.... Like if you are better drifters, you can play big tyres/rims setup...for example, if you have a Laurel and you want to play big rims/tyres setup...you can go 18" type of setup...however front an back 18"s required higher speed, etc and add more stress to the arms and suspension parts. Another way is to go 17" front and 18" rear for the set up....you might think that this is so funny, no it is not... a lot of Jap pro drifters also use this setup, why? If the front tyres are thicker, it allows more flex and tends to grip more on the front in slightly wet condition, and also the rear does not flex much so it can slide more. If the skills are better, you can go from lousy tyres to better grip tyres as by then you can drift in higher speed and higher gears, etc....

Okies...time for the pimping....

You see that in D1, a lot of D1 cars have lighting systems, basically D1 is like extreme sports. Skateboarding, Free Style BMX, etc are part of extreme sports, and you don't see Skateboarding in Olympic games, rite ? Coz extreme sports are not under Olympic games...like D1...D1 is not a santion FIA event...it is only governed by D1 Corporation and the HQ is in Japan. So D1 is like extreme sports...so crowd factor matters..... therefore, most of the D1 teams will decorate their cars with chrome stickers, chrome rims(you don't see GT Cars, F1 cars, etc using chrome rims, coz they are heavy), lighting systems, etc.... And D1 is about showmanship as well, the crowd points matters in their ranking in the D1 races.... D1 Drivers are like actors or singers where publicity is everything....

I worked very close with Blitz Japan and often at their HQ tuning workshop, working with them on how they set up D1 cars, tune the beast, decorate the machines, etc...so I am blessed with digital technology...so we manage to snap down quite a lot of valuable shots....

In most of the D1 videos that you have seen, especially the nite stages, you will see the cars have multiple lights glowing from the wheels....here's a shot of Ken Nomura's D1 ER34...a multiple color LED on the brake hub area....

http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/nomura_ER34_3.jpg

Additionally...let me show you a glimpse of his RB26 powered ER34.....the engine bay...

http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/nomura_ER34_1.jpg

Even the doors are not sparred with goodies....just take a look at the carbon doors and carbon dashboard....
http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/nomura_ER34_2.jpg

Will update more insights and pics.....

Cheers
Lemon......
Pleasure to share !

PTLemon: wow......:eek: ....i didn't know the light is actually from the brake hub....great stuff man...don't think we ever get to see this in other website....thanks for sharing .... more more....:party:... hehehe.... I am drooling liao...

PTLemon said:
You see that in D1, a lot of D1 cars have lighting systems, basically D1 is like extreme sports. Skateboarding, Free Style BMX, etc are part of extreme sports, and you don't see Skateboarding in Olympic games, rite ? Coz extreme sports are not under Olympic games...like D1...D1 is not a santion FIA event...it is only governed by D1 Corporation and the HQ is in Japan. So D1 is like extreme sports...so crowd factor matters..... therefore, most of the D1 teams will decorate their cars with chrome stickers, chrome rims(you don't see GT Cars, F1 cars, etc using chrome rims, coz they are heavy), lighting systems, etc.... And D1 is about showmanship as well, the crowd points matters in their ranking in the D1 races.... D1 Drivers are like actors or singers where publicity is everything....

When we were at Autopolis, earlier this year, the only way we could differenciate the drift cars and the track cars were from their rims...track cars opt for lighter rims and chrome 'bling-blings' were on the drift cars.

However, I noticed that most of the street drifter cars looked a bit 'run-down' and very normal ( no bodykits or stickers )...and suprisingly running on very little front chamber..however there were a couple of GT works sponsored cars which were fully loaded. stickers , chrome rims , bodykits....full throttle drifting down hill!!! :o

.S K A G E E. said:
When we were at Autopolis, earlier this year, the only way we could differenciate the drift cars and the track cars were from their rims...track cars opt for lighter rims and chrome 'bling-blings' were on the drift cars.

However, I noticed that most of the street drifter cars looked a bit 'run-down' and very normal ( no bodykits or stickers )...and suprisingly running on very little front chamber..however there were a couple of GT works sponsored cars which were fully loaded. stickers , chrome rims , bodykits....full throttle drifting down hill!!! :o

Yes you are rite.....

Besides that, you can differentiate from their rollcages, Japan track car have average of 12-14 points roll cage, while most D1 cars are 7 points to 10 points. Additionally, D1 cars with carbon doors required x-frame tubes reinforcements in the passenger side and driver side. Furthermore, you will only see a passenger seat in D1 cars and not in track cars. kekeekekeke....and some of the D1 cars does not have external kill switch, but it is a must for Track Cars !

Another good place to go in Japan besides Akina which of course everyone knew that place is Daikoku carpark just in between Tokyo and Yokohama, of course the famous Wangan Highway, Saitama area (near to the industrial park area), etc...too many to list, if you go with me to Japan, I bring you lah...kekekekeke....

There is nothing to see in Tokyo, only shopping (Hear that Cheaka, kekekeke(, food and drinks...... but Outskirts of Tokyo especially near to Yokohama area or towards Hakone(Towards HKS Factory)...there are heaps of happenings.....

Below is a glimpse of the famous "Under the Bridge" Daikoku Carpark where many performance cars, VIP cars, Vannings, Dress Up mini-Vans come on late at nite on the weekends from 11pm onwards to 4am.

http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/daikoku_carpark.jpg

Just check out those Jap gals dancing Para Dance behind the massive speakers of the Japan Dress Up mini vans....
http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/daikoku_carpark2.jpg

Next time I shall post happenings place where I have been in Japan...kekekeke... but I will skip the Shinjuke, Harajuku and Roppongi escapades....kekekekeke :p Coz Public forum mah.....kekekeke :P ~wink~

ahhh..the controversial roll cage..heeheehee. Thanks for the info..didn't know about them having to be 12-14 points on the track car!

Is it true that Daikoku is more popular with the VIP and dress up crowd now since the authorities are clamping heavily on wangan racers? I was told that not only the cars will be impounded and licences revoked but also the tuners will be given a summon...?????-

.S K A G E E. said:
ahhh..the controversial roll cage..heeheehee. Thanks for the info..didn't know about them having to be 12-14 points on the track car!

Is it true that Daikoku is more popular with the VIP and dress up crowd now since the authorities are clamping heavily on wangan racers? I was told that not only the cars will be impounded and licences revoked but also the tuners will be given a summon...?????-

Bro,

There are lot of races in Japan, bascially, every weekend there is races, club level or big events happen in Japan.

For example, the popular race is the Super Taikyu Series and which is currently very popular with many tuning workshop in Japan as well as the 1-Make race meaning all are subaru or Evos, etc...and the Time Attack Challenge, etc.

Super Taikyu Regulations required most of the Jap track cars be it FWD, 4WD or FWD have to have the standard required for roll cage and you can see the reinforcement of the rollcage on the track cars....scary....and it have to be welded into and NO bolts on.

But D1 Cars can have bolt on roll cages of minimum 6 points. However to be safe, Most D1 cars have 7 points and as I mentioned if you run carbon doors, you need the x-frame bars on the driver and passenger side.

Below is the typical example in Ken Nomura San's ER34 X-Frame Bars on the rollcage.

http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/x-frame_bars_roll_cage.jpg

In regards to the Daikoku, you are rite...most of the Wangan Racers do not hang around at Daikoku much, mostly are drifters who went to drift in the near by inudstrial area and they come to Daikoku to chill out listen to those J-Pop music blasting away. The Wangan racers usually hang around at the Wangan Bridge Observatory area just along the bridge where you can park your cars there, have a hot coffee or Chocolate....There are 4 circuits in Wangan... The first one is the smallest loop of the Wangan area, where it is said to be a round less than 3km to complete 1 loop, the bigger loop, then bigger loop and final the complete Wangan circuit more than 10 over KM with tunnels, winding turns, and center divider, very dangerous. I nearly lost my bolas when I sat in one of my friends, R33, darn scary coz a lot of blind corners, near a lot of guts and skills...

Additionally, Tokyo Metropolitan Police are cramping of Illegal Street Racing due to the no of lives are lost, however according to some so called underground news, is that the police will close 1 eye in regards to the racing if it is done from 1am to 5am in the morning and not during peak periods and time where there are more commuters on the roads, as heard is that if the Police trying to stop the illegal street racings, there will be more crime in the neighbourhoods, drugs, etc..... So better let those guys on the highway better....kekekekeke.... However this is heard and I cannot confirmed that.

To instigate a person to race with you, is to give the front car 3 continous high beams and the person acknowledge the race, will put his hazard lights and pull to the road shoulder and park his car, waiting for you. So you have to negotiate the bets, like money, GF, etc..Terms are settled and they will start usually from the observatory area of the Wangan Bridge....kekeke...however some wishes to start on before the bridge where there is a long stretch of road.

In Japan, Licence revoke and Car Impound are very small offences of which many tends to get over with it...if the fines are serious, why are there still so many races on Wangan ? kekekeke....:p

Anyway...after the races till the morning....you will got to those 24 hours McDonalds and by the time you are abt to go back hotel at around 6-7am in the morning...all the cute little high school gals come to buy breakfast...believe me... you will not want to sleep after you see them....gosh...the skirts are so short ! ! ! Kekekeke ~wink~

http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/schoolgals.jpg

nismoskyliner33 said:
PTLemon : U are not the man!! U r the GOD!!!!

Ai yoh...nismoskylineR33 brother...

Dun say me until like that leh... as I tell Skagee and Cheaka when they invited me so overwhelmly to this forum as I get to meet them in Singapore the last time....I told them that what I know and what I experience, I will share share.....and post post.... and not coming here to show off or not coz some thought I am showing off....well I am neither handsome, strong, good drifter, or whatever....so....nothing to show off....I am here to have fun mann...kekekeke....

PTLemon: Is it true that the tuner/Director of Matchless Crowd Racing (MCR) holds the lap record for one of the wangan routes in Tokyo?

PTLemon said:
There is nothing to see in Tokyo, only shopping (Hear that Cheaka, kekekeke(, food and drinks...... but Outskirts of Tokyo especially near to Yokohama area or towards Hakone(Towards HKS Factory)...there are heaps of happenings.....

Shopping in Tokyo definitely way to ex for me liao.....I would prefer going to workshop and visit those areas where all the happening cars are lepaking.....drift spots and stuff....and defnitely the food...yum yum..:eating: ....

Do share your visits in Japan....I would love to hear more since I only been there once and it was only in Autopolis with SKAGEE......it was an eye-opening trip for me as I never see so many nice skylines around..

.S K A G E E. said:
PTLemon: Is it true that the tuner/Director of Matchless Crowd Racing (MCR) holds the lap record for one of the wangan routes in Tokyo?

Sorry bro...I may know a lot but I do not know all...kekekeke :p

I heard so, but I also not sure.... I heard Mr Tanaka, Boss of Top Secret also hold some records in Wangan...but so far it's street rumours....

Well....I heard that there is 1 internet website (but all in Japanese) stating the record holder in wangan...anyone care to share on this ?

cheaka said:
Shopping in Tokyo definitely way to ex for me liao.....I would prefer going to workshop and visit those areas where all the happening cars are lepaking.....drift spots and stuff....and defnitely the food...yum yum..:eating: ....

Do share your visits in Japan....I would love to hear more since I only been there once and it was only in Autopolis with SKAGEE......it was an eye-opening trip for me as I never see so many nice skylines around..

Yah, you are rite...Tokyo very expensive, especially places like Ginza, Omote-Sando, very expensive lah....

However do you know that Burberry Blue Label is exclusive only in Japan, other places cannot get wor.... I also got to know abt this from my Jap friend coz I also don't go shopping in Japan.

The only shopping areas that I frequent are Super Autobacs in Tokyo Bay, Auto Waves, Cockpit, GrandSlam, Yellow Hat, etc kekekeke :P Or esle go visit other tuning workshop. However Japan very expensive to travel around too....most of the good tuning workshop are outskirt of tokyo, Osaka, Yokohama and Nagoya.

Hey...I heard from many of my Jap tuner friends that many good drifters come from Nagano in Japan....quite hillbilly I must say...not many from Tokyo....kekeke.. perhaps countryside got more places to drift ?

PTLemon said:
However do you know that Burberry Blue Label is exclusive only in Japan, other places cannot get wor....

Serious..I didn't know that ....

Hey...I heard from many of my Jap tuner friends that many good drifters come from Nagano in Japan....quite hillbilly I must say...not many from Tokyo....kekeke.. perhaps countryside got more places to drift ?

Oh yah yah....in Fukuoka..while going up the hill to Autopolis Track is amazing...here's a picture i tooki while we were up the hill...damn nice roads....SKAGEE..remember this place???

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y9/cheaka/Autopolis%20Japan%202005/13.jpg

We have a rented MPV that we drove around the area...the GPRS system really good...just key in the office number that it will direct you all the way....

PTLemon said:
However do you know that Burberry Blue Label is exclusive only in Japan, other places cannot get wor.... I also got to know abt this from my Jap friend coz I also don't go shopping in Japan.

Wah..I didn't know that.....cool...next time i know whether the stuff is genuine or not....

PTLemon said:

In Fukuoka, while driving up the hill to Autopolis has very nice curvy roads and imagine everyday SKAGEE and I on a rented MPV had to go through this everyday traveling up and down from hotel to the Autopolis Track to and fro....SKAGEE..does this look familiar....hehehe....

The GPRS system in the car is amazing..just key in the office number and it will direct you how to get around......and you can even choose how's your journey to be..a shortcut? a scenic one?.....

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y9/cheaka/Autopolis%20Japan%202005/13.jpg

I just happen to see this pic, hahaha....imagine Nomura San's ER34 without Chrome Stickers...

http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/Blitz_er34_no_sticker.jpg

hahahahaha......This is the test car that Blitz sent over from Japan to USA...Nomura San tested out the track and practise prior before the D1 USA Event....

Imagine you drive this car on the road...kekekeke :P Power !

It seems the word "D1" is a magical word to use....let me show you more "D1" stuffs...

D1 SPEC RACE QUEENS - got offical D1 stick-ons on her arms....
http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/d1_gals.jpg

D1 SPEC BIKE - can drift sia....kekekeke :P
http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/d1_bike.jpg

Yeah I agreed....

How abt a Drift S15 with full chrome...?

This car was in many D1 events....

http://www.boomspeed.com/hyperlemon/d1_chrome_s15.jpg

yup planning is important;go there with people that are familiar with the place. I've been to Japan numerous of times for business but only recently had the oppurtiunity to see drifting and touge racing first hand.