AE86 really that good of a drift car??

duh!! ....in my opinion in malaysia where the drift course is much tighter and slower u can see a lot of under power 4age able to match turbo cars quite easily but when the course is big and dry then u will have a bit of problem with undo power cars...

of course in us where they have the oval circuit which is damn big... viper will have the upper hand because of pure brute power but if the viper were to drift in damn tight and multiple tight corners then i think the agility of the viper will go down the drain versus the hachi... its just a matter of which weapon to use in diff conditions.

hhmmm....maybe u r right.... cause i watch the last 1 they held in chicago, the carpark as big as the 1 in batu kawan only.... nowonder the viper not so agile...

but that round the final is between mustang and viper and won by viper... mustang seems very clumsy....heheheee

man i love MUStang!
next time must enter drift competition in U.S.A
and use an old old mustang from the 60's
and beat the new Viper

(i think i think too much.. :D )

Joeker said:
If any of you guys still think horsepower is an important criteria to drift, should check out this car.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/Joe_Looi/CopyofTTW4.jpg

This dude drifts with a stock engine (well except for the ITBs, the engine is bone stock) and I believe some of you will agree if I say this dude kicks some serious ass.
That's Tan Tat Wei's car. Winner of Defying Grip Challenge 2.. He has most flair as his entry and drift angles are extreme.

sam1741 said:
man i love MUStang!
next time must enter drift competition in U.S.A
and use an old old mustang from the 60's
and beat the new Viper

(i think i think too much.. :D )

man, they use the latest 2005 mustang la.... but driven by japanese...hahaa... what a contrast... then they have mat salleh driving right hand drive S15 and other silvias......

leviathan said:
i would say the 86 is a better overall car than a drift car...

don't mean cannot drift, but its a bitch to learn. due to low power and short wheelbase, it can't hold the drifts for very long, but that adds to the challenge. steering work has to be fast, and you've gotta feel the car and direction of drifting... can't really think about it then try to do it. by that time spin already.... :lol:

its what i would call a starter/basic race car, no frills, no electronic assitance of any kind. but it will help you improve other disciplines, like gymkhana and track... not just drifting/rallying.

This guy knows what he's talking about :) hehe

I have had mine for 13 years ..and just bought another one for fun ;)
but I've got 2 other high hp cars for different reasons :)

For your reading pleasure.. D1 GP US
http://www.superstreetonline.com/featuredvehicles/130_0312_ae86/

mcfurby said:
DRiftAGster said:
*pls stand aside when anyone out there cant win T. Djan , Zee , Zero Lim n Fai....
take notes on this thank u

Guys,

I really hate it to break it out to you but I 'm afraid I have to agree with our vitrual pet here,

I will be forming a line for those who "cant win" the names he/it had mentioned above as we are to stand aside....

ok mcfurby, we await your next command....please don't tell me to get a Honda EG, even if I really like them, cause I can't afford to buy one...:(

PS: Do you really run on batteries?

.S K A G E E. said:
mcfurby said:
Guys,

I really hate it to break it out to you but I 'm afraid I have to agree with our vitrual pet here,

I will be forming a line for those who "cant win" the names he/it had mentioned above as we are to stand aside....

ok mcfurby, we await your next command....please don't tell me to get a Honda EG, even if I really like them, cause I can't afford to buy one...:(

PS: Do you really run on batteries?

:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

looks like he "miss" to notice another good drift sifuu......

Just wondering why honda EG? any reason???

DRiftAGster: nor lar..its just that all these negativity isn't good for the sport. I mean I do understand that this a forum and everyone has a right to their own opinion and I kept quiet at the begining but the crap started to build up to the point I had to say something.We honestly have a good thing going on for us, where drifting is concerned. I see the playing field leveling to the point that the judges are now having a hard time to decide the winner. Its a great leap from where we were at only a year ago!!! I honestly think we can make do without people like mcfurby to pull us back a step

Why Honda EG? ask him lar..I think he's looking to buy one.

Drifters: Keep going at it, even if you "cant win". Just have fun . Thats the bottom line

.S K A G E E. said:
DRiftAGster: nor lar..its just that all these negativity isn't good for the sport. I mean I do understand that this a forum and everyone has a right to their own opinion and I kept quiet at the begining but the crap started to build up to the point I had to say something.We honestly have a good thing going on for us, where drifting is concerned. I see the playing field leveling to the point that the judges are now having a hard time to decide the winner. Its a great leap from where we were at only a year ago!!! I honestly think we can make do without people like mcfurby to pull us back a step

Drifters: Keep going at it, even if you "cant win". Just have fun . Thats the bottom line

ok here it is....i'm just telling those who look down on AE86 n said that those us car is more reliable or something...i aint asking u or drifter...understand?
yea....i'm looking for one...but i dont need it anymore...i have a better one to go for....
i'm sorry if watever i said make u guys mad.....
cheers...

.S K A G E E. said:
Apology accepted

Peace :)

thanks dude....no more war....
i think should stop saying anything in here anymore....hahahha...
i going for Toyota...not yet have the cash for my EG/ EK....
now gonna transplan to AE111 only....
so good luck for everyone out there....

Acttually the 1st thing all driver need is know how to control the car...It is important thing tat u all need to learn b4 learning how to drift like drift king!!! If not hav to pay more money on the car like Drift King say b4 he know how to drift....

ae-86 is not good ? Joe 69 said so

may be joe 69 ebolusion wira proton tanjung malim mari or his satria mivec proton mitsubishi or his kancil daihatsu mira perodua from glen marie is good?

maybe Joe 69 is a good drifter after all :biggrin:

* no offence to the ORI mitsu and daihatsu.I just can stand to see this malaysian made car, running in the street like their wife have been kiled and pretend to be japan car.the worse part is, there's so called mitsubishi using TRD logos and tom logos, using mivec and most of them are using Nismo logo. If u want to see a waja with a spoiler like EVO and so damn pround put a sticker of Nismo, go to PKNS Shah Alam and park ur car at the car park in front of the SACC (there's a counter at the car park) u will see there's a silver waja with mistsu embelms at the back and a big nismo sticker at the side door, like the japan spec one.the owner are so damn proud of his car and if u look at his car and the owner is there, u can even seen his nose hole open so wide if u act impresed-trust me, i've done this :smile: i respect only THE ORIGINAL CAR even if u car is an old lancer. Upgrading engine is another story as long as ur blood is coming from u father if u know what i mean

.S K A G E E. said:

skagee, drifting in malaysia had really grown in the past months, from illegally doing it at industrial areas, sunway backlanes, now it is a scheduled, legal, offficial event, thanks to all you guys (from drifters and also crews behind the scene down to those who always help to "jaga line") who make it happen!!!

it is a fast growing sports worldwide, and i see big opportunity for malaysia to be as good as any other country in the world - ofcoz japan is far ahead of us but we are not so far behind others, with some sponsors and POSITIVE MENTALITY, hopefully we'll have bigger events and be at their level soon. keep up the good work.... maybe 1 day we'll see malaysians in formula d or D1GP.... i think this dream is more practical than seeing a malaysian at formula 1.....heheheheee

Levin biru80 doesnt quite know joe69.

hehehehhe.... levin_biru80 , dont say like that about me maa.... u must find out 1st whats my drift car...

i might be joking that day brader....

Wah, seem to me here got some battle wil schedule in thier calender!!!!! If got drift show in Sunway about u 2, plz let me know...I wil be there watch u all battle.......YAHOOOOO!!!