AE86 really that good of a drift car??

DRiftAGster said:
then you will see how important HP is in drifting. how many HP is ah fai's cefiro?? I dont mean ah fai and t djan's cars are not fast but ah fai's cefiro will not have 3 or 4x as much HP as t djan's AE86. so the difference will not be obvious.
Actually i was referring to whne both AH Fai and Djan were drifting AE86s in One Utama.

BTW do you drift??

yes of course 4g93 produce more hp, but the btp and stp are only 1.6 cc compare to 2.0cc of course different ma

and some more, for a toyota, is either u choose to be NA or turbo.this is the 1st time is saw a supercharge with turbo so its quite new.asked member of toyota also they said its quite new although it already have been done before in japan

by the way, are u driving 4G93? Is it on your wira or mitsubishi? :tongue:

faisal said:
Actually i was referring to whne both AH Fai and Djan were drifting AE86s in One Utama.

BTW do you drift??

bro, i was not there, so didnt see what happen...sorry, maybe i missed something important... but i know its always interesting to see both of them go head to head....

from my nick you will see DR...AGster.... so u know la...hehehe...

drifting is just for fun and leisure, not serious and still in beginner's stage la... far standard from all experts here...hehehee...if have the chance then can learn more from u guys....

Levin_biru80 said:
yes of course 4g93 produce more hp, but the btp and stp are only 1.6 cc compare to 2.0cc of course different ma

and some more, for a toyota, is either u choose to be NA or turbo.this is the 1st time is saw a supercharge with turbo so its quite new.asked member of toyota also they said its quite new although it already have been done before in japan

by the way, are u driving 4G93? Is it on your wira or mitsubishi? :tongue:

fren, 4G93 only 1.8 NA, the 1 in GTI and putra..... unless 4G93T then 1.8 turbocharge lor...

toyota has supercharge engine other than NA or Turbo - 4agze is 1 of it that 1 know and i believe that is what that guy use as a base engine to add the turbocharger to his corolla....

but dont discuss this here cos all these are FF engine (tho there are ppl who transplant into FR cars also), discuss in drift forum afters kena tembak...hehehee

btw, i drive SR20.... NA... :tongue:

I'm just beginner and I have never driven an AE86 before. I don't know whether AE86 is the best drift platform or not.

What my fren from Japan told me AE86 is cheapest RWD to own.

And there are loads of performance parts for the AE86.

So thats why alot of people buy this car to drift.

And because the AE86's 4AGE is underpowered, alot of the Jap drifters sharpen their skills first before moving on to more hi powered vehicles.

Also, most all of the top drifters in Japan have owned AE86 before. (Yamada, Ueo, Nobu, etc) and some still do own AE86s.

So basically, skills comes first before horsepower in drifting.

Its just like our Satria.

Because satria is the cheapest 2 door hatchback in the market thats why we can see alot of people mod satrias that other type of 2 door hatchback cars.

bro,

hehehe i'm give ur wrong info ma :biggrin: donno muh about mitsubishi engine, forgot that the 493 is the one that proton has on GTI (4G93-P) so much be a gsr i think

btw, if u drive sr20, then a big thumb up to u.I'm aslo wanna have that Det engine one day with a turbo engine on it.Nissan also is a good car for a mod.I meet some one in JPJ putrajaya last two week, he's want to replace his ad bumbung with the sunroof one.nice car :smile:

i'm also new in driting.which me luck in the future

fake

i still think drifting is fake...

the cars run on a transparent cable pulling the car through the corner like little puppets to entertain the public.

:)

Ronald_loulan said:
Me too....:lol:
Good luck n bcareful when practice....

hahaa...yea be careful!! i damaged a few rims and undercarriage already...not to mention bumper koyak.... :bawling:

Levin_biru80 said:
bro,

hehehe i'm give ur wrong info ma :biggrin: donno muh about mitsubishi engine, forgot that the 493 is the one that proton has on GTI (4G93-P) so much be a gsr i think

btw, if u drive sr20, then a big thumb up to u.I'm aslo wanna have that Det engine one day with a turbo engine on it.Nissan also is a good car for a mod.I meet some one in JPJ putrajaya last two week, he's want to replace his ad bumbung with the sunroof one.nice car :smile:

i'm also new in driting.which me luck in the future

if u hunger for horsepower, let me know when u get your sr20 (and some $$$ ofcoz), i know someone who can get many horses for you, my fren got his done and dynoed at 600+whp.... -- stock bottom.

but for drifting probably no need so much hp since majority here thinks that control is the most important...heheheee.....

I've read in several import magazines about the drifting craze (but i don't drift). It's unlikely the AE86 is the best car around. Maybe Keiichi Tsuchiyaa prefer that car to drift, to his liking, favouritism and made popular summore by Initial D anime?

Hatakeyama drifted in his EF (FF drifting grandmaster and beaten an S15 in the process - www.crabdrifting.com) and he says EF9 is good, best, and etc etc.

Ben Aaron of Ireland (formerly BTCC race driver for BMW 1995) joined EuroCar drift events with an M3... and says the 330Ci rocks!

Every car is different for every human and each car is not suitable for everyone. My personal opinion...??? I'd look for a car suitable enough for me to drift...

DRiftAGster said:
bro, i was not there, so didnt see what happen...sorry, maybe i missed something important... but i know its always interesting to see both of them go head to head....

from my nick you will see DR...AGster.... so u know la...hehehe...

drifting is just for fun and leisure, not serious and still in beginner's stage la... far standard from all experts here...hehehee...if have the chance then can learn more from u guys....
Drifting sure is fun... heheh

Anyway I own an AE86, standard apart from the suspension. Last Saturday in SIC I realised despite the underpowered nature of my car it's still possible to take some turn at the maximum limit I was able to handle. One thing about the 86 is that the handling and grip balance of the car is spot on. It may be harder to initiate a drift when compared to the turbocharged cars ( not enuff power to do power over) but i find it satisfying to go into turns 1,2,4, 7&8 in third gear and initiating the drift. Spent the entire morning finding the limits of the car.

The perfect example of Expert drifter is T Djan. He honed his skills on the AE ( high entry speed) that now when he drifts the Waja Fr his entry is absolutely flying.

If we Malaysians make a local cartoon about downhill racing starring Proton Satria as main character, I'm sure the next day the Sales and price of Satria will appreciate.

Kopi said:
I've read in several import magazines about the drifting craze (but i don't drift). It's unlikely the AE86 is the best car around. Maybe Keiichi Tsuchiyaa prefer that car to drift, to his liking, favouritism and made popular summore by Initial D anime?

Hatakeyama drifted in his EF (FF drifting grandmaster and beaten an S15 in the process - http://www.crabdrifting.com/) and he says EF9 is good, best, and etc etc.

Ben Aaron of Ireland (formerly BTCC race driver for BMW 1995) joined EuroCar drift events with an M3... and says the 330Ci rocks!

Every car is different for every human and each car is not suitable for everyone. My personal opinion...??? I'd look for a car suitable enough for me to drift...
True, that every driver has his prefered car.

I once asked a German Race Driver (other job - BMW Race Driving Instructor) what was the best car for Drifting and his answer was " E46 M3 and the new M5".

so many people think drift is for fun n show off only..n cant do on street.. huh..
when u going fast on corner n u cant turn it..that time u must DRIFT...

thats why king drifto tsuchiya still go on hill to drift..becoz in compettition..they looks for style,for tyre burning,nearest the pin..thats not the drift racing...

correct me if im wrong... im just beginner that know nothing bout drift..

DRiftAGster said:
go and watch Formula D and compare

1)when Taka Aono driving AE86 battling against Sam Hubinnette in his Viper -- always kena smoke and leave behind/pressure kao kao.....

and

2) when his same AE86 battling against the silvias -- it is always a close battle and he wins sometimes....

then you will see how important HP is in drifting. how many HP is ah fai's cefiro?? I dont mean ah fai and t djan's cars are not fast but ah fai's cefiro will not have 3 or 4x as much HP as t djan's AE86. so the difference will not be obvious.

ok look here....as far as i noe...djan's engine is not the normal 4age....his is using tomei's engine....if u guys said that AE86 cant do smoke? but y is djan calling him self tyre smoke? do u guys join drift.com.my? don ever look down on him....
did u ever heard that big HP cars easy to lose control? AE86 is equal in everything....
like u said that fai's cefi is not 3to4x different with djan's 86...but y is djan win always? (fai i didnt mean that u are not good, but i'm just wanna show the different)
verdana , bring out any cars that u have....drift it with djan n u'll noe whats the different.
i'm sorry if i'm too harsh...but pls....dont even said anything bad bout ae86 n bout djan...
djan roxz....

*pls stand aside when anyone out there cant win T. Djan , Zee , Zero Lim n Fai....
take notes on this thank u

If any of you guys still think horsepower is an important criteria to drift, should check out this car.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/Joe_Looi/CopyofTTW4.jpg

This dude drifts with a stock engine (well except for the ITBs, the engine is bone stock) and I believe some of you will agree if I say this dude kicks some serious ass.

Joeker said:
If any of you guys still think horsepower is an important criteria to drift, should check out this car.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/Joe_Looi/CopyofTTW4.jpg

This dude drifts with a stock engine (well except for the ITBs, the engine is bone stock) and I believe some of you will agree if I say this dude kicks some serious ass.

i forget his name...but he always use to appear in drift event right?
he is very good in drifting man....excellent....
but pls....Hp dont really giving much in the corner...
can u speed on d straight road but when going in the corner u must use alot of break....plus n minus is the same....
anyone who study maths will understand i think...
correct me if i'm wrong
thank u

mcfurby said:
DRiftAGster said:
go and watch Formula D and compare

...............................................................................................

*pls stand aside when anyone out there cant win T. Djan , Zee , Zero Lim n Fai....
take notes on this thank u

bro relaks la, y so hot, y dont u ask ur idols to fly to usa and compete with the Formula D drifters or fly to japan to challenge the D1GP .... u think malaysian dirft standard is as high as usa/japan?? ask djan, zero, zee or ahfai, then u see humbleness in them, not like some naive fans who talk rubbish when they cant even understand simple eniglish - probably its my english that is poor...sorry la....

to explain to u, my point in my earlier post is "comparing a viper with 600+ whp with a 150+whp AE86".... that is why i say from spectator's point of view, viper is superb.... cause in all aspect it seems to be better than a 86.....

then Faisal reply me comparing ah fai and djan, i told him we cant see the difference in ahfai and djan cause the hp difference is not so great as in what i mentioned, did i say ahfai and djan is not a good drifter???..... who cares whether tomei engine kah tomei jewelry.... nobody is comparing that..... so rilek ok, nobody is saying your idols are no good.....

* tyresmoke... u rev little kancil till redline and release clucth also u see tyresmoke la... and for your info, never in my post say that AE86 CANNOT do smoke in drifting.... ok...???

1 more thing - for all u guys who think i am saying "no hp cannot drift". I am NOT ok, all my posts dont mean this, i am just saying when both driver are hell as great, HP comes in to play.... high hp will definitely have the upper hand..... soli la, maybe me never go to skool, cant present my point clearly.....but i remember i didnt say no hp cannot drift...so i wonder why so many get this impression....