Petronas posts 50% jump in net profit

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/7/1/nation/11371069&sec=nation

High oil prices and the continued growth of Petronas' downstream and manufacturing businesses saw it post a 50% jump in net profit to a record RM35.6bil for its 2005 financial year ended March 31

Petronas said it paid the Government RM31.2bil in taxes, dividend, royalties and export duty for its 2005 financial year. That amount does not include RM6bil paid as final dividend to the Government a few days ago.

The national oil company has returned RM246bil to the Government since it began operations three decades ago.

Anyone know how much money that Goverment need to folk out for Petrol subsidairy? Can't it be cover by the Petronas tax paid to the goverment? Hope that no bullshit here, I'm keen to find the real figure here.

when i mention "no bullshit", straight away no reply here liao..

does this indicate something... hm...

BlackSamurai,
You're an old timer in ZTH, no? I think I remembered your nick from back a few versions of ZTH. If you are, compare members from the old versions of ZTH and the members from the newer versions of ZTH. I guess you'll be able to tell the differences between the old and the new. No offense but again, just what I personally notice.

Anyway, if those figures are true, we now know how much the government is getting but let's be a little more realistic. If the government wants to increase petrol prices, most of us know that the price WILL increase even if HALF the malaysians commit suicide. The government doesn't care about it's citizens. Thus, real figures or not won't really make much difference other than we getting more inside understanding of the petrol economy. Else, we're just waiting to rot slowly in financial situations.

The fugures dont seem right.

35.6b net profit, 31.2tax???

Is the taxing structure the same for all companies in malaysia?

Revenue jumped by 40.5% to RM137bil from RM97.5bil, and pre-tax profit leapt by 55% to RM58bil from RM37.4bil.

Petronas earn RM58bil , pre-tax.
net profit means gross profit minus tax, dividends, and etc.

satria_95 said:
BlackSamurai,
You're an old timer in ZTH, no? I think I remembered your nick from back a few versions of ZTH. If you are, compare members from the old versions of ZTH and the members from the newer versions of ZTH. I guess you'll be able to tell the differences between the old and the new. No offense but again, just what I personally notice.

I notice it too.. its really sad.. *sigh*

BlackSamurai said:
Petronas earn RM58bil , pre-tax.
net profit means gross profit minus tax, dividends, and etc.

That's where I got confused.

pre-tax profit leapt by 55% to RM58bil from RM37.4bil
Petronas said it paid the Government RM31.2bil in taxes, dividend, royalties and export duty for its 2005 financial year
net profit to a record RM35.6bil for its 2005 financial year

58-31.2=35.6???:confused:

boggysv said:
That's where I got confused.

58-31.2=35.6???:confused:

it's actuallly calculate like this

pre-tax profit RM58 bil
net profit RM35.6
Tax RM22.4
dividend, royalties and export duty RM8.8 bil

The RM31.2 bil is not tax only must include dividend, royalties and export duty.

usually in income statement they will seprate all of them...now they just add all together wif tax..to see the real net profit........

usually net profit excludes payment dividend, royalties and export duty.

:) :) :)

thanks,

now i know why my accountant doesnt want to date me:D

Write your reply...