Caught In Middle-Income Trap

This is so pathetic if you are so happy that Malaysia are ahead of vietnam, even more pathetic that you only focus on the figure and not the growth speed.
Maybe you are happy that politician here didn't slaughter reporter and candidate like Philippine, so we are better?
Maybe you are happy that malaysia soccer team finally won a asean medal, so we are better?
Maybe you are happy that our judiciary system is still considered fair because opposition were given a CHANCE to appeal not like myanmar style, so we are better?

Do you really feel good now? ever heard of a story about frog in hot water? You scored 100% in usd1k<usd7k formula, ain't stupid at all... but just pathetic

This is so pathetic if you are so happy that Malaysia are ahead of vietnam, even more pathetic that you only focus on the figure and not the growth speed.
Maybe you are happy that politician here didn't slaughter reporter and candidate like Philippine, so we are better?
Maybe you are happy that malaysia soccer team finally won a asean medal, so we are better?
Maybe you are happy that our judiciary system is still considered fair because opposition were given a CHANCE to appeal not like myanmar style, so we are better?

Do you really feel good now? ever heard of a story about frog in hot water? You scored 100% in usd1kquote]

did i ever mentioned i'm happy we are ahead of vietnam?????are you saying i'm pathetic because i asked for the link? u do not know me in person and you assume i'm happy with the way our country run???

WHAT THE HELL i'm just asking for a link POLITELY so that i can read/gather info and you called me pathetic??

honestly im not happy...but then what can i do...chose one party is the same shit...choose another party it will be the same shit but newer smell...id say disband all parties and start fresh one where the old farts cannot meddle/interfere...hahahah

The figure in HK is not correct and its over stated,police with diploma only start around hk$15k-18k. fresh graduate teachers only start around hk$21k-25k , for accountant, fresh degree graduate are suffering a huge decline in salary, for big4 audit firm trainee is around hk$11k, for other normal accountant job is hk$9-11k. But most offer hk$6-8k now

for the clerk with diploma, most only offer hk$6-8k and its competing with fresh degree graduate nowadays.

Also you have to consider, the living cost in hk is slightly more than double in msia, a glass of tea here is around HK$10-12, a decent meal in kopitiam standard is around $35-40. The highest expense is usually the accomodation which a small freaking apartment with 2 micro sized bed rooms without any facilities will cost HK$8k rental per month.

The only thing which hk is cheaper than msia could be the car, a brand new golf gti is selling at rm150k and used E46 M3 is selling around rm100k now.....but 1 litre of petrol is hk$14.25 now which is rm$7. And standard parking at shopping malls is around rm20 per hour.

If you measured hk with GDP per capital, the data does not truly reflect the situation as the top 10% income group in hk are owning as much as >80% of wealth in hk. The youth in hk are struggling with the declining job market. Their econ is sinking but the inflation is very high thanks to the monopolized businesses in food supply, super market chain, electricities/utilities, transportations and property market. Most hk people are not able to afford an apartment on their own without any help from the parent after working >5 years.

With the extreme problem in wealth gap, they have really tense social problem and thus many small scale riots with the police took place in hk recently.

in fact i think we are still slightly better than hk because an average people can enjoy more spacious living space and cheaper food to fufil the necessary needs in life.

If you ask the young people in hk, many of them are not happy. The girls not happy because they cant get enough LV and perfectly nice 'pet alike' rich bf. the guys not happy because the breast of hk girls are too flat and hk girls expect their bfs treat them like princess....on internet, they call this phenomenon ''kong girl'' effect. You may check for more details here :http://evchk.wikia.com/wiki/港女

:P

somehow, this particular statement caught my attention... maybe they din drink enough nen nen... :rofl:

mua ha ha ha :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

---------- Post added at 11:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:31 PM ----------

when come to comparising between country to country & apple to apple. we cannot compare money to money conversion directly. some of the thing here cheaper & there expensive, viceversa.

we need to compare average earning power, inflation & quality of life of the country it self.
this is my personal opinion.

btw in bolehland G like use to compare our country with 3rd country & they say "pls convert the currency then u know" then the ppl start comparing in forum,blog,kopitiam & etc etc.

when ppl find out others side is better or whatsoever with fact, then moron G or in the forum ppl & etc etc. will start to say " if u so capable go there lar or tak suka u keluar lar".

so.... haiz haiz :banghead::banghead::banghead:

when ppl find out others side is better or whatsoever with fact, then moron G or in the forum ppl & etc etc. will start to say " if u so capable go there lar or tak suka u keluar lar".

I heard too much of this, so I really keluar.....bad things is I always miss the food and comfortable houses in msia.....but in another hand, get to see the rest of the world.

there are many msians out there, even in bangladesh, sri lanka and pakistan you will see msian people trying to earn a living there.

I pray that you all do the right thing in the next GE.....

Don't only do the right thing but ensure others know what to do too....

Only when we do the right thing together, can we see changes for the better.....

Subcon, the data you require is readily available for viewing if you were to look for it. If you have been following the asian economic development you would have been informed.

I dont know where you are coming from nor going to with this but I have a pretty good guess.

Take care.

Vietnam is attractive becoz of cheap labour, just like us some time back, thats why they are getting more investment right now. We are caught in Middleton becoz we're not quite cheap enuff for labour intensive stuff like yester-years and not quite clever and pandai enuff for higher value added services... So basically nobody wants us and yes, if we're not careful Vietnam could catch up and learn from our Middleton situation and overtake us!! So what we need to do is get out of Middleton and head to high income.... but how do we do that?

i agree with the article we need to be less dependent of subsidies and price controls and stuff and that our wages needs readjusting.... we can't be overly dependent on the G, the G needs to focus on being the facilitator of growth and not a growth engine by itself, as its would not the most efficient approach and is not sustainable in the long run...

Some other stuff we can do, among others...

Better and cheaper broadband - This has a large spillover effect in many sectors and provide a platform of many other innovative high-value add services to be created.

Better public transport amenities - Our 'brains' cannot be wasting time in jams and stuff. So much productive time is lost with us getting stuck in jams. Its also related to quality of life issue.

Better education systems - Supply of the required talent to move us forward is crucial.

Be innovation driven - More R&D and research institutions backed by strong access to financing and stuff like venture capitals. And we need to be much more entrepreneurial. Besides penetrating high values areas, being entrepreneurial also has huge multiplier effect like creating jobs...

Capitalise on the rise of China, India and the petrol dollars from the gulf countries. This is where being a multi-racial country can really be exploited.

Capitalise and focus on our niche strengths - E&E, Oil and gas, Tourism, Banking, Islamic banking, Plantation and commodities, still relatively cheap and competitive property sector, etc... but, in all these area, we really need to move up the value-chain.

Yes, we have a lot of crap happening, don't get me started on politics for example, but theres still hope for a better Malaysia...

All the above have been brought up centuries ago... It's either got stuck, dropped out or went astray... A capable G should be the pioneer to bring us forward not playing some silly deadly games...

Devious, i guess you will receive a reply as" then show me lah, dun just talk talk talk...":biggrin: pretty soon...

Y not google it?? duh!!