Noobie needs help!

projectx

Hey guys, I'm new to the ICE scene. I really dunno much about it. What I need here is for all of you sifus out there to recommend me an ICE system for my WiSE. My budget ain't much. Only RM 1000. This budget have to include the HU, front speakers and tweeters, and rear speakers.

I'm planning to get a HU with mp3 capabilities(pioneer), and I only need decent sounding speakers.I don't need high end ones. I prefer SQ over SPL. Hope all of you can help me here. I hope that you can all state down the model as well so I can search some review on it on the net.

Btw, can anybody here provide a link to a website where the ICE system is explanied? I can't find one.

hey there... welcome to the ICE world ;)

no recommendations from me since i am no sifu but IMO you'd better listen to what you wanna get B) once then you set your goal :rolleyes:

frm your budget, your HU will cover up 3/4 of your budget :P

if you have stock speakers, use them first... ICE is a long term process coz you'll have to freeze yourself to get the ice then you'll be ICEd! ;)

RM1000? WAh.. Ya. Like what DJTHORmented said, the HU will cost the most. Go for alpine high end models :P hehehe.

Forget the 3-ways / 2-ways and go for components.

Get 2 mids, 2 tweets and one sub. Put all speakers in front and one sub at the back. Forget the speakers at back. All should be within 1000.

Erm.. My capalang cincai cheapo setup is as follows :

2nd hand Pioneer HU + changer
2 Alpine mids
2 wira door sized 2-ways (mid/tweeter)
1 sub
2 amps, one to power sub and another 4-way for speakers.

Mine is barely 900 since I'm using all kinds of cheapo brands. Hehehe.

Hey, thanks for the reply. I guess I'll be getting two fornt door component speakers and a HU first. As u say, upgrade slowly. :P
BTW do you guys have any good component speakers to recommend for the front doors? And what's the price.
Thanks again.

today just get my HU and comp set install in brothers...but honestly for budget like u not much choice at brothers...bcoz i experience it....i get a pioneer 2750 then a kenwood comp set...total up is 1080....and i think what i get is what i pay lor...haha....so u should take more time and visit more shop to make compare

i dont know about you guys but can you do spl witout a sub?

if i were you i will keep that money. for 1k for hu speakers well, go for pioneer 4650 and a second hand component. or get a 5550 and save some more to get a component. what is the rush in buying everything when you will regret it in the future.

Originally posted by projectx@Feb 1 2005, 20:47
anyone heard of lightning audio before?
ya i heard it but i dunno if its worth the money though but i heard good comments bout it and the last time i know there's a shop in pj old town carrying them but as ussual i cant remember the name of the shop..lol

Originally posted by projectx@Feb 1 2005, 17:35
Hey guys, I'm new to the ICE scene. I really dunno much about it. What I need here is for all of you sifus out there to recommend me an ICE system for my WiSE. My budget ain't much. Only RM 1000. This budget have to include the HU, front speakers and tweeters, and rear speakers.

I'm planning to get a HU with mp3 capabilities(pioneer), and I only need decent sounding speakers.I don't need high end ones. I prefer SQ over SPL. Hope all of you can help me here. I hope that you can all state down the model as well so I can search some review on it on the net.

Btw, can anybody here provide a link to a website where the ICE system is explanied? I can't find one.

hey hi bro.. welcome to the brighter side of car moding..

if u need suggestions pls refer to my post from yesterday started by sky_lor

GL!!

Originally posted by projectx@Feb 1 2005, 20:47
if u r looking 4 the Bolt series...u can try going cheras Sound Quest n try ur luck there...
last time went there the boss told me wan to clear out lightning audio stuff....he say wan sell cheap cheap...dun rugi can edi... :D

Originally posted by Yong_5290+Feb 1 2005, 21:27 -->
QUOTE (Yong_5290 @ Feb 1 2005, 21:27 )
--QuoteBegin-projectx
@Feb 1 2005, 20:47

if u r looking 4 the Bolt series...u can try going cheras Sound Quest n try ur luck there...
last time went there the boss told me wan to clear out lightning audio stuff....he say wan sell cheap cheap...dun rugi can edi... :D [/b][/quote]
Actually got one shop that specializes in selling lightning audio stuff near my house. Only walking distance. I see they mod the gen2 very nice. Only the back part of the car got almost 10 speakers.

lightning audio... i'd go for the storm or strike series... bolt... heh :huh:

front speakers? well with budget like yours... errr... relax 1st lar... install the HU 1st then slowly lay your eyes on something else
sky_lor: how was the installation @ brothers? i hope they don't screw up your wirings :blink:

appleyard: the main thing about SPL is the sub. you type search in the net and ask for SPL the first thing you'll see is what sub kicks what dB. but i've seen a clip on the net those fellas use four 6.5" as their subs... hmmmmmm B)

Originally posted by projectx@Feb 1 2005, 17:35

hey bro,

I just changed my player to an MP3/WMA player from brothers. Its a really decent player, really nice looking remote.

the model is kenwood MP-4029G and it cost me RM 580 (add 30 for installation).

It's a 2005 model. The player's appreance breaks away from the traditional kenwood look to a more subtle look.

Additional features include the option speaker settings. The player produces good clean sound. Got it from brothers Kelana Jaya.

They have a new showroom. Go have a look. They are having promotions as well. So you might be able to walk out with all you need.

Good luck.

Scorceror, thanks for the info. I think I'll take a look at the player at brothers in serdang.

Scoceror, do you have any pic of the player. I can't seem to find the model on the net.