Installing New ICE System

crez

Hi all,
I newbies in ICE n need all sifu help...I plan to change my existing Head Unit, Front n Rear Speaker with new set. However, do I need to change the wiring like HU to Front n Rear Speaker, Battery to HU? The old wiring almost 15 yrs liau..Since my car is old car...

I got ask those shop and they said nvm one...Since the wire hide inside the car and not subject to heat n water...So no prob one...But I still curious will this old wiring effect the quality of my ICE system.

If yes, wat cable do I need to select to have maximum the quality. My plan of installation is to buy one HU then change the front speaker with 6" - 2 or 3 ways speaker while rear I will use 6X9 Speaker. All this is without using any amp...I think 52WX4 HU will able to punch all this speaker rite? Cause I juz for lesuire listening onli... Not to boom with others...hahaha...

Hope all sifu out there can help me. Thanks...:_:

i'm not sure about car wires but usually cable insulation has life span.

You need to set the budget first. I think the wire need to change lah..
52/2=26
RMS=26*0.7071=18.38watt(from electrical formula)
Need to find nominal (rating power) near this RMS or the speaker did not function fully.
For normal listening your plan is ok lah...

how about budjet....? i already setup my sound system.. budjet ciput... but the sound puashati la.. my budjet only not reach 500. all things i found in this forum.. all system sendiri bikin.. budjet besar u can setup more power till your neighbour sound u.,..

Go to eletronic shop and buy the wire, the house hi-fi type. 1 meter only cost rm1-1.5. Better that you get your throat cut in acc shop with 1 feet rm4-5. For the whole speaker wire change, the most you will need 30 meters, the balance you can even use for commiting suicide, hehe.

OIC, mean that every sifu here also suggest to change my old set of wire la...IC IC...Actually I changed my Rear 6X9 speaker liau n the sound vr bad as my old HU damn old alr n its rating is around 25X4 if not mistaken. The rear speaker really can't perform itself...

My budget is around RM500 la juz for the HU with MP3 and wiring lo....If got extra maybe I will change the front also...but I will reserved RM500 juz for HU n wiring 1st la.... Then all sifu out there do u think I can done everything wt RM500?

I dun wan to blast my ICE even my neighbour also can heard la...but at least I can feel the bass n treble when I sit around the car lo....No point to invest so much n can't compete with RM200 computer system rite? haha...Now those PC speaker quality quite good alr...haha...

If your 500 just enough for Hu, then change the Hu first, the wire you can change later on. No hurry on that. Only scare that your old speakers wire the insulation no good already and will cause short circuit to your new HU. But if the wire still ok, then no problem. Using a set of new wires will be great, but your wallet will do the final say, not us.

Right, wat u said also correct also..But I think to wiring my whole car not so expensive rite? If extra RM50 for the wiring, I think still ok rite? I not so sure wat the market price....

Now still finding the HU tat around RM500.

For the HU, why dont you contact fofit. He sell most branded HU at cheaper price.

Hilmax said:
You need to set the budget first. I think the wire need to change lah..
52/2=26
RMS=26*0.7071=18.38watt(from electrical formula)
Need to find nominal (rating power) near this RMS or the speaker did not function fully.
For normal listening your plan is ok lah...

To get RMS power rate from Peak power rate actualy not divide by 2.. Power rating actualy have 3 type.. Peak power - Music power - RMS.. Alot ppl forgot about Music power coz not popular in ICE field.. Common right know we heard about Peak power vs RMS.. when you divide by 2.. you only get Music power.. to get RMS power you should divide by 3..

Provided if you do your own speaker wiring, rm50 is enough for you, just visit some eletric or eletronic shops near you, do a survey then you can buy it. Normally 1 meter will be around rm1-1.5. Go acc shops lower quality type, the red and black one, 1 feet cost you rm1.5-3.

kyheng said:
Provided if you do your own speaker wiring, rm50 is enough for you, just visit some eletric or eletronic shops near you, do a survey then you can buy it. Normally 1 meter will be around rm1-1.5. Go acc shops lower quality type, the red and black one, 1 feet cost you rm1.5-3.

Yaa meeh... Eneos, Powertech, MaxAuto mart, Brothers, Cosplus Auto... all this is Accs. Shop & Car services centre... they sale normal speaker cable like Rootwiller, B52 around RM1.50 to RM2.50 per meter laa... the price based on speaker size.. where got per 'feet' maa... If the Branded cable sure per feet 1... coz the manufacturer also sale it in feet maa... Even in their domestic market (US) retail price also sale in Feet... Don't simply make wrong statement laa...

oldskolboyz said:
Yaa meeh... Eneos, Powertech, MaxAuto mart, Brothers, Cosplus Auto... all this is Accs. Shop & Car services centre... they sale normal speaker cable like Rootwiller, B52 around RM1.50 to RM2.50 per meter laa... the price based on speaker size.. where got per 'feet' maa... If the Branded cable sure per feet 1... coz the manufacturer also sale it in feet maa... Even in their domestic market (US) retail price also sale in Feet... Don't simply make wrong statement laa...

Is it? Maybe my place is ulu ulu place, that's why they sell in feet. Maybe next time if I want to change my speaker wires, I will waste the toll and petrol money to KL just for changing the wires.
Seems like you always like to flame blindly on my statements without doing a proper research first. I stay in Seremban and you stay in Kl, is this 2 place the standard of living is the same? Like last time you said I like to mislead newbies on buying this brand or that brand, but I never said that they must buy that brand, is just my opinion. I know you like to condamn me to show how good is you, but what you get in the end?

oldskolboyz... i dun really understand when you say buy wire according to the speaker size...

as i know. i bought my wires by feet and they are cap ayam ones... mayb sarawak is too ulu liao... cap ayam also sell by feet...

cheers...

Wire actually need 13 core for the best results according to my sifu that mad about house hifi an ICE. I have try bigger size wire and smaller size wire to connect speakers, but more or less the same. Maybe my ears got problem or I not too fanatic about it..

I so sorry that I posting this thread will lead so many flaming among you all. Anyway so sorry to all of you. Actually I asking opinion to you all. No one lead me the wrong way. cause end up I the onli one who make the decision rite? So anything wrong should not blame any sifu here. I have to responsible for this also...Anyways thank for the info...I I think I need to wait for my nx salary to come out to bargin with those acc shop. cause I kinda lazy to install myself..hahaha....

diff size, diff price lah, thats normal, also depend on brand also sure diff price, and they sell both in meter and in feet, no matter high end or low end all depends on shop/dealer/distributor/manufacturer.....