New satria neo or Vios

WOW! so many car retail experts here with all the numbers and figures. Good Good!!

Good luck to all those who still using Plotong. Hope you live long and Prosper with your Plotong! (trying to sound like Spock and doing that hand gesture thingy)

And prediction of used car price? So terror la you guys! wish I can do such predictions. THen I'll go buy 4D, Magnum, DaMaChai, TOTO and retire liao.

By the way, 2nd hand '04 Gen2 price now RM30K+ only ah? WAHLAU!?!?! Back then new Gen2 price was RM50K? or was it RM60K hah?

3 years depreciate 40%!?!?!?

Cannot imagine 1 or 2 years down the road how much 2nd hand GEN2 gonna worth.

So as for NEO, how much will it worth after 7 or 5 or 3 years later? we wait and see la.....

If not mistaken, 2nd hand Toyota SEG '97, RM28~30K.

Civic EG '98, about RM25K. I think

Oh! About the spare parts, Genuine Toyota more expensive than Plotong? DUH!...Of course la. Try compare to Genuine BMW spare part, you will feel like someone just slit your throat with a parang and left you to bleed.

Why Plotong spare part cheap? because you are expected to change the same damn part within less than a year.

that is the reason plotong spare part price is cheap!. get it......CHEAP!

Anyway, I not look down on people wif Plotong, don marah yer.

I myself own Plotongs before. Its just that now we got a choice to buy better car, why still buy Plotong?

Last time because of price, we no choice but to buy Plotong.

Aiyo chill la ppl. I'm putting basic economics and savings into perspective. Not siding Proton. Personally I'm against proton too but I'm sure many here will ultimately agree that the wallet is more important. If the thread starter mentioned Myvi I'd say junk the Neo and Vios too :_:

I'm against someone spending extra money on an A-B ride when that money can be put to better use (e.g. investments, house, planning for marriage). Cars in this country are simply blown out of proportion that people are willing to take 7 years of money out of their pocket just to project some sort of image.

As for my comparisons, yes I did give the Neo an extra handicap over the Vios. But still, the figures speak for themselves. Thread starter, you decide what's best for you.

If I were you, I'd consider those heavily discounted Chevy Optras too, since they are more practical than the Neo and are at a much lower price than the Vios :shades_smile:

2nd hand value for a used, cramped, slightly sporty, 2 door hatchback with a crap (currently worthless) badge. Let's see...

To start off with, it isn't the old Satria with loads of modding possibilities. So it wouldn't be as much of a hit with the modding people. Then, it is a niche car, only appealing to a small group of people. These 2 points are already killing it. It only appeals to people who want something slightly sporty and within this group many would go for something a lot more moddable. Hell, Proton didn't even sell much new.

Add to that, it is a Proton, which doesn't hold as much value like it used to. All this adds up to a pretty shitty 2nd hand value, even after just 3 years.

By all means go for it...if you are brave.

PS : Yesterday a friend borrowed me his Gen2 to drive around SUbang while my car was servicing.

The radio switches at the steering all kaput-ed

The handbrake cover comes out, lousy piece of plastic cover.

The power window lock does'nt work.

The dials for air conditiong fade and discolor.

All sorts of rattling sound from under the dashboard.

The plastic lever to open the door is poorly molded with flashes that cuts the finger.

Dents and dings all over the body

All this from a less than 5 year old car.

Hahaha... i expect Gen2 to be better than my previous 3 yr old wira (i never been in gen2 b4)... but damn.. looks like the problem is genetically inherited.. kuakuakua...

of course, u go tell this to proton lovers, they will say, the owner who drives the bad Gen2 dont know how to drive/use the car. :p

28/04: No end in sight for woes of Proton dealers/customers

(Bernama) -- There seems to be no end in sight for woes faced by Proton dealers and customers due to shrinking market share and stiff compeitition from non-national cars, the Proton Edar Dealers Association Malaysia (PEDA), said today.

Its President, Wan Ahmad Sepwan Wan Abd Rahman, said expectations that national carmaker Proton would sell more this year, 166,000 units from 115,000 last year as the pasenger car market grows 4-5 percent, does not come as a respite for dealers.

Poor sales, dwindling second-hand car value and financial institutions placing Proton cars as a high risk category for financing is exerting immense pressure on Proton dealers, he said.

"Loan rejections will remain high, used car value is not expected to improve significantly and non-national cars will continue to give discounts," he said.

Reflecting the challenging time for national car maker Proton, which has been struggling in the face of shrinking market share, Wan Ahmad Sepwan pointed to the worrying trend in credit assessment done by the financial institutions regarding their treatment of Proton and non-Proton cars.

"It would seem that our banks have placed Proton cars under a high risk category wherein our buyers are given a third class treatment," he said in a speech at the association's 8th annual general meeting here today.

He said the number of customers complaining about unreasonable requests from the panel banks have been rising.

He said it was unreasonable that the same customer sails through the credit approval process when buying a non-Proton car.

He asked that financial institutions set a minimum quota on auto loans for new Proton cars.

The difficult time for Proton Edar's dealers is reflected by the fact that the majority are losing money.

For the January to March this year, only seven percent of the dealers are above the breakeven point, which mean 93 percent are losing money, Wan Ahmad Sepwan said.

This compares with 81 percent who were above the breakeven point between 2004 and 2005, and 60 percent above the level in 2005 to 2006, he said, adding that this was based on the association's recent study.

"Unashamedly, I will tell you that I have been losing money for most months in the last 18 months," he said, estimating that each dealer has been losing between RM15,000 to RM20,000 monthly.

He estimated that each dealer sold an average 23 cars monthly, whereas the average dealer needs to sell around 40 cars to break even.

He attributed the trouble faced by Proton and its dealers to the poor model line-up and over saturation in the distribution network.

"Our competitors from across the Atlantic and South China Sea have introduced an average of between 3-5 new variants of each of their models since the 1990's whereas we were still applying facelifts to the aged Iswara, Wira and Perdana," he said.

On the dealership issue, he blamed Proton Edar which went on an aggressive expansion around 2002 and 2003 and asked for a fair compensation should Proton Edar reduce the number of its dealers.

"We are seeking for an amount that will be adequate to assist the dealers and partially compensate them for the erosion of the huge capital injected into the business," he said.

He also suggested that Proton Edar should close its sales branches as they are less efficient.

Some branches should also operate solely as a display centre so that the full range of Proton cars could be viewed and also test driven at these centres, he said.

He said Proton Edar should urgently review its current sales/services network and take into account the commercial viability of the dealers in relation to their geographical locations.

http://www.biznewsdb.com/english/newspage/newspage.asp?ID=7042872&file1=7&bulan=04&kw=wwqq

well even banks have issues.

Ahchuan... just go for VIos la...

i think a lot of facts here edi to back it up..

:)

but... Project-Z team will miss u.. lost 1 member edi.. hahah...

here are some figures i had compiled from the star papers on saturday 5th may.
i was surprised when many people are saying that toyota/honda cars have very good used value.

things have change with AFTA and may become worse in 2-3 years to come. we have to change our mindset and view matters from a different perspective.

1. Toyota Vios 1.5G NZE41 2004
- asking price 63K
- price new then 85K
- difference = 22K @ 26% lost in 3 years

2. Toyota Camry SXV10 1995
- asking price 22K
- price new then 120K
- difference = 98K @ 82% lost in 12 years

3. Toyota Camry SXV20 2001
- asking price 65K
- price new then 160K
- difference = 95K @ 60% lost in 6 years

4. Toyota Camry ACV30 2.4 2003
- asking price 100K
- new price then 170K
- difference = 70K @ 48% lost in 4 years

5. Toyota Corolla SE-G 1999 (with ABS, twin airbag)
- asking price 40K
- price new then 110K
- difference 70K @ 64% lost in 8 years

6. Toyota Corolla Altis ZZE121 2003
- asking price 76K
- price new then 120K (new price now 110K)
- difference = 44K @ 37% lost in 4 years

7. Honda Civic 1.7 VTi S5A 2001(after SO4 aka EK)
- asking price 60K
- price new then 115K
- difference = 55K @ 48% lost in 6 years

8. Honda Jazz 1.5 IDSI 2004
- asking price 70K
- price new then 95K
- difference = 25K @ 27% lost in 3 years

no doubt, Proton cars fare worse even. a gen2 1.6 dropped 35% in 2 yrs period. savvy almost 50% in 2 yrs.

Used car prices are worse, in general, that is without question. That said, the make and the model are also the other main predetermining factors for used car value. So, although the market is shit in general, cars with reputable badges and popular models, still hold their value better compared to the others.

Or the Cefiro A31.

On the topic,
Vios all the way for me. And wait few more months for the new one.

so many rply liau...
thanks alot man!! thanks for the opinion.
i had try the plotong neo n vios..haha.
the neo is very underpower le.. compare to vios..
but the neo hav the better handeling, i think neo's spring is harder n lower then vios. regarding the FC, vios win. no need to said.
ya ho.. i also forget liau, last month i went thailand, i saw the new vios. quite nice from the front. but rear is abit..........

i also delima on this question le.... my roadtax n insurance will expire this coming 15th... if i paid the insurance n roadtax, then i think i'll drive for at least 1/2 year. so still hav some time to search for a better car. dun so rush lo.... rite?

yeah just relax n look 4 a car...no rush...plus lookin will also keep u bz, haha

i once own a vios, first batch, ..
that car save me man.
involve in 2 accident . the first accident got me a claim of rm 40k from insurance
and a crack gear box housing. ,after repair, the car its as good as new even with the crack unfix " coz too expensive to change the entire gearbox"
after repair, on board passanger dont realise its an accident involve car.
second time , it was tottaled.
gearbox in 2 piece engine seperated from chassis. but cabin compartment was untouch..
even comparing to my previous altezza, vios have better response.
highly recomonded, highly graded safty, superb trottle response.
neo may b cheap but think of this, after 5 years, which will burn a hole in ur pocket mentioning about the 2nd hand car price..
have a look at gen2 and waja used car price n u will know what i m talking..

neo or vios?

vios all time, no doubt..

don't b so rush, still got 6 months to think on it, hehe.. car price always down, not like house, up.. up.. n away..

wow, u crash u're vios twice...second time total...how u driving man, haha

i once own a vios, first batch, ..
that car save me man.
involve in 2 accident . the first accident got me a claim of rm 40k from insurance
and a crack gear box housing. ,after repair, the car its as good as new even with the crack unfix " coz too expensive to change the entire gearbox"
after repair, on board passanger dont realise its an accident involve car.
second time , it was tottaled.
gearbox in 2 piece engine seperated from chassis. but cabin compartment was untouch..
even comparing to my previous altezza, vios have better response.
highly recomonded, highly graded safty, superb trottle response.
neo may b cheap but think of this, after 5 years, which will burn a hole in ur pocket mentioning about the 2nd hand car price..
have a look at gen2 and waja used car price n u will know what i m talking..

neo or vios?

vios all time, no doubt..

Uh! Still got passanger dare to ride with u? Or they just didnt know?