Need Advice On Engine Transplant

lavon

Dear comrades, I need yo'all humble advice on engine transplant because Im planning to.

1. How to identify good engine (4G91)?
2. Need to includes 4G91 fuel pump and tank set?
3. Fixin 4G91 engine onto 4G13 gearbox, possible? Pros and cons...?
4. Do complete rewiring need to be done? this is due 4G13 carburator setting.
5. Need to replace rear drum disk brake system?
6. Do overhaul needed?
7. Most of all, is 4G91 new spare parts sourceable? :embaressed_smile:

many thanks

1. How to identify good engine (4G91)? Bring mech to check
2. Need to includes 4G91 fuel pump and tank set? ya
3. Fixin 4G91 engine onto 4G13 gearbox, possible? Pros and cons...? use 4g91 gb
4. Do complete rewiring need to be done? this is due 4G13 carburator setting. can, buy completed halfcut
5. Need to replace rear drum disk brake system? up to u
6. Do overhaul needed? up to u, can do if hv extra cash
7. Most of all, is 4G91 new spare parts sourceable? any places can get

Thanks for your advice bro...

Another worries in which I need your further advice especially when wanting to swap in complete 4G91 engine set and wiring. Mechanics I met would say its tedious and workmanship would cost more. If engine setting and balancing done wrongly, it'll caused trouble... or easy to break apart... how do you think? TQ

Thanks for your advice bro...

Another worries in which I need your further advice especially when wanting to swap in complete 4G91 engine set and wiring. Mechanics I met would say its tedious and workmanship would cost more. If engine setting and balancing done wrongly, it'll caused trouble... or easy to break apart... how do you think? TQ

i dont think the mechanic you met ever did any engine transplant before. 4g91 engine is a direct plug and play for all wira, satria (except neo), arena and putra. i've seen my mech did my car a few years back. it took them 1 day to take out the 4g91 engine from the halfcut, 1 day to take out my current engine and install the 4g91 engine into my engine bay. the 3rd day, they did the testing and settings. touch wood, my engine is still ok now except there's a leakage in my radiator, fix it and it cost around rm80.00. fyi, i dont rev my engine that often and i keep it standard. 4g91 engine is a very suitable and economical engine to drive, especially the manual type engine.

Hmm... I C. I seen allot of friends with transplanted engine always send their rides back to workshop almost weekly due many problem with the engine. Anyway, my ride is Iswara aeroback... do you think 4G91 can easily fit into it's compartment?

guys just wondering can i install a gsr 1.8 turbo into a saga 1.5 mechanically and legally(as far as jpj & puspakom are concerned)?? if can,mind pointing me on which workshop that can do the job? thanx very much

lavon said:
Dear comrades, I need yo'all humble advice on engine transplant because Im planning to.

1. How to identify good engine (4G91)?
2. Need to includes 4G91 fuel pump and tank set?
3. Fixin 4G91 engine onto 4G13 gearbox, possible? Pros and cons...?
4. Do complete rewiring need to be done? this is due 4G13 carburator setting.
5. Need to replace rear drum disk brake system?
6. Do overhaul needed?
7. Most of all, is 4G91 new spare parts sourceable? :embaressed_smile:

many thanks

1. B4 buy, start the engine at halfcut shop when it's on the floor...(of course not for very long..listen engine sound and see got white smoke or not)
2. Yes, throw in complete halfcut. Fuel tank is a MUST
3. Engine pickup or top end sux since different gear ratio
4. MUST throw in complete halfcut wiring/EFI system in
5. Get good deal from halfcut boss. throw it in
6. If need overhaul, better dun buy the halfcut engine
7. 4G91 part most of it compatible with 4G92 and 93. Not hard to buy

My suggestion is if you have the money, please go for overhaul. You will be very happy and glad with the power, performance and stability for a long time. Thats where many people don't do this, - Just masuk and jalan.

Top overhaul kit not very expensive - thats the least you can do, save up abit of money and do it.
Unless your piston all kong then different story on your budget... but at lease you know what you've going through on your engine.

So the workshop just do it once since the engine is already out.

Thanks for the very much needed advice guys...

By the way, before anything come into picture... as per engine availability nowadays how much the price for the 4G91 halfcut could be??

I received comments mentioning the difficulities swapping engine into Iswara... is that true tho?

if i were u, i will just go to my mech there chit chat n ask all the questions i wan to ask, more direct instead of posting here n there....

price of halfcut depends on condition , where n who u buy from. and the halfcut included wat item.....etc

if engine doesnt hv major problem, not necesary to transplant. n after transplant quite headache soetimes go thru roadblock....it might passed the roadblock, just wil kacau kacau u perhaps.

my2cent

Well, bro... its you guys I intend to gather sincere information from because I was cheated by mechanics... even a friend mechanic...

if you kno what I mean because neither I know indept about engine transplant.

Somehow I agree with you about the engine sourcing and price bargain... its rather unknown... what I experience weeks ago is, a friend who intend to sell me da 4G91 engine give a 5K tags... is it until that expensive? Hmm... at least some of you here are humble enough to share info... I appreciate that.

ok....find one day which u r free...

go visit few chopshops for halfcut n pricing survey.....

if realy interested, can ask them to test engine for u..hear the engine, see got any rough sound o not....if smooth mean it is ok. some engine comes with accesories, can get it if u r r lucky. i.e performance air filter, strut bar, meters etc

transplant labor will be rm1000above if not mistaken...can be ready in a week time i guess.

if u r around tmn melawati, u can visit my mech for some suggestion or ideas, he can suggest u wat to do...

my2cent