need advice on changing saga's engine

4g13carb

hello there,

I own a 2002 iswara(M) but have trashed the car to the maximum. I have clocked 300,000km. the absobers are totally gone i guess (when push the car down, it does not come up back...hehehe)

i dont want to change car since this car has sentimental values for me. i have about rm 6k to get my saga back to action.

I was browsing about upgrading my engine. does a 4G91 dohc fit into my iswara. If it fits, do I need to modify the mounting?? Will JPJ give approval. otherwise which other engine gives good power to fuel efficiency for a saga. I am looking for a low maintenance engine with just sufficient power (something like a wira 1.6). it should give me good fuel comsumption as well.

wanna masuk wat sport rim? i heard jrd is paling problematic? can recommend any brand? i wanna fit in 15 inch lah... What tyre gives a quiet ride as well as stability.

how bout absobers? is there monroe sensatrac available for saga? or should i just use the kayaba type again? should i choose the oil type for the front ones and the gas type for the rear ones?
i just need comfortable ride with minimum noise. is there any sport springs that will give better handling without compromising on comfort. APM sport springs bagus tak? or gona stock paling bagus?

does changing the extractor to the 4-2-1 type effect the fuel consumption badly. i heard the powerzone ext. is the best for mit. cars.

do i need to change the exhaust piping, muffler , bullet, tabung semua kalau fit in 4g91?? anyway i wanna change the tabung. the stock tabung sudah bocor dan welding.....

how bout clutch plate and gearbox. kena tukar ke kalau masuk 4g91? drive shaft also?? atau boleh pakai 1.3 without comprimising on the car performance.

one more thing? is there a 3 point stabilizer bar for proton saga rear and front?

brake system; does the wira 1.6 rear disk fit for iswara rear?

well sorry a lot of question. i want to improve my saga since it has sentimental values. no need to answer everything if possible just share ur ideas for a few of my questions..

thanks in advanced...semua sifu sifu kereta

advice

engine change to 4G91 mivec...tak payah turbo...murah jer...save petrol..
boleh masuk tu kat iswara...if u need a good workshop to go to, i can rekomen..they do excellent work..

15inch..brand- SSW, BSA, Volk conbine with Goodyear 55 profile.....these are good...do not use JRD only for stock car..taiwan brand..

use GAB,or IMPROVE, or COMFORT adjustable shocks..combine with coilovers...

u nak good ekzos system chaange everything...go to Wei Yip Ekzos specialist near Tesco Puchong...they do professional work and cheap too..

if u buy halfcut..its all in...engine gearbox..driveshaft..all in there.

hope these helps...

helo 4g13carb..
i alreaddy reply ya post at 4g91 thread .. u can read it there..

silver_dragster : corrections..there is no 4g91 mivec .. 4g92 mivec ada la .. 4g91 is a standart engine with twin cam .. mivec stand for performen mits. engine.. like vtec ..

thanks guys. like what herbie said. i want to survey first before commiting to a particular shop to transplant the engine.

anyway I am still a newbie. I bought my car second hand about 3 years ago and never did any changes cause baru start kerja masa itu. sekarang sudah ada savings..so wanna improve my iswara.

well.. silver dragster, adjustable shocks are expensive dude. i am looking at changing all 4 within rm 800. I have monroe sensatrac in my mind now. do any guys know any other shocks that will be below 1000 (changing all 4)
anyway what is coilover? any info about changing springs without japordising comfort of driving.

for me monroe sensatrac + kimex sport spring is a good combinication.. good item with not really expensive price..

if u alreaddy 4g91 do join us ya.. dont forget ... wheres the 4g91er & x-4g91 belong ..

HERBIE...thank you lah for correcting my typing error in public.:Not_Impressed: ...remind me de next time i need a teacher ok...if i wanna tunjuk pandai i wont be here lor...

yeah, 4g91 twincam is a good engine... power wise is reasonable... fc is also good... its only 1.5L.... mounting problem, if the mounts are done properly, there might be possibility that it will pass jpj... if not, u can also go for 4g92p SOHC... engine comes from the 1.6L xli wira.... torque will surely be better compare to 4g91.... but its a single cam....

yeah, jrd problematic.... vr heavy if compare to other rims... there are vr big difference... u ask the tauke give u 2 different rims and u'll surely notice the difference in weight.... if budgeted, get taiwan immitation rims lor... not bad la... but if u see high bumps or deep potholes, dont run into them... rims sure kemek....

yeap.... stock springs paling bagus.... but if u looking for lowered, get eibach springs.... match with KONI shocks....

changing extractor dont really hurt ur fuel consumption... as long as u have the correct setup... yeap, powerzone extractor is reknown for its quality... if can, get experts advice before proceeding... exhaust mod is a delicate task... not everycar has the same identical setup.... consult JFA or JianHang...

as i said above, consult the expert foreman for advice on ur exhaust system...

gearbox use 4g91 lor... come as halfcut ma... clutch plate and drive shaft stuff i not sure ler....

yeah, there are 3 point bars for saga iswara.... ultraracing has 3point front bar, rear bar, and fender bars..... stabilizer bars are good to strengthen ur chassis...

if u read the "saga iswara rear brake disc solution" sticky thread at "proton thread", that sifoo mentioned we can use putra rear disc brake... the problem is jz that u will be running on 2 different PCD... front-114.3, rear-100....
remember to upgrade ur brake pump, brake pads, and brake fluid as well...