engine transplant question

half_lif3

hi
im currently driving a saga 1.5
and wanted to change engine to 4g91 1.5 carb
the problem is if i wana transplant engine
n now my car have tinted..do i need to go 2jpj 4 inspection?
n the tinted wil it cause the jpj don't pass me?..:Not_Impressed:

.. tinted, but depends on whether it's within the 'legal spec'.. if it is, then should be no problem.

why go for carby engine??... is it cheaper than efi??...

remove all ur illegal tinted flims lor.... or go to any car window shop and ask them pinjam their untinted windows jz to pass jpj... after that, swap back with ur tinted windows....

ya is cheaper than fuel injection alot..
my engine edi 19 years old..
u wan?..haha
so any1 can giv me answer?...
haih..head ache..
this mom go overseas so got extra car 2use..
can go 4 engine transplant liao..

better u just go for the EFI one.
coz u wil surely end up getting a new engine after this.:_:

yeah.. carburetor engine not tat efficient le.. somemore consume more fuel.. :confused_smile:

yah yah... i also advice u to go for efi coz better fuel efficiency... at least u can BOT later if u are interested...

but if u are old school type and vr keen in tuning carburettors, they can be jz as good as EFI... bolt on a weber DCOE on top and u can get enormous horsepower...

however, not many ppl can tune carbs, especially the 4 trottle body ones....if salah tune, it consequences can be disasterous......Anyway, i have no doubt that carb engines are powerful....

half_lif3,
Dude, pertaining to engine swaps/transplants, I think it's a good idea to study carefully what engine fits your engine mounting first. Also, it'll be helpful to see what the prices of various engine. If you've done so, then cool. :) The next thing you may want to consider is which workshop does a good engine transplant. I heard that if an engine is not implanted properly, although it may be running good and problem free when you first get back your car, problems may start later on and when it does, the problem never stops. So, a properly implanted engine seems to go a long way in giving you a problem free drive.

If you're changing your engine because it's giving you lots of problem, then take time to look around for a good engine. If you're changing your engine because you feel that your current engine has no power, then do consider also that if you get a more powerful engine, fuel consumption is probably going to increase. Since the economy is already going downhill, you may want to consider the fuel consumption factor. Of course, if that's not your concern, then go for the most powerful engine that your car mounting can fit. Best of luck.

half_lif3,
yesterday the star posted something about do and don'ts of car modification.
here the link.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/5/14/nation/13761118&sec=nation

inside got one point, modifying steeringneed JPJ permission. is it true?? any sifu...

i think SAGA 1.5 engine mounting not "Ngam" for 4G91 series lah, need change some mounting. JPJ/ Puspakom sure cannot pass....but if you got "M" another story lah..correct me if wrong.

brother...1.5 transplant to 1.5 no need to modify mounting cause same engine ler...just one is 8 valve carb...while the newer one is 12 valve with newer carb...so more power...jpj will allow...about ur tinted...very easy...just tear off the tinted and go for inspection...once inspection gau tim then go tinted again...but normally u dont need to go for inspection if you dont intend to(IT IS ILLEGAL THOUGH)cause u still pay 1.5 road tax and the engine is of the same design...only the engine number is different...

Shit i didn't know.... so does it mean even though i changing the same engine... is the sense same engine but lets say a new engine.. cause my old engine died.. i'm suppose to go for jpj inspection.. even though the engine has the same code?.. cause i just ask a runner 2 change the number

the runner wont change number...they will bring it to register also...or u can change the engine number to be same as ur original ones...