MLOC (Lancer MX,MR,Mivec,Evo) report in.

huh, anyone notice that our Thread hit >1000 replies on today...suddenly found out that i have maked no 1001 replies and our Mr P.....are no 1000....hurray:shades_smile:

i have some info from a broker frd claiming that some unreg e7 in KL are from SPORE.... if this is the case, issit ok to buy over if the AP is ok and condition is good? anyone can tell mi or enlighten mi on this?

just wondering guys, what kind of engine oil are u guys using? and why?

kampoon,
hehehe... i was waiting for the number to run.. hhehehehehe...

DDgrey,
yo bro, your car so high horses.... give us some chance on sunday ah?hahahaha

ckwhon,
well... If the AP is jpj approved..then its ok.. but if documents got problem or smuggled in.. i suggest that its not worth it.. coz you will have problem selling it in future... as well as having problems in insurance....

bbi-man,
regarding engine oil... my personal preference in either HKS or Motul...
I've tried:
1) Q8- i find it a little heavy... (not really for evo)
2) Conoco- (engine protects.. but too heavy.. for normal cars only)
3)Endless- very fast response.. but gets hot very fast...(oil temp can reach to 120-130 at speed drives..)
4)HKS- fast response and light... Stable...15/50 recomended for daily drives... if race use higher grade.
5)Motul- response good.. not as light as HKS but i put it as one of the best...
6)Amoil- testing now... i feel for daily driving is fine... but response not as good as HKS or Motul..

I notice HKS and motul gives very stable reading on oil temp at high speeds / revs...
Thats why i choose between these 2 brands...

just my oppinion!!! :)

ckwhon,

If de documentation is correct n JPJ approved then de car can buy provided car condition is good n excellent!!! It doesnt matter where de car came from, as long as de AP is original n de car is good in condition!!! :_: Cos even car from Jap oso can b very bad condition...

bb1-man,

Am using HKS engine oil! Very good n stable engine oil... Recently i reard an artical comparing engine oil for turbo cars... Brands tht are include in de test - HKS, Motul, Redline, FK Massimo, TRD, Endless n etc... Redline end up getting de highest score in all tests... Wil update u what do they tested!!! So i think my next change wil b Redline... Most engine oil above r pretty pricy too but its worth it if it really help u to protect ur engine!!! :_:

thanks for the input guys. Am considering either motul or hks for next oil change. i think engine protection is key here.

bb1-man said:
just wondering guys, what kind of engine oil are u guys using? and why?

This is a tricky question for what enigne oil to use, there have several good brand of engine oil in our market like HKS, Motul, Redline, AMSOIL & etc. So for which brand to used, is up to your own liking. Basically when come to choose a good engine oil will have few factor.

1. What viscosity you need? Thicker or thiner? thicker = better protection but engine will be heavier; thinner = less protection, but engine feel more responsive. For turbo car like us using 10W50, 20W50 or any ?W50, bcos our turbo charge engine temperature is higher compare to NA engine, thus we need thicker oil to protect our engine even running under harsh condition of hot temperature & provide stable performance even at high temperature. BUT it doesnt mean, as long as you choose a Thicker oil 20W50 or 20W60, your engine will have enuf protection, because every type of oil will have a different Viscosity Index. 1 oil might have good viscosity during low temperaute, but not during high temperature. a good enigne oil will still maintain a good viscosity to protect your engine during high temperature.

2. Choose a oil with good Viscosity Index (VI). Viscosity has an inverse relationship with temperature Viscosity decreases with increasing temperature (the oil thins out) and viscosity rises with decreasing temperature (the oil thickens). The lower the VI, the greater the change of visc of the oil with temperature.

3. Please go for 100% synthetic. why?

There are several key advantages to using Synthetic Oils:
  1. Synthetic oils have a higher viscosity index than mineral base oils. Synthetics have better resistance to thinning at high temperatures and thickening at low temperatures.
  2. Since synthetics have little or no VIIs, synthetics last longer in service without radical changes in viscosity.
  3. Synthetics have a much higher film strength than petroleum oils, so it take a lot longer for the oil to drain completely off your bearings and into your sump.
  4. Heat is a major cause of lubricating oils failing while in service. Mineral oils begin to fail at 250°F. Synthetic oils can handle 400°F of continuous heat caused by friction and combustion.
  5. Synthetics have better thermal stability and oxidation stability than most highly refined mineral base oils with inhibitor additives.
  6. Synthetics have very low volatility compared to mineral base oils. Synthetics don't tend to burn off.
  7. Synthetics possess unusual solvent power for dissolving gasoline and diesel fuel residues which enter the crankcase as contaminant byproducts from combustion.

4. Value for money. Of cause it will not be a factor if your are loaded lah, then can go for those hoghest range. Spend your money wisely, if your car is ori, standard, street spec engine oil will provide enough protection to your engine, ofcause . If your car is modded, then u should choose racing spec engine oil to provide maximun protection to your car to prevent bearing burn out & other wear & tear problem.

Motor oil is the life blood of a vehicle, not many ppl consider motor oil until there is a problem. why i know this? haha, bcos i'm 1 of this "ppl"..haha :)

So now is the bussines time...kekeke :_:

I have this oil called Sunoco from Japan, http://www.sunoco.co.jp/english/product/racing/index.html

on hand now i have:
For Racing : Xpower 12.5W40 & 17.5W50
For Street : Ultra Synthetic 5W40 & 5W50

I'm giving special rate for MLOC member ONLY!!

For those who is interested can PM me or call me at 012-2698971 for your member price...:)

Anyway, hope what i share with you can help you in choosing your own Engine Oil. :shades_smile:

S9, where u read the artical? from magazine or web? can show me ah? does the testing comes with the test result of the oil property? like the Viscosity during 40'C & 70'C, the Viscosity index, flash point 'C? i'm searching high & low now for all this firgure to make comparison. :_:

awesome write up silvia. But what about older engines? do u still recommend full synthetic for older turbo engines? im running an 8 yr old 4g63t and ive heard some ppl recommend using semi-syn instead.

and if using full-syn with turbo engine, can we still stretch the next oil change to 10,000 km?

bb1-man,
In my opinion, it would be a personal opinion and feeling (as in your style and feel) when it comes to choosing or comparing an engine oil. Comfort or responsive to me might not mean the same to you...

You are not wrong on semi-syn on older engine but even with semi synt, it would be pretty good for old engine..as long as you remember NOT to use your oil for 10 000km (as rumored). This is regardless of any brand or whether is semi-synthetic or fully. Is even critical for turbo engine to change engine oil and it's oil filter 5000Km.

It would be easier to brainstorm over TT then here as I'm a bit lazy to write now..hehe. Tomorrow we have a track day so allow me to retire earlier.

I thought u're going to meet us up ? Hope to see you soon..

one last thing to add, when I mention not to use 10000km, I am referring from a perspective of 4G63 Turbo engine. I know for certain NA car, that is possible as long as it stays off track or uphill driving.

yeah hope to TT soon too. now pening. Car still in workshop trying to figure out that idling/engine dead problem. see other thread "evo2 idling problem" ive posted the prob in there.

bb1-man said:
awesome write up silvia. But what about older engines? do u still recommend full synthetic for older turbo engines? im running an 8 yr old 4g63t and ive heard some ppl recommend using semi-syn instead.

and if using full-syn with turbo engine, can we still stretch the next oil change to 10,000 km?

Some ppl will say, old engine should used mineral or semi synthetic, but not full synthetic, but some say no problem, bcos mineral & synthetic is compatible.
http://www.imakenews.com/rotella/e_article000398800.cfm?x=b57g4m6,b2lKnS5l,w

As far as i know, synthetic is compatible with old engine as well, for certain group of ppl fhaving some problem when switch from mineral or to full synthetic for their old / high milleage engine is bcos of the additive in the full synthetic help to clean up the engine, when it wash away those "dust" it get block some where, so they feel some thing wrong with the full sythetic oil & start blame on it, this can be over come & get more better result after 2 or 3 oil change.

put it this way, if old engine using synthetic will cos harm to it, then what happend if you using mineral or semi oil, under harsh running with high temperature, the oil viscosity break down & burn your bearing....which 1 is more serious, no joke when it comes to burn bearing & damage your engine? Again, if your car didnt mod too much & not always pushing it to the limit, semi synthetic will do the job also. Every catergory of oil will will have it advantages & disadvantages. Like what B18C-R say, at the end, you are the 1 choosing the oil depens on your liking

Is not recommended to change oil up to 10K in our turbo charge engine...again, all is depends on your driving attitude & what oil filter u are using. :_:

MOTUL 300V has been very much proven for my case, very light n cost effective amongst all the major brands :)

today track day was ABOSLUTELY KOOL !!!!!
thanks to S9, B18 C n leslie arrangements, once again MLOC rocks :)

sorry bros......left early with our BLUErager and my bro, coz too damn dead tired.....man.....the few hours sweat I had....most probably got myself dehydrated :(

Anyways really really enjoy la....thanks alot :)

B18 C.....thanks bro.....the stuff u got me really very nice !!!! i now looking at it...hehehehe blink blink......chrome chrome shiny shiny :)

Write your reply...