Mivec or V-tec?

Enthusiast

Hi sifu-sifu here...i'm planning on getting a car soon and have been considering either a Satria with 1.6 mivec or an eg with b16a...wat do u guys think?
Satria is cheaper but not very reliable?
Eg more expensive but durable?
which one would be faster?
which is the better choice in terms of speed and also economically ?

thanx!

sienn....this topic has been discussed multiple times....try use the search option to look for past threads....thx....

spyderslr said:
sienn....this topic has been discussed multiple times....try use the search option to look for past threads....thx....
kenny, let him test drive ur monster mivec lah........muahahaha :biggrin:

Well.. my short comment for u hehe..

This question is like.. hm..
U like choco milk? or Strawberry milk? hahahaha :biggrin:

Well.. As u know protons cars.... have minor minor kachao problems.. but once it's fully modified to mitsubish then.. it's different story.. I might say..

It's all up to u.. which way u prefer..

Mitsubish Tech? or Honda V-Tec..?
However.. there is one big difference here..
Even though u change every single of things in Mivec Stria..
It's still Proton Satria.. but
Honda EG V-tec is... anyhow Honda V-Tec...
(Original VS Original Wanna Be)

Another 'but' here...
It doesn mean Original supposed to be faster or very durable
than Wanna Be...

Happy Mod... :wink:

Danny101 said:
kenny, let him test drive ur monster mivec lah........muahahaha :biggrin:

oii balik ur toyota forum ler.....hahah.....my mivec no monster lah....cant even beat ur 20v silvertop.....haih.......haf to consider change car lorr.... =P....hahahah

spyderslr said:
oii balik ur toyota forum ler.....hahah.....my mivec no monster lah....cant even beat ur 20v silvertop.....haih.......haf to consider change car lorr.... =P....hahahah
hah, how dare u ask me to go back to toyota forum dun forget i own a proton wira aeroback as well but of course not the kind of monster as urs............. :biggrin:

Danny101 said:
hah, how dare u ask me to go back to toyota forum dun forget i own a proton wira aeroback as well but of course not the kind of monster as urs............. :biggrin:

lolzz......oh yeah hoh....hahaha...sorry sorry....forgot ur wira aeroback can wack EP3.... =P~~~.....heehehe.....my car slow bai...cannot compare to urs.....toyota damn good lah, maybe consider changin to toyota....kakakaka.....

Enthuiast,

Here are my comments ...

>which is the better choice in terms of speed and also economically ?
Speed:

Comparing a stock to stock condition, a EG with B16A (1.6 DOHC Vtec) is definately faster then a Satria with 1.6 Mivec. Remember, I mentioned stock condition ! There is no point discussing about mods coz is very subjective and goes 'endless'. In anycase, although on 'paper', mivec states 175ps vs vtec 170ps (both DOHC 1.6L) on engine power, the reality is always vtec. I believe the power loss in mivec lies in the drivetrain and transmission loss.

Economical:

It depends on what is your defination of economical...fuel consumption ? or parts ? MIVEC parts is quite difficult to source if it is aftermarket. As for stock replacement, is not that hard. However, the fact is vtec B16A parts is really like pasar malam. very easy to get ! In terms of pricing, I'm sure you already have an idea how much a satria cost and what that means when you start adding in the mivec conversion into it.

hope this helps.

yea man thanx so much...by far this is the most helpful post...
well i juz went to meet up with some friends of my friend...and coincidentally one of them owns an eg6 b16a and another satria4g92...they raced and guess wat? vtec won...twice...
well here are some stuff i noticed after looking at their cars.

Civic eg year 92 b16a : fckin kickarse looks, but interior very old looking. very fast...but has squeaking sounds inside...have to wind up windows urself...

Satria mivec year 97 mivec 4g92 : lookswise not bad too but prefer eg, interior looks nice and new, feels solid, power windows.

Well, i know it's pretty tough deciding which car to get as there are advantages and disadvantages on both sides, but would like to gather more information on both cars. how about fuel consumption and basic maintainence? and also general reliability of both cars?

thanx

Enthusiast said:
Hi sifu-sifu here...i'm planning on getting a car soon and have been considering either a Satria with 1.6 mivec or an eg with b16a...wat do u guys think?
Satria is cheaper but not very reliable?
Eg more expensive but durable?
which one would be faster?
which is the better choice in terms of speed and also economically ?

thanx!

go for the satria. reason:
1) it's cheap & also v reliable.
2) eg is expensive & v unreliable.
3) satria is v much faster than eg.
4) satria wins both hands down.

399 said:

It depends on the buyers long term budget .... Both car assesories can be easily get but of coz honda parts is expensive then proton parts ..... 399, what do u mean by satria is much more faster then EG ? I don not agree with that bcoz there's endless mod of these 2 engine .....

399 said:

i disagree......ur EK9 wins both hands down, feets down, heads down....all down......muahahaha......satria slow bai compared to Honda weii......

basket, u n danny come here kacau2 oni.... =p~~~ ..hahahaha......

okok b4 u start flame me bak like danny, i know u got own a wira too ya......hehe

hahaha....! don't treat me like that.... i'm v serious la this time.... btw how's your new toy? u going to sic with danny this sun? can i come?

yes goin SIC wif danny this sun....can..!!...but dunno got enuff space anot....until now, i dunno how many cars r goin....u brings urs along lah.....dun care lah wira sedan or EK9... =)...

as for the topic question....depends on ur budget lah bro.....if u got high budget, Vtec (whether u wanna haf Eg or Ek, its up to u) straight ler dun waste time......if not later we recommend u play satria, n then u come bak say 'my car cant win vtec' .... then we wun feel nice oso....hehehe...but in terms of durability n reliability, i dun think there's much tat separates them both if ur aim is still for normal use.....hope tat helps k......

i think its bout the same lahh bro......not much of a difference i think.....even got oso, wun b so high until can keringkan ur bank account....maintenance cost varies, dependin on the condition of the car (considering u gettin it 2nd hand) as well as the halfcut (for ur conversion)... cheerzzz....

so........how much does it cost to transform my potong into your monster...?

u wanna potong ur car...?....wahhh...good good....gif me a good price....i got an EJ6 4 door waiting for an engine....hahahhahaha.....

399 said:
so........how much does it cost to transform my potong into your monster...?
haih u must be kidding kenny, since when r u interested in protons especially when ur driving a honda type R EK9... :banghead: