CC5 or XM2?

jebatdex

Hi there

I'm planning to change my car tyres, between these two choices. Im going for R14, 185/60, standard size for my 1.6 1996 Satria. Both are roughly the same price, CC5 cheaper by RM10 or so. So, can you guys suggest to me which to choose? Or any of you have experience using any of these? Thanks in advance.

I will definitely go for XM2. It's a good tyre that providing quiet ride and yet fuel economy. Just my 2cents.

Hi there

I'm planning to change my car tyres, between these two choices. Im going for R14, 185/60, standard size for my 1.6 1996 Satria. Both are roughly the same price, CC5 cheaper by RM10 or so. So, can you guys suggest to me which to choose? Or any of you have experience using any of these? Thanks in advance.

Cheaper by RM10, i might as well go for Michelin. I'm using the same size on my saga blm.
Quiet and grip is good on dry and wet. Not a performance tyre, just safe enough to keep you
on the road.

CC5 suck bro..dun like the tyre noise and grip isnt good..

Yoko A-Drive not bad, u can hv a try.

So the scores now is 2 (XM2) - 0 (CC5) :idea: i think that's a good enough reason why I should choose XM2.. More suggestions? Yoko A-drive how much the price? Is it in the same price range? Yeah, I'm not looking for performance tyre, just a reliable one but not the cheapo not so famous one..

CC5 is also good but then if only RM10 different, I would go for Michelin instead.

Don't use CC5. It's no where as good as advertised. I've used it before. My tires skidded under heavy braking even in dry weather! Tyre noise was also very annoying when thread life reached 50%.

By the way, you can't go wrong with Michelins. The only downside I can think of is the price...

Its a no fight! XM2 win in every aspect and the price different doesn't justify why we need to buy Conti Comfort 5 instead of XM2.
Conti Comfort 5 tend to bulge faster than XM2 not to mentioned the inferior grip.

Yup, if all rounder tyre just take the XM2, if want something that grips better, instead of A-Drive go for C-Drive 2...

I went around Ara Damansara area yesterday, get a few price quotation for XM2.. Lowest I can get with the labour and balancing, RM200 each. Is it a good price already? I called Klang shop, they give me RM190.

RM10 difference not worth the trouble to go to Klang. Total Savings only RM40, and you still need to pay for petrol and toll, and worse thing your time to go there.
Since you mention Ara Damamsara try this shop, 3S Specialist where price post in AW forum mention they are selling at RM191 and includes Balancing, Alignment and Nitrogen Gas.
Of course, please call them to make sure the above is correct....

185/60R14
Bridgestone Turanza AR10 - RM175 Hin Leong (Feb 12)
Continental CC5 - RM180 Moh Seng Tyre Battery, Malim Jaya, Malacca. (May 12)
Falken ZE322 - RM140 Jooi seng, Klang - (may 12)
Falken ZE322 - RM140 Soon Jaya, Tmn Merdeka, Malacca (Indonesia) May 12
Falken ZE912 - RM150 Soon Jaya, Tmn Merdeka, Malacca (Thailand) May12
Goodyear Duraplus - RM180 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
Hankook Optimo ME02 - RM210 Drive-in Motorsports Sri Petaling (Sept 12)
Kumho KH17 - RM165 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
Michelin XM2 - RM191 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
Michelin XM2 - RM185 Hin Leong (Feb 12)
Radar RPX900 - RM140 Yu Leck , Rawang (Feb 17 2013) - Made in indon by Omni Tyre
Sime Astar A100 - RM160 Moh Seng Tyre Battery, Malim Jaya, Malacca. (May 12)
Yokohama A.Drive - RM147 Hin Leong (Feb 12)
Yokohama C.Drive2 - RM 168 Hup Shun SS3 (inc Valves & Balancing) (Jan 13)
Yokohama C.Drive2 - RM153 Hin Leong (Feb 12)
Yokohama C.Drive2 - RM160 Jooi Seng, Klang (may 12)

if you want performance tyre, i suggest save money and change to 15inch. i am using XM2 15inch now, corner grip suck, braking grip suck, all performance action also no good. Only highway quite, tahan lama... that's not for performance using, i regret very very much... T_T

Xm2 is not meant for performance. Get ps3 if want good performance

Comfortable ma XM2 and Fuel efficient too since is a GO GREEN Tyre. Grip cant expect to be like PS3 but I can say
is safe enough for normal daily driving. Not some hardcore corners or etcs.