B18C non type r~

Actually, we would all be surprised with the FC you get with B series engines. It's very fuel efficient. I once got about 11.5km/l city driving and about 13.3km/l highway driving and mine is a B20B. I reckon B16's and B18's should be better.

It mainly depends on how we drive.

bro u sure this statement? if like that i will go for b series since i wanna use ....it as daily driving....cause currently with 1.6 sohc non vtec manual, rm10/ 50-60km...... still struggling b series or turboed d16 , the reason i think the d will save more fuel is because when i am at 80km/h, the rpm not even 2400rpm..... tested fren's ef2 b16a with cam and other hardware mods..... rm30 Ron97 run not reach 100km..... and other fren's eg b16a, 300km per full tank.... that is not scary enough, the scary part is,80km/h 3k++ rpm..... i think this parts is the most suck fuel parts...

and i wanna ask u bro, for b18c gsr to go into eg, mounting need mod? mounting on the gearbox or mounting on the body nid mod?:listen::listen::wavey:

i've been daily driven the stock OBD1 p72 manual b18c gsr engine in ek 4 doors almost 2 years now. It's a combination of highway and city road and all i can say it's a good engine with good fc thanks to its longer tranny. The down side by using the gsr tranny covered up with the higher torque number the b18c produced compare to b16a engine which have shorter tranny. I don't have the exact fc no. but i would say the fc is quite the same with 1.6liter sohc vtec auto previously in my engine bay with much much more power :biggrin:
i own a B16 and my friend D16 both are vtec,FC wise no prob 1 week pump only 1 time full tank...and full tank is around 60+ kao tim d...not too heavy foot ....mine MT and my friends AT

bro u sure this statement? if like that i will go for b series since i wanna use ....it as daily driving....cause currently with 1.6 sohc non vtec manual, rm10/ 50-60km...... still struggling b series or turboed d16 , the reason i think the d will save more fuel is because when i am at 80km/h, the rpm not even 2400rpm..... tested fren's ef2 b16a with cam and other hardware mods..... rm30 Ron97 run not reach 100km..... and other fren's eg b16a, 300km per full tank.... that is not scary enough, the scary part is,80km/h 3k++ rpm..... i think this parts is the most suck fuel parts...

and i wanna ask u bro, for b18c gsr to go into eg, mounting need mod? mounting on the gearbox or mounting on the body nid mod?:listen::listen::wavey:
ya as peterj says so...my friend SOHC vtec auto rpm not even 3000 rpm gb already changes to top gear..so no chance to try his sohc vtec:banghead:but i told him go for vtec controller make it 3000 rpm open :biggrin: and for all dohc vtec...almost 3000 rpm air filter sounds is started to be different and almost 5000 rpm you can prepare to hear screaming d :rofl:thats why it sucks lot fuel like tap water lol

wanna ask friends
how about b18c gsr with b16a head
coz many of gsr head come with auto tranny cam.if i don want change manual cam n i change all complete head to 16a manual, how about the power?anybody have expirience in this?

should wait madman bro ,peterj and ddv_nk12 reply you bout this ....i still newbie lol

wanna ask friends
how about b18c gsr with b16a head
coz many of gsr head come with auto tranny cam.if i don want change manual cam n i change all complete head to 16a manual, how about the power?anybody have expirience in this?

better for u to get just the cams....itll be cheaper too.. the GSR head has about 0.2 higher compression than all other B series head. ull lose that compression if u go with the B16A head.

and not forgetting, ull have to get the intake manifold as well, as the GSR head wont fit other B series intake manifolds..

the GSR head is actually an advantage to some extent.. its unique when compared to other B series VTEC head. slightly higher compression and different IM inlet....though it may be a lil tougher to get aftermarket IMs for GSR head...they are available out there and can be easily found if u look in the right places.

plus... u can get B18C Type R cams out there for around RM1k-1.2k..if including installation, i think itll still be cheaper than replacing it with B16A head + B16A cams. ull make better power too.

eg+kseries engine..modified mounting got sell n plug n play...auto power oso not bad...most important is the engine sound quiet...torque more higher(if i'm not feeling wrong)

if k20a not affordoble might want to get b20 or crvtec or b20 vtec. can get 220whp on ron95. more torque than 1.8 type r. rev up to 8k rpm. more than that better prepare rm650 for a 2 liter engine block. cost for b20 also less if you have vtec head b16a, b18c. if you have b18cr and pour in ron95, ur making less power.if tuner already tune according to ron95 so he need to minus timing especially at lower revs.so town driving is not pleasurable.if b20 diffirent story.you will get torque.

Yeah, b20 vtec the way to go. I'm lovin' it...:biggrin::biggrin:

this is true. im experiencing it .. ahahahha. :rofl:

yup...b16a b16b b18c all feel the same.can feel slightly different. but b20 coz of the torque is a different story.i not yet drive into one but all people say its awsome. feel the car light. my car b16a dyno 178whp. change the block to 1.8 dyno 193 whp. since hampered by ron95...its just plain boring. if i use ron97 right now sure my b18c feels awsome too. but for people like me always use ron95 why not go for b20b...budget around rm2000 should be more than enough.

B16a stock got 178whp????? It is all the engine aboved are modded?:confused:

no...no...no...already change cam to skunk2 tuner series stage 2. yes it is modded. 1.8 block with same cam. but think want to change to toda. coz skunk2 mainly for drag.thats why powerband is at the back.toda u can get low and mid. usually you want power as fast as we could.i chose skunk2 as during that time cost was not that expensive if to compare original toda.

rougly how much is the stock whp for B16A and B18C GSR?

b16a 154whp & b18c gsr 170whp....not every engine has the same dyno result. and not all dyno machine has the same whp. it depends to the healthiness of the engine itself.

during my time in b16a i've change the gear ratios. my 3rd and 4th gear is shorten. so i accelerate more faster in those gears. so this contribute a bit to get 178whp.