mivec 1.8

Iswara,
I'm cool with your thoughts! :) Yeah.. one can progress by stages from the stock 4292Mivec and learn the mods from there. But of course, one can opt to shorten the "fun but long process of modding" by jumping straight into being a mutant! It's like shortening the foreplay and go for the big bang! :D

Drift,
Contrary to belief, the 175bhp on crank for stock 4g92Mivec is more of a brochure sales pitch. :( In fact, have seen some dynoed at 120whp or less
Pace,
Most peak hp is achieved at between 6500 to 75000 rpm depending on set-up. ;) Air con would sap about 15-30% of the power pending the condition of the compressor. :(

Delphie,
That's one good idea. In theory it should work! :) Just that by boot is kinda small..maybe Greystar's? ;)

ya agreed. unless DDGrey has already filled his boot compartment with supa dupa 15 inchers subwoofers lah hehehe ..

hmmm.... gud idea la that trunk-style air-con. still have the comfy when driving fast like hell... :lol: hehehe. can use it in my car la.....hmmmm. kool car = B)

Originally posted by Joeker@Feb 21 2005, 20:21
I heard about a Rojak Mivec using this set up from a fren:

Head : 4G92P MIVEC

Intake manifold : 4G92P MIVEC

Throttle body : 4G92P MIVEC

Injector : 4G93 GSR

Block : 4G93 GSR

Piston : 4G92P SOHC Proton.

Conrod : 4G93 GSR.

Crankshaft : 4G93 GSR

Management : Greedy E-Manage.

Then with usual N/A mods like :
- Thin metal gasket
- Clevite77 race bearings
- PnP
- Balanced internals
- Blueprint rebuilt
- Custom made lenght tuned headers
- 2.2 inch straight flow exhaust system.

Achieved 180++ WHP. (spent close to about RM20K)

Redline 8K RPM with ease.
wa... :) quite expensive loorr... with RM20K we can get fully complete turbo engine and others acessory ext and int... and horse power also trully more than 200 HP... :rolleyes: correct me if i'm wrong... B)

hahaha u r rite....my boot no place liao...in fact i seldom on my aircon ...only when theres traffic jam....

Originally posted by chiku+Feb 22 2005, 15:24 -->
QUOTE (chiku @ Feb 22 2005, 15:24 )
--QuoteBegin-Joeker
@Feb 21 2005, 20:21
I heard about a Rojak Mivec using this set up from a fren:

Head : 4G92P MIVEC

Intake manifold : 4G92P MIVEC

Throttle body : 4G92P MIVEC

Injector : 4G93 GSR

Block : 4G93 GSR

Piston : 4G92P SOHC Proton.

Conrod : 4G93 GSR.

Crankshaft : 4G93 GSR

Management : Greedy E-Manage.

Then with usual N/A mods like :
- Thin metal gasket
- Clevite77 race bearings
- PnP
- Balanced internals
- Blueprint rebuilt
- Custom made lenght tuned headers
- 2.2 inch straight flow exhaust system.

Achieved 180++ WHP. (spent close to about RM20K)

Redline 8K RPM with ease.

wa... :) quite expensive loorr... with RM20K we can get fully complete turbo engine and others acessory ext and int... and horse power also trully more than 200 HP... :rolleyes: correct me if i'm wrong... B) [/b][/quote]
Yeah i agree Rm20k is too much, by looking at those spec Rm15k can do it. The most expensive is only the E-manage 180 hp on wheel very healthy.
Mine mivec head+ 4g93 block archieving only 152 hp but with standard ECU lah.

DD when u going for dyno ?? I was suprise that here got discussion about mivec also.

recently havent dyno...but last time was told around 163.....now not sure lor....mayb power lost....

Bro zeneger....u free a not ? call me lar...we tt n test test.... anybody else ? bro spottie come along n sing along man.....i know u did something to your mutant lar !!! cant wait can t wait to have a run !!!

Gstar,

Yeah.. gonna do something.. to arrest my "makan minyak hitam" syndrome (wear n tear after all these years). :(
My car was dynoed at 130whp only.. ;)

another side of views to the topic ..

since you just starting to do transplanting.. if your ori engine and chasis is 1.3 .. better stick to 1.6 mivec.. its easier to register and not hassle.. and cheap too.. u can do it yrself at JPJ..

but 1.8.. its difficult and costly nowdays.. some says its impossible..

not like b4... now authority has tightened the enforcemet law..

just my humble opinion.. :)

Originally posted by gspot@Feb 22 2005, 17:15
Gstar,

Yeah.. gonna do something.. to arrest my "makan minyak hitam" syndrome (wear n tear after all these years). :(
My car was dynoed at 130whp only.. ;)
when did u dyno ??!!! u damn brave lar......when when ??!!! any chance to BIG BORE ?then u can have custom made 2.1 or at least 2 litre stroker kit liao....hehehehehe SURE MORE TORQUE !!!

Originally posted by gibod_78@Feb 22 2005, 17:24
another side of views to the topic ..

since you just starting to do transplanting.. if your ori engine and chasis is 1.3 .. better stick to 1.6 mivec.. its easier to register and not hassle.. and cheap too.. u can do it yrself at JPJ..

but 1.8.. its difficult and costly nowdays.. some says its impossible..

not like b4... now authority has tightened the enforcemet law..

just my humble opinion.. :)
hehehe...very fortuantely ...our cars r all oorignally on 1.8 platforms already :) hehehe spottie's ar......blonde color lor kekekeke :)

ohh.. u guys Gstar and Gspot drove GTIs edi ler.. no wonder no problem.. all happy face.. :D ..

anyway.. its onli the current rullings.. those who have registered long ago no problem.. this is current situation which limits the mods.. unless we dont care ler..

actually was asking on the aircond because have heard that the compressor will be the first to go with all the high revving

not so much on the power loss

more on the money loss when the compressor goes

so thought that normal driving and suddenly want to play play with some faster cars passing by on the road have to switch off the a/c

have been told that the aircond will not last even a few times at 8000rpm

was told that without the GSR block, the hybrid will also not last

other things are the one of the bearings for the timing belt, think it is called the gun bearing

true?

guess the oil squirters will help with the much higher rpm though the stock GSR and 93P is normally runned at such rpm

i was advice the same too.. never to rev high with aircond ..

altough there is loss of power.. im more concern of $$$ gone if compressor kong.. :)

thats why track car no air cond mah.. :)

Gstar,
Dynoed lllooooonnnggg time ago far far away in Sunway when DMT was still very young laa... stock car dyno laa.. No big bore yet laa :blink: .. only need to change valve seals. :( The only stroker kit I'm using is the breast stroke :P

Gibod,
Gstar also drives a GTi but with a custom boot for his woofers, and a handy inflatable doll hehehe :D Yup.. u r right. It's tough to register with JPJ nowadays unless your own ang pow collection is very good!

Pace,
For any car, its is NOT advisable to rev hard with air con on. Busted mine when my car was a bit stock, recently busted another (after 1 1/2 years)and now running on my spare kompressor. Have seen a stock Accord 2.2 blown one away too. Anyway, am running on recon compressors (like new) all the time after my ori punya koyak. But then, don't forget to service your air con compressor, cooling coil once a year. Yup.. your compressor needs to change minyak hitam also. They even have normal, semi and fully synthetic performance compressor oil. ;)

In all I have now also known as Kompressor Killer (not the Mercedes kind) :lol:

Originally posted by gspot@Feb 22 2005, 19:38
Gibod,
Gstar also drives a GTi but with a custom boot for his woofers, and a handy inflatable doll hehehe :D Yup.. u r right. It's tough to register with JPJ nowadays unless your own ang pow collection is very good!
:D

ermm.. since yours is GTI engine.. did u just add on mivec head or change the whole engine?..

bro gspot.. how much is it to service the compressor and aircond parts?.. including tukar minyak hitam all.... i never serviced mine liao.. 2 years edi.. :blink: :ph34r: must go to aircond shop?..

Originally posted by -e f i n i-@Feb 20 2005, 13:00
I have only heard of Mivec 1.6 head + GSR 1.8 block = Mivec 1.8 Turbo....
but, Mivec 1.6 + 4G93P block shud be can right?
I have never heard of any 1.8 Mivec engine before, only the hybrid ones.

if im not mistaken, FTO 1.8L engine isnt even mivec, and its a SOHC, so i think its a 6A11?? I think FTO mivec is the 2.0 version, FTO GPX, they call it, since it produces near 200hp and its 2litre, so i assume its 6A12. for those 6A engines, i think only 6A12 NA is mivec....200ps 6A12 version. the rest, 170, 240 TT versions aren't.

please correct me if im wrong, im not very sure of it either.

say if a GSR 1.8 with mivec head is used(turbo of course), how much would the power rating be? higher than 170hp(4G92 mivec power rating) or even surpassing 180hp(around GSR turbo's power rating)??
hi, I'm a new bird, so can I ask u, if I using MIVEC 1.6 head & mix wif DOHC 1.8 block, what timing belt I have to use? According to my knowledge 1.6 timing belt is 153 teeth, how i calculate the teeth. Pls let me know if u know!!!

Thx