mivec 1.8

Originally posted by gibod_78+Feb 22 2005, 20:17 -->
QUOTE (gibod_78 @ Feb 22 2005, 20:17 )
--QuoteBegin-gspot
@Feb 22 2005, 19:38
Gibod,
Gstar also drives a GTi but with a custom boot for his woofers, and a handy inflatable doll hehehe :D Yup.. u r right. It's tough to register with JPJ nowadays unless your own ang pow collection is very good!

:D

ermm.. since yours is GTI engine.. did u just add on mivec head or change the whole engine?..

bro gspot.. how much is it to service the compressor and aircond parts?.. including tukar minyak hitam all.... i never serviced mine liao.. 2 years edi.. :blink: :ph34r: must go to aircond shop?.. [/b][/quote]
Gibod,
Well, did a "Wolverine" (X-men style!!) on my ori engine. ;) The GTi / Putra are good bases to mod.

Yup must send to a good Air-Con man. Waaa 2 years oledi ah..
Well.. to service:

Not sure as prices vary.. did mine at Desa Kepong coz he is good and cheap.
Think u may have to replace ur balang filter RM40-60, cuci cooling coil & check 4 leaks (if leak u can change at RM300 or cheaper u can mend it provided leakage not too serious), pipping check, coil valve RM30-50 if rosak or tersumbat, compressor bearing check(!!), compressor wash & tukar minyak (depend on type of minyak) and lastly tambah gas.. the ozone munching one or the ozone loving one. :) And lastly make sure do right compressor belt tightening.. not too much and not too little.

Originally posted by gspot@Feb 24 2005, 01:32
Gibod,
Well, did a "Wolverine" (X-men style!!) on my ori engine. ;) The GTi / Putra are good bases to mod.

Yup must send to a good Air-Con man. Waaa 2 years oledi ah..
Well.. to service:

Not sure as prices vary.. did mine at Desa Kepong coz he is good and cheap.
Think u may have to replace ur balang filter RM40-60, cuci cooling coil & check 4 leaks (if leak u can change at RM300 or cheaper u can mend it provided leakage not too serious), pipping check, coil valve RM30-50 if rosak or tersumbat, compressor bearing check(!!), compressor wash & tukar minyak (depend on type of minyak) and lastly tambah gas.. the ozone munching one or the ozone loving one. :) And lastly make sure do right compressor belt tightening.. not too much and not too little.
:D
putra and GTI indeed a good base.. but the car itself expensive ler.. :( cant afford.. i guess u really super rojak yr engine until become wolverine type.. :lol:

yeah.. never service my aircond.. actually i hardly use aircond anyway.. and hardly drive my car oso.. most is twice a week jer.. mostly night time so cold edi.. :P

it seems like servicing the aircond will cost more than RM400 .. let say doing all the maintenance thing that u have mentioned.. coz like mine 2 yrs edi.. sure lots of thing to do mah.. :(

hey .. mebi u can intro me to the Desa Kepong aircond man.. i have little experience in aircond service.. affraid of kena pow kaw-kaw.. another word.. conned.. :(

Gibod,
Waa.. ur second or third or fifth car ah? :D If that's the case, is air con giving any prob? Maybe a very mini minor service like check gas level and just clean cooling coil will do. No prbs on recommendation.. quite a honest chatty guy. the air con man. ;) He's just behind the Desa Ayamas.

Originally posted by gspot@Feb 24 2005, 18:41
Gibod,
Waa.. ur second or third or fifth car ah? :D If that's the case, is air con giving any prob? Maybe a very mini minor service like check gas level and just clean cooling coil will do. No prbs on recommendation.. quite a honest chatty guy. the air con man. ;) He's just behind the Desa Ayamas.
bro gspot.. no lah.. no other car.. just small motocub.. easier to move around ler... :P
my aircond do felt a bit warm in daylight and traffic jams.. its bcoz it the condenser size is small.. only half the radiator.. dunno from what car.. :huh:
but the internal parts.. i think no problem.. i guess normal aircond service shld be ok.. btw.. im not familiar with Kepong area .. :(

Gibod,
Do u know where the Kepong Mc Donald's is? It's within the same area. Well, there are mods u can do to make ur air-con to perform better! Maybe can start new craze.. Air-Con Mods!!! :D

Waaa.. can join the cub also!! My other is.. a HONDA. Done some mods like modded hi-flow CB100 carburetor with open pod filter, strengthen piston & con-rod, internally modded stock exhaust and I was thinking of going for Big Bore and maybe Vtec hybrid....some real mad mods for a HONDA c70. Hehehe :D

Originally posted by gspot@Feb 25 2005, 12:59
Gibod,
Do u know where the Kepong Mc Donald's is? It's within the same area. Well, there are mods u can do to make ur air-con to perform better! Maybe can start new craze.. Air-Con Mods!!! :D

Waaa.. can join the cub also!! My other is.. a HONDA. Done some mods like modded hi-flow CB100 carburetor with open pod filter, strengthen piston & con-rod, internally modded stock exhaust and I was thinking of going for Big Bore and maybe Vtec hybrid....some real mad mods for a HONDA c70. Hehehe :D
Kepong McD?.. hmm.. Kepong Maybank i know ler.. :unsure: hehhee.. aircond mods interesting.. one ultimate mod to think of is how we can rev untiil 8k without loss of power and compressor kong.. :P

wahhh.. bro gspot.. guess we had same interest in Honda.. :P mine old junk ex5.. using suzuki 150 scrambler carburator and 33 size spocket (for long distance since i stayed in rawang) .. open pod as well.. :P but internal parts loosen edi.. just waiting time to overhaul onli.. :(
during my study days.. have done racing internals mods like racing block/pistons/rod/bearings/plugs/cables/twin clutches.. semi slick tyres.. alloy rims.. modded ejos and some make-ups.. but now all original stended parts edi ler.. all sold off.. hehehee :lol: i even has one accident last 2 weeks my handle senget edi.. my covers pecah.. mudguard oso pecah.. fork leaking.. untill now havent repair.. still can ride around... hehehhe :P

Gibod,
Hehehe.. the power of dreams!! Well, my time was the C70s back in the 80s.. trying to hybrid with the CB100 parts and did completed one with my friend. Really gave the smoking 2-strokers a hard time. A radical one was a heavy modded Suzuki RC100 that can easily hentam 160km/h.. i mean kinda "giler" for a mo-ped. Even seen dudes with sub-33 sprockets.. missed the Bel-Ray minyak hitam though.. :D

Kepong McD is belakang Kepong Maybank which is also belakang KFC and Guardian Kepong laa.. aiyaa.. the place with a lot of the girlie barber cum karaoke one.. :D

I heard about a Rojak Mivec using this set up from a fren:

Head : 4G92P MIVEC

Intake manifold : 4G92P MIVEC

Throttle body : 4G92P MIVEC

Injector : 4G93 GSR

Block : 4G93 GSR

Piston : 4G92P SOHC Proton.

Conrod : 4G93 GSR.

Crankshaft : 4G93 GSR

Management : Greedy E-Manage.

Then with usual N/A mods like :
- Thin metal gasket
- Clevite77 race bearings
- PnP
- Balanced internals
- Blueprint rebuilt
- Custom made lenght tuned headers
- 2.2 inch straight flow exhaust system.

Achieved 180++ WHP. (spent close to about RM20K)

Redline 8K RPM with ease.
Hi Joeker,
U r riding MIVEC 1.8???
With GSR block, r u going to change u oil pump to Mivec or 1.8 NA?
If i'm not mistaken, NA oil pressure are higher than turbo...

& also the piston...Turbo is low compression but Mivec is very hi comp...
Certainly...most of the ppl will remain the 4G93P stock piston which mid comp...

I just need an advice...'''as an Mivec onwer'''
Thanks ya!!!:itsme:

hai guys
wow 20k big buck u put on your car . :rolleyes:
but u still run with standard cam . maybe hp can gain more with jun cam stage 2 .:biggrin:
but the price 4k with springs .:confused:

With 92 sohc piston can get 180whp?? i used mivec piston + 0.4mm gasket (thin?) but i can't feel my car got more than 180bhp... :biggrin:

bro zac ,
after install mivec piston do u dyno again your setup . coz mine with flat piston get almost 150whp . plan to put mivec piston (high comp ) . do u facing any problem after install mivec piston :confused:

Last time i also use flat piston, got low end torque but hi end seemed getting weaker... thats probably because i didn't install emanage just increase fuel regulator pressure to 4. I did this because previous mech die die said put mivec piston will get detonation unless use 0.8mm gasket...

After putting in mivec piston and emanage, low end getting better and hi rev engine wont feel suffocated also. I'm using original 0.4mm gasket and performance wise is stable. I was using single layer radiator open pod which sucked in more hot air and temp quite high if my car was'nt moving, changed to double layer and install oil cooler (some said waste of money:biggrin:) and now temp around 60 even under hot sun. But there's one time radiator almost dried and my temp was around 90, whenever i accelerate can hear knocking sound obviously... very scary:thefinger:

Last time i also use flat piston, got low end torque but hi end seemed getting weaker... thats probably because i didn't install emanage just increase fuel regulator pressure to 4. I did this because previous mech die die said put mivec piston will get detonation unless use 0.8mm gasket...

After putting in mivec piston and emanage, low end getting better and hi rev engine wont feel suffocated also. I'm using original 0.4mm gasket and performance wise is stable. I was using single layer radiator open pod which sucked in more hot air and temp quite high if my car was'nt moving, changed to double layer and install oil cooler (some said waste of money:biggrin:) and now temp around 60 even under hot sun. But there's one time radiator almost dried and my temp was around 90, whenever i accelerate can hear knocking sound obviously... very scary:thefinger:
Hi Zac,
Need ur advice here!

1. Did ur foreman recomend 4g92 piston instead of Mivec cause it doesn''t have much diff if u put 0.8mm gasket, rig?
2. ur engine knocking sound wise u can adjust the distributor...but after adjust will be heavier press on low end!!!

bro zac ,
could u share more . which rpm that ur engine start to knorking . is't when we are using 4g92 piston the knorking will not occur . :confused:

My lousier ex-foreman said use 93 flat safest, or 92 sohc for higher cr, if use mivec then muct pust thicker gasket which make no diff to 92 sohc... this is where i lose money :thefinger:

Current mech use mivec piston and 0.4mm gasket, cr 12.5 according to him... i dun have knocking when i floored cos more fuel pumped in but will get black smoke when mivec open... It only appeared when starting to floor... i guess it's because i purposely asked him decrease fuel for lower rpm and fuel saving thus higher temp... just wild guess on this part lah..

black smoke???
Can't be...it will only happen when u change gear...
black smoke = over fuel
white smoke = engine oil smoke!!!

Why black smoke will happened when change gear?

Yalah, over fuel a bit to protect engine during hi rev and to control afr... when it was set ngam ngam at 14+ the car no power leh...