Meters ohhh Meters

KingHaruan

okie dokie...

we all know that there's a lot of acc. meter for that racer looks, so i really like to know how it works?, why we needs it? and the benefit of it? by having these meters other than eye candy purpose...

1. thaco - ok, i know this are for rpm (any other pupose?)
2. volt meter - purpose and benefit?
3. water temp - is it for the radiator ah?
4. vacumm - heard it is for pressure in engine (true ah?) why ah?
5. any other meter that u know (good explenation r welcome from all pros)

as knowledge is power, when knowledge is shared ;)

B) TQ

1. thaco for RPM
2. volt meter - to make sure your battery is not driven till dead la , if volt low then u know ur battery kong or altenator kong
3. water temp - same as the temprature in ur dashboard meter panel
5. boost - if got turbo then to see ur pressure
6. oil temp - oil temprature in engine
7. oil pressure - the oil pressure inside engine
8. AFR - to see ur Air Fuel Ratio - see ur tuning lari or not
9. EGT - exhaust temprature - also used to see tuning lari or not

Originally posted by jinkl@Dec 24 2004, 23:03
1. thaco for RPM
2. volt meter - to make sure your battery is not driven till dead la , if volt low then u know ur battery kong or altenator kong
3. water temp - same as the temprature in ur dashboard meter panel
5. boost - if got turbo then to see ur pressure
6. oil temp - oil temprature in engine
8. AFR - to see ur Air Fuel Ratio - see ur tuning lari or not

this one same as vacum ah?

the meter in temp, how to see if tuning lari wor? lower temp means lari or higher temp?

vacuum is ur air intake la brother
EGT not very very sure la bro..

read here
http://www.sdsefi.com/techegt.htm
they tell u difrence in AFR and EGT

EGT is Exhaust Gas Temprature with this they can do tuning too

jinkl..

can u help me to find place to install the Air fuel Ratio (AFR) ..bcoz yesterday almost 5 - 6 accessories shop i went but they dunno how to install this AFR..help plz

AFR is to check whether ur engine running rich ,ngam ngam, lean
rich = too much petrol
ngam ngam = correct rationing of petrol + air
lean = too much air
correct ar?

AFR = to check the air and fuel (correct kut)....

about the VACUMM, how ? how u fully utilize it? how to know whats wrong?
i need to understand laa...not fully familiar with all the meter function...

plus the rest of the meter cluster...anybody?

Bro,

Vacuum meter to measure vacuum pressure of your engine (normally mesure in mmHg... this a very low pressure, below atm.)
Your engine is like vacuum cleaner which suck in air for combustion laa..
there's web sites explaining which I don't remember the address. You can search using Google.. just type vacuum gauge or meter...
The gauge can be used to do simple troubleshooting on your engine health.. if your gauge a bit lari-lari during idling.. then your engine might have a problem or two.. there's also a web site on how to troubleshoot your engine using the vacuum gauge..
I've use mine to monitor engine health (and for looks also laa..)

Hope that helps. :ph34r:

Originally posted by autopimp@Dec 27 2004, 20:56
Bro,

Vacuum meter to measure vacuum pressure of your engine (normally mesure in mmHg... this a very low pressure, below atm.)
Your engine is like vacuum cleaner which suck in air for combustion laa..
there's web sites explaining which I don't remember the address. You can search using Google.. just type vacuum gauge or meter...
The gauge can be used to do simple troubleshooting on your engine health.. if your gauge a bit lari-lari during idling.. then your engine might have a problem or two.. there's also a web site on how to troubleshoot your engine using the vacuum gauge..
I've use mine to monitor engine health (and for looks also laa..)

Hope that helps. :ph34r:
idling lari lari.. mine lari wooo... means got prob ar?

I think you better go to this website.. I just found my printout on this website.. got info on how to read proper vacuum pressure ...

www.centuryperformance.com/vacuum.asp

Bear in mind it just show you what could've been the problem.. and do your own preminilary check.. for serious problem.. you still has to consult mechanic lah..

:ph34r:

IMAGE # WHAT YOU SEE DESCRIPTION

1 Steady Needle Normal reading (usually 17-22" Hg. in stock engines) Race engines vary "a lot" and in most cases will be considerably less.

2 Intermittent Fluctuation at Idle Ignition miss, sticking valves, lifter bleeding off (hydraulic), or just a BIG camshaft

3 Low, though Steady Reading Late timing, low compression, sticking throttle valve, carb or manifold vacuum leak (remember most race engines with a big cam and a tight centerline and high overlap will be naturally low ... you must decide your baseline vacuum reading)

4 Drifting Needle Improper carb setting or minor vacuum leak

5 Fluctuating Needle as RPM Increases Ignition miss, blown head gasket, leaking valve or weak or broken valve spring

6 Steady, but Needle Drops Regularly Burnt valve or incorrect valve setting (too tight), "needle will fall when bad valve operates"

7 Gradual Drop at Idle Clogged exhaust, excessive backpressure (extreme cases engine will die at idle)

8 Excessive Vibration that Steadies as RPM Increases Worn valve guides

hey guys.. how many wires are there in a vac meter?? i know there is one pipe connecting to the engine right? other than that, is there any thing else?? coz if thats so, i wanna get it and install on my bike laa.. heheh... just for show

Originally posted by KingHaruan@Dec 30 2004, 04:24
Vyraz.... :) superbike or easyrider....if superbike sure damn cun wan.. :P
eheheh..
tell u dont laugh ok??
aint no superbike aint no easyrider..
just a crazy old rg.
trying to figure out how to wire an rpm meter but gave up.
so.. can anyone tell me??
how many wires in a vaccum gauge?

wah....u like acc...still.... :) sure look cun wan....but takut if u pasang ppl curi nanti... somemore nowdays car kena pecah becoz ppl curi meter... :ph34r: