Max limit for TD04L turbo

no la, the engine got its limit ma, 1bar won't kaput wan..jin, where are you, jin..he's very good in technical..gonna need his help to answer ur doubts and confusions..

i have try boosting 1.4 bar at tdo4l but not so different. better boost 1.2 bar .. because cfm tdo4l 300cfm if not mistaken..

Or modded the fin using 15g is ok .. better responce and tork..

amboi kelvin, u manyak promote itu td05 eh..

---------- Post added at 03:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:13 PM ----------

i have try boosting 1.4 bar at tdo4l but not so different. better boost 1.2 bar .. because cfm tdo4l 300cfm if not mistaken..

Or modded the fin using 15g is ok .. better responce and tork..

yeah, high boost on small turbo won't gain much power..

amboi kelvin, u manyak promote itu td05 eh..

---------- Post added at 03:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:13 PM ----------

yeah, high boost on small turbo won't gain much power..

This is caused by compression chocking on the compressor itself... where the A/R is too small. Pressurized air not able to flow smoothly...

but...what i know is...
subaru original also using Td04... for reduce LAG :)

but...what i know is...

THen why do you think EVOs does not use TD04 to reduce lag. Every turbo is designed to suit diffrent engine in relation to engine designd boost pressure and engine compression ratio. All automotive manufacturer will design their engine to feel lagless as stock conditon.

Do remember, TD04L is good enough for your ZZT231 engine. Cause it's not adviseble to boost high on a high compression engine having 11.5CR. But ur thick metal head gasket reduce a little there. But still too high to boost anything above 0.7bar. So, not point having a TD05

if not mistaken, subaru is using RHF4
which is slightly bigger than TD04

Subaru do have TD04L. But TD04 is just code to represent the housing. Compare TD05 EVO 1 and EVO 2. Both are 16g but obviously size are different.

but...what i know is...

bro,do u know the subaru standard turbo header how many long?of course will got abit lag,they normally will use ball bearing turbo,subaru is using boxer engine the turbo header pipe is going out from two place,if the brand new banana is long also,please see the picture why the lancer evo no need to use small turbo?coz the 4g63 is line 4 engine,the banana not so long,lol
SubaruImpreza.jpg
2zdxj87.jpg

• SubaruImpreza.jpg
    SubaruImpreza.jpg
    27.6 KB · Views: 1
bro,do u know the subaru standard turbo header how many long?of course will got abit lag,they normally will use ball bearing turbo,subaru is using boxer engine the turbo header pipe is going out from two place,if the brand new banana is long also,please see the picture why the lancer evo no need to use small turbo?coz the 4g63 is line 4 engine,the banana not so long,lol
SubaruImpreza.jpg
2zdxj87.jpg

Wow !! thankss !!
Nice picture !!HEHE!!

• SubaruImpreza.jpg
    SubaruImpreza.jpg
    27.6 KB · Views: 0
I think u should not hav any problems if wanna boost 1bar IF all d groundwork is done. I had no problem boosting @ 1.1bar On my previous gsr setup..
-1.5mm MLS head gasket
-banana manifold
-tial 38mm w/gate
-works man boost con
-stok 390cc inj
-walbro pump
-eMange blu

The hp/torq figures are not dat impresive but the power is smooth frm 3k all the way to redline 7.5krpm. And the boost is maintain at 1.1bar consistently, no boost drop.
Maybe its the Tial doing wat it does best..

But for td04, i dont think boosting more than 1.1/1.2bar is effective nor efficient. As the turbo is maxed out around 1.2bar. On the road, i didnt feel any difference in pulling G's/top speed. As for the engine internals, its safe to say dat they can support the pressure ratio.. just as long as ur engines healthy & ur fueling system is up to d task.
Even though i've upgraded to a bigger turbine, still boosting @ 1.1bar.. d internals hav withstand d punishment well - at least so far.

Another opinion is maybe to upgrade/enhance on d other part of the 4g93t while retaining d tdo4. Anything thats bolt-on.. intake/exhaust mod, cam/crank pulleys, cams, etc. Once u feel the turbo cant give u what u crave anymore than u can consider swapping to bigger turbines. At least the basic mods is completed. :driver:

As for why the same boost pressure from td04 & td05 generate different results is bcoz tdo5 has larger compressor housing/fin than td04. So a 1bar of boost frm td05 could push a larger amount of air into the injen. despite the intake/t.body restrictions, d turbine would still push larger volume of air than a td04 would.
My 2 cents.. :cheers:

u r welcome:burnout:

Then check out EVO's stock IC piping... Easily 2meters of routing with a big intercooler.

I think u should not hav any problems if wanna boost 1bar IF all d groundwork is done. I had no problem boosting @ 1.1bar On my previous gsr setup..
-1.5mm MLS head gasket
-banana manifold
-tial 38mm w/gate
-works man boost con
-stok 390cc inj
-walbro pump
-eMange blu

The hp/torq figures are not dat impresive but the power is smooth frm 3k all the way to redline 7.5krpm. And the boost is maintain at 1.1bar consistently, no boost drop.

But for td04, i dont think boosting more than 1.1/1.2bar is effective nor efficient. As the turbo is maxed out around 1.2bar. On the road, i didnt feel any difference in pulling G's/top speed. As for the engine internals, its safe to say dat they can support the pressure ratio.. just as long as ur engines healthy & ur fueling system is up to d task.
Even though i've upgraded to a bigger turbine, still boosting @ 1.1bar.. d internals hav withstand d punishment well - at least so far.

Another opinion is maybe to upgrade/enhance on d other part of the 4g93t while retaining d tdo4. Anything thats bolt-on.. intake/exhaust mod, cam/crank pulleys, cams, etc. Once u feel the turbo cant give u what u crave anymore than u can consider swapping to bigger turbines. At least the basic mods is completed. :driver:

As for why the same boost pressure from td04 & td05 generate different results is bcoz tdo5 has larger compressor housing/fin than td04. So a 1bar of boost frm td05 could push a larger amount of air into the injen. despite the intake/t.body restrictions, d turbine would still push larger volume of air than a td04 would.

Good advise... if this is for veilsideboyz , i think he's riding on a celica ZZT231 engine with 11.5 CR. 1 bar is not possible... Unless he can find 2mm metal gasket. Customizing it can cost >RM350. If this is refering to someone else, then just ignore me and assume I'm :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

-1.5mm MLS head gasket
-banana manifold
-tial 38mm w/gate
-works man boost con
-stok 390cc inj
-walbro pump
-eMange blu

Thanks for ur info, currently my setup other than banana extractor, all ur list already done, and yes, succesfully boosted 1.1bar at 7.5k rpm. But now got another situation^^ I got an apexi boost meter and a hks boost controller and which both unit show 2 different reading, I dunno I should follow hu. when my boost meter shows 1.2bar, the controller only show 1bar. Any1 got such situation pls share.

Then check out EVO's stock IC piping... Easily 2meters of routing with a big intercooler.

Good advise... if this is for veilsideboyz , i think he's riding on a celica ZZT231 engine with 11.5 CR. 1 bar is not possible... Unless he can find 2mm metal gasket. Customizing it can cost >RM350. If this is refering to someone else, then just ignore me and assume I'm :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

got one other way,is going machine shop cut down abit the piston firing surface,:rofl:

Write your reply...