Max limit for TD04L turbo

Bro kelvin, may u pls explain y same amount of boost but can get more hp? ^^ Sry for asking newbie question, I jz started to learn turbo.

Use bigger turbo...more horse power you will gain...but more lagger that you have...
Small turbo only for pick up and good respone when during 2.5k-4k.... but after rev 4-5k... the turbo will OUT OF BREATH !!
Sound Big Car Slow :biggrin: and...small turbo hard to get above 300hp~~!!
If you are using Td05.... you can get it !!

---------- Post added at 10:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:23 AM ----------

i'm thinking of changing to td-05 too but scared pistons and conrods cannot tahan..hehe

piston wont blow la... if you boost around 0.5-1.0 bar.. no need to change piston ~~
most people change piston and con rod..... they need for high boost 1.5bar++....

Hmm.. still I dun get y same amount of boost at same RPM by using bigger turbo can get more hp, since the throttle body and intake manifold saiz still maintain the same, suppose the air charged inside the whole air charge system already at the max pressure. If let say the td04l can't charge enuf 1bar pressure at 7k RPM, but td05h can, then sure the hp will gain; but the situation now is both turbo boosted at the same amount of boost at the same 7k rpm, and the whole charge system maintain the same, I can't imagine how bigger turbo can produce more hp. Turbo sifu pls enlighten me, Im considering to change a bigger turbo, but nid to get enuf point to push me to change bigger turbo.

ok, let's take a table fan and a ceiling fan for example..both running at the same speed, do u think the ceiling fan is more cooling than the table fan?..i hope this example can clear all your doubts between a small and a bigger turbo..

Hmm.. Ofcoz ceiling fan produce more CFM, bcoz the fin bigger ma, but isn't it only happend if it is in a free flow situation? What if in a limited flow rate restrict by throttle body and intake manifold, and pressure already restricted to 1bar? isn't the td05h suppose not allow to spin at same speed with td04l? bcoz if both same speed, sure td05h will produce alot more boost, then bomb ur engine "-_-

no la, the engine got its limit ma, 1bar won't kaput wan..jin, where are you, jin..he's very good in technical..gonna need his help to answer ur doubts and confusions..

td05h flange is plug and play td04l gsr flange,so many ppl use td05h in they gsr,hehe

Hmm.. Ofcoz ceiling fan produce more CFM, bcoz the fin bigger ma, but isn't it only happend if it is in a free flow situation? What if in a limited flow rate restrict by throttle body and intake manifold, and pressure already restricted to 1bar? isn't the td05h suppose not allow to spin at same speed with td04l? bcoz if both same speed, sure td05h will produce alot more boost, then bomb ur engine "-_-

Yes. TD05 CFM is higher compare to TD04L. However, our engine consumes the the pressurized air. When valves open, cylinder supposed to be in vacumn and then filled with pressurized air. At higher end, aka higher RPM, the valves open in a higher rate and the pressure of 1 bar will not be able to supply the sufficient flow in terms of CFM to the engine anymore...

That also depended on engine capacity. Eg, 2 separate room installed the same ceiling fan. But Room A is small. But the ceiling fan is just nice to cool the spaces... However, ROOM B wi double the size of room A. So, in order to achieve the same cooling effect,

1) Increase the speed of the fan.
2) Let say turn to 5 and room still can't reach the cooling effect. The fan is undersized.
3) But when u put the same fan into room C, which is only 1/2 if room A. The cooling tendency is higher...

td05h flange is plug and play td04l gsr flange,so many ppl use td05h in they gsr,hehe

Yes. but the seze of the exhaust inlet of TD04 and TD05 is different.
To be exact, it's not PNP. The exhaust outlet of the exhaust manifold needs to be bored up to suit the inlet size of the TD05.

Get a Td05 !! wont regret ! :smokin:

Yeah... a little lag. But more Gssss

---------- Post added at 11:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:52 AM ----------

Conrd gsr can stand 1.5 wit tdo5.hehe...

depends on the tunning...

speed2horizon .. wanna ask you...
most people blow their engine coz of the boost pressure right ?
Hmm...
For example :
Using td04 can boost 1 bar...that'mean use Td05 also can boost 1 bar ??
same compression ratio...

speed2horizon .. wanna ask you...
most people blow their engine coz of the boost pressure right ?
Hmm...
For example :
Using td04 can boost 1 bar...that'mean use Td05 also can boost 1 bar ??
same compression ratio...

Most ppl blow their engine because of a few things

1) over boosting and not knowing their engine limit.
2) insufficient fuel. Engine boosting on lean condition and causes detonation.

Just bear one thing in mind. When u want the horse to run faster, u need to feed them more. When u want a car to be more powerful, boosting higher = more fuel supply. If maximizing the injectors and ur engine is still running on lean condition, then time to upgrade injectors as well...

Compression ratio is depended on your engine. Not the turbo. TD04L and TD05L both can boost 1 bar. But as said earlier, the CFM is different. Result will also be different.

Mind sharing your engine spec?

thx speed2horizon for the infos..

Haha... just effort of lifting hand. Dun mention...

engine spec zzt231 compression ratio is 11:5:1 (high compression) same as vtec i think...
already put 1.8metal gasket to low compression...
now boost 0.6..plan to boost 0.7bar...
what you suggest ? :rolleyes:

engine spec zzt231 compression ratio is 11:5:1 (high compression) same as vtec i think...
already put 1.8metal gasket to low compression...
now boost 0.6..plan to boost 0.7bar...
what you suggest ? :rolleyes:

Please spicify your engine stroke and bore. i can do a rough calculation.

Also let me know the stock head gasket thickness...

Write your reply...