LE club`

sat? all my frenz coming wor....they not into LE...me going TA and D1 too....

Wah...
is tis sat(4-11) or nent sat (10-11),plz hurry up. 2morrow i mayb halfday work,so mayb go to watch D1.

eh guys... just wanna tell u about a product i tried on my LE...

Its a decarbonizer i tried on my car, runs much better now... pick up, acceleration and all better.

One of the marketplace merchant by the name of yongfei is selling it... try it!!!

et_box said:
President not decided when and where is the TT... hahaha

Supp Adeen!!! What do u mean? Let the bonnet terbukak sikit? Hrmm.... how to do arr?

Wassup et_box....u just replace the present screw at the hood with a bigger screw. Well, that's what i did to mine....or sum ppl say just add a washer....so, the car would look like there is a monster engine inside.... :-)

brada.. i bought the LE 2nd hand...
so it came with 2 of the fans at radiator blastint full speed once the engine is started.
the engine gets thirsty both with fuel n water. hv to refill everyday with roughly a cup of water at radiator, n 2 cups more at the reservoir.. haha... i miss it when i first realize my bonnet hv vapour during rain..that was..a traffic jam plus heavy rain..
it's still hot now..

oh ya, do u guys encounter outside smell getting into passenger compartment? mine is pulling in smell from outside at times, like behind a damn black smoke metrobas... or those white smoke motobike.. any experience on common leakage place?

Yupe, LE are proved to be thristy for water and fuel after working hard for 20+years.
I need to refill my radiator every two to three days and it takes almost like 500ml per filling.
The fuel consumption was very poor.
Although it's 1.3l, it consumes petrol like a 1.8l. Maybe it's due to the engine is old and it still runs on carburettor.
But if you put aside all those troubles, LE is a very nice car to drive.
I can say that LE is a suitable car to train new drivers too.
The original 1.3l engine is also quite revvy for me and I managed to push the car to 180km/h.
My LE was stock standard at that time and it still runs on the original rims that had many holes of different shapes.
Kinda like the rims after being with the car for quite some time.

Bout smell coming into the cabin, yupe, mine had that problem too.
Whenever I pass by any durian stores, my car will surely sucks in the durian smell that makes me stop my car to get some durians.........hehehehe.........
Talking about leakings, whoa, my car had many leaking spots but not as bad as my friend's 130Y sunny.
(LE proved to have better rust-free material than Sunny :p)
My trunk had cracks at both ends and if I need to keep something in the trunk, I need to place the thing in the centre as it will get wet if I keep it at both left and right sides.
Roof also leaking at both driver and passenger sides creating difficulties for me whenever I drive in the rain.

Hey Daniel!

hrmm... there was once, i didnt realise that my engine oil tertumpah in my boot... so i thought there was some leak or something. Started to panic la... look everywhere but the boot... then until one day, i open my boot to put something.... then i found out.... hehe... also Daniel is right, the boot tends to let it water at the right and left sides.... my tools were all rusted and such.

Xeno, u are right about smells, it tends to come in very easily into the cabin. Usually if i see asap or something, i just turn off the aircond as i think that's where it comes in from. Unless your windows are open la... aaHAhaHAhaHAh

Talking about water consumption, make sure u guys check for leaks or anything. Mine seems alright after replacing my radiator. Car overheated once... water pump failure. I refill the water about once a week. No problem... only problem is the fuel consumption la.... aHAhaHAhaHAhaH

Oh... just wanna tell u guys about 2 bad experience i had... real scary... one day, i was driving downhill on Jalan Maarof in Bangsar from Bangsar Shopping Centre. As i was about to reach the traffic lights... my brakes failed... luckily i managed to swerve onto the curb and bushes. LUCKY didnt langgar anyone...

Another time when i was on Jalan Raja Chulan, i was entering the carpark just below KL Tower, nearer the main road. As i was stepping and holding on to the brake, suddenly there was a sound something like *TAK*!!! Then my car started rolling back... brake failed again...

So, just wanna tell u guys to REALLY REALLY CHECK your brakes.... servos and such. You'll never know... so please be careful.

Hey Daniel, what's your LE's FC like? RM50 can go how far?

Daniel Lee said:
My LE was stock standard at that time and it still runs on the original rims that had many holes of different shapes.

AHahaHAHAHh....what r u using now bro?

et_box, thanks God that nothing happen to you when your brake failed.
I also did encounter brakes problems with my LE.
The rear left drum brake seems to be too tight.
The rear left drum brake will still intact after I release the brake pedal making the tyre locked when I accelerate.
Solved the problem by changing both rear drum brakes and also brake oils.
One more thing about the brake and smell is everytime I come down from Genting, my LE front brake discs will produce extreme brake smells other than that my LE brakes function very well.
My LE can almost reach 300km with RM50 fuel with no aircond because aircond already spoilt.
Didn't change the original rims. :)

hAHAhaHA...thanks Daniel, but i think God still wants me to suffer on earth longer...

Coming down from Genting, very hard on the brakes... did u try downshifting? Using the engine resistance can relieve the brakes of more stress. I dont even dare to bring my car up to Genting... ahahHAAhha

Hey, if the brakes were locked, then how? I mean could u still drive it?

300km is bloody good!!! Mine seems to be reducing weekly... now its only 240+km... sigh... damn broke... *BoO*hOo*hOo*

Is your engine stock? As in original LE engine...

Sigh... every month i must spend hundreds on my car... high maintenance... but still sayang the car very much... LoL!!!

et_box, God just wanna let you treasure more things on Earth only. :)

I did downshifting while going downhill and only uses my brakes when necessary but the smell still exist.
Kinda love to drive my LE up to Genting. It's very exciting.
LE kinda reliable. Had been driving up Genting with it quite frequent sometimes with four people in the car.
Once I had even try to push my LE to chase those Satria Turbos while going uphills but LE lag behind only............hehehehe............

Still can drive. It's just one of the wheel and it's the left rear wheel.
It locked for a while and after the car move for 2 to 3 meters, the brake release itself again.
But the screetching sound that the wheel produces annoyes me and it wear outs the tyre preety fast so I just sent the car to the workshop and get the problem solved.

300km also without aircond plus sometimes I just switch off my engine while waiting for the traffic lights to turn green. Only at certain traffic lights that I know it will take long time to turn green. Ummm...... somemore I'm driving at snail pace to conserve the fuel.
If I were to drive it with normal driving style, I think the figure will be something near yours.

Still the original 1.3l engine.
The engine is old and it consumes petrol like no tomorrow.
I think the gasket worn out too cost the whole engine block was covered with black lubricant that splashes out from the gasket gaps and also screws gaps.

Yeah, LE need high maintenance and I spend RM2k plus annually just for repairs and servicing it. Haiz.........

i had problem with brakes when i first receive my LE. sent it for a major service n the mech tried to replace the pump with a 2 layer or something from newer toyota but couldnt fit coz need to hammer firewall. wat he did was put back the old pump but drilled bigger holes on the brake lines at the pump. but, the reason for brake failure he said was the previous owner filled in power steering oil, instead of brake oils.
Now brakes work but still, m not brave to brake too late. i brake from 1 or 2 cars distance which makes myself feels uncle, but better to b safe..haha
n i had problem with the handbrake also. the handbrake handle tends to go higher n higher n mech trace to a problem with the mechanical thing that locks the back wheel, which was again in wrong position, fixed by old owner's mech.

Yupe, better be save than to be sorry later on.
Don't underestimate your brakes.
Repair it when you feel that there is something wrong with it.

Yaler, dont mess around... its an old car... anything can go wrong. Good braking habit u have there. But to pour power steering fluid into brake fluid container.... THAT'S CRAZY MAN!!!

Does your LE come with power steering? Why pour power steering fluid in the first place?

The other day as i was driving in a heavy rain, my wiper suddenly flew off... driver's side summore... couldnt see anything... aHAhaHAhAHAh

Tsk... i have another problem... LE windows... the wind up windows... always jatuh. Where can we get it fixed? Also, the interior plastics... all nearly faded... how to make it look good again?

AHAhaHAhaHAh... no news of the next TT? Really looking forward to it!!!

It doesn't make sense for one to pour in power steering fluid into a brake fluid container.
The fluids had different materials and characteristic and they are meant for specific purposes.
I think the previous owner got the fluid messed up and from what xenothrix had describe, the previous owner doesn't takes care of the LE properly.

Maybe aftermarket power steering?
My LE doesn't have power steering.
Doesn't get use to it at first, but later on I got along with it.

et, it's dangerous to drive without wiper in the rain la but your case is worse than mine.
My wiper on the driver side only loosen which makes it sweep up the windsceen till it positioned vertically rather than horizontally when I'm driving due to the wind that constantly blowing at opposite direction when the car is moving.

AHaHaHaHhaha... dunno le Daniel, my car is trying to either commit suicide or trying to kill me...

That time it was around 8pm and it was raining as well... was driving from Taman Tun Dr Ismail just after the traffic lights heading towards hartamas... then suddenly the wiper flew off... it was really scary as i could not see anything... so... ask my friend who was on the passenger seat to keep a look out... only had my left wiper.. so, saw caltex, stopped there... those fellows didnt have the wipers for my car... soo, i just removed the left wiper and put it on the right side... kautim!!!

AHAhaHAhaHAhaHA... but it was scary as visibility was near zero... couldn't even see the road.

Change your wipers bro... aHAhaHAhaHAhaH

Wow, et, luckily you had an assistant besides you to help you look out for cars and obstacles and you're clever to react to situation by changing the left wiper to the driver's side. :)
Must always check LE's conditions before driving it as it's a dated car.
Another few years can enter classic car category already.....hehehe.........
I always leave a bottle of water, battery water and lubricant in my LE just in case of emergency.