Rear Tyres for 500hp FD. Opinions??

phat7

May 21, 2004
Howdy,

Anybody have experience with tyres, for 17" wheels to be exact. at present i'm loosing the rear end quite a bit on full throttle. Brands and sizes suitable for 9 inch wide wheels preferable.

regards,

dev

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
this question i posted before last time when i'm sourcing for tyres to change.

265/40 R17 is the right size for you.... 275/40 R17 is also possible but more difficult to find.

brands...

1) Ultra sticky Continental Sports Contact 2 - those made in germany
2) Road tearing Yokohama Advan AD07
3) Rubber melting Bridgestone Potenza SO3 - road legal slicks
4) Toyo 888 :)

phat7

May 21, 2004
Thanks alchemis. i'll be scouting around after i get back next week.

anyone here with personal experience to share?

kevin62

Aug 15, 2005
phat7, how u get 500bhp in ur car? Its seems like big project though. How u maintain ur engine for good condition?

elsm80

Mar 21, 2006
Road tearing Yokohama Advan AD07 - a bit cheeky in the wet, fabulous on the dry.

saru-kun

Jan 4, 2004
saru-kun.blogspot.com
Semi-slicks Dev? I'm assuming it'll be 'reasonably' okay in the wet if you baby the throttle along.

Advan A048, Dunlop Formula D01 and if I'm not mistaken, Silverstone has one used in the Class C cars of MME races. Can't quite recall it off the top of my head at the moment, and I'm not too sure regarding sizing.

Cheers.

theseira

Oct 18, 2006
I guess with 500hp.....u gotta live with being a little loose at the back end. Unless you use drag tires.....nothing will actually guarantee grip. My old S13 with only about 275hp at the crank.....still that back end kicks out. Heh! Heh!

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
ehehehehhe road tearing based on my experience and most people were saying... which is around 300 to 400 horse.

get Pirelli P-Zero Rosso.... you won't regret it... there's a reason why maserati and ferarri and porsche uses them.

arsenalboi

Aug 25, 2006
y not put those sweet 19s like the fast and the furious fortuna bodykit from veilside

phat7

May 21, 2004
i like my 17's.going up to 18's or 19's might cause some serous rubbing.
Need to get good tyres before i start turning on water/alky injection and turn up the boost higher. trick to good engine is not to ut corners.

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
by then brother dev will be looking at a horse power of 600 with water/alky injection and turned up boost of 1.5 bar.

13btt

May 31, 2004
Sydney, AUS
www.reclub.com.my
Bridgestone S-03s

The Pirellis are too expensive IMO.

Go with a set of B'stone S-03s Dev. Can't say I ever had 500 horses but personally loved the S-03s on my RX. Excellent in the wet and dry. Get them from Singapore as they are about 1/2 price after conversion unless you can find a good used set here. :shades_smile:

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
that's what i heard... tyres are freakin cheap in Singapore....
buy pirellies in SG then :) ...

So3... herman was using it.. he got it 2nd handed... but still pretty pricey with a 85% SO3.... going for RM 400 per piece....new ones are not easy to find due to their availability going at around 1K per piece.

Hi sifus out there,

I am currently facing a problem here, I have bought a mazda B8T 210 engine and it is in the midst of transfering it into my mazda astina.

The problem now is, the mechanic is facing a problem to help me lock the by welding the gearbox in order to become a 2wd. He has send to some machining shop but he told me its gonna leak and wont last long. So he say better source for TX3 or a b6 gb.

Please Please Please helppppp! Its been 3 months already.:dontknow: