Lap Times

niceputera said:
You cannot imagine because you do not want to learn. Why you ask me about surbo? I did not have any interest or done any research on surbo. Go and ask somebody that has done any research on it la. You do not want to learn so no more info sharing.

dont lah so serious, i was kidding about the surbo lah.

niceputera said:
You just BS me and now you want to know more? Nope, we should stop here. You're so arrogant!

he is giving you engineering talk lah, it only sounds like BS if you dont understand what it means. He is just asking you a question on how you tune the CAI, based on all the elements he has just mentioned.

OKlar guys.. stop giving him a hard time and lets go back to Laptimes! So who has the biggest balls going into Turn 12!!?

endless551 said:
OKlar guys.. stop giving him a hard time and lets go back to Laptimes! So who has the biggest balls going into Turn 12!!?

1.6 ltr Fr car - Flat in 4th, speedo showing 140km/h. Not sure that's fast or not.

In a 1.8 GTi race car F. Alang lifted momentarily before gunning it. 160+Kmh

Adian in the MSS Satria (old Bill) takes it flat in 4th with a touch of left foot brake to keep the car in line - Speed 160km/h

I think the biggest balls ? The guys who rolled it there.

faisal said:
1.6 ltr Fr car - Flat in 4th, speedo showing 140km/h. Not sure that's fast or not.

In a 1.8 GTi race car F. Alang lifted momentarily before gunning it. 160+Kmh

Adian in the MSS Satria (old Bill) takes it flat in 4th with a touch of left foot brake to keep the car in line - Speed 160km/h

I think the biggest balls ? The guys who rolled it there.

160km/h is fast man..damn! Balls of steel!

Crash said:
160km/h is fast man..damn! Balls of steel!

Satria R3 stage 1 also possible to take flat in 4th. Downhill in 3rd from T 11 shift up to 4th then turn in, flat on throttle in 4th. Dunno about speed though.

Hey Endless,
well i was initially qouted 650. But now not so sure, maybe 750.
As for the castor kit was suppose to get them for 500, now maybe 600.

I didnt get what u meant by which castor kit.
The one i ordered is for the rear point of the front lower arm. I think its KCA346.
Is this the same thing u fitted on your car?

wow, all the sifus here... u guys are really experts... seems like somebody picked the wrong place to temberang....:biggrin:

must take a ride with you guys in sepang next time to learn more... any of you here conducting driving lessons??

btw, 1 question - what is the best way to take turn 14? i see many tyre mark there, some go in from wide outside some clipping very close and exit wide.... which is the best? i personally feel that is the most tricky turn in sepang....

As I mentioned. The wrx kit comes with a nicely machined front lower arm rear bracket/mounting + pressed in poly bushes. From ur pic I don't even see a any sleeve inserted into the hole.. Weird.. I've never fitted one on my GTiR so can't comment. I only changed the rear sway bar and front sway bar link and mount bushes.. Remember poly bushing material cannot deflect, there must be some form of sliding motion to permit rotation btwn the inner sleeve and bush material.. like a bearing! But certain bushes also doesn't/couldn't come with sleeves, like the front anti roll bar bushes Ive fitted, just make sure the lubricant they provided are applied sufficiently and thoroughly, also, watch out for not overtightening the mountings/brackets. If u rajin enuf try to regularly lubricated the sliding plane. Just remember, the moment u hear squeeks thats the end of ur BUSH!

DRiftAGster said:
wow, all the sifus here... u guys are really experts... seems like somebody picked the wrong place to temberang....:biggrin:

must take a ride with you guys in sepang next time to learn more... any of you here conducting driving lessons??

btw, 1 question - what is the best way to take turn 14? i see many tyre mark there, some go in from wide outside some clipping very close and exit wide.... which is the best? i personally feel that is the most tricky turn in sepang....
T14 is an extension of T13.

Exit speed from T14 dictates your speed at the end of the back straight. So you would want the highest exit speed possible.

It's easier to explain in person.

endless551 said:
How about lifting off prior to entry and gun it when car pointing the right direction but only to realised car will slide to the outside edge of corner... damn! ANy good (50% above) 235/45/17 tyres for sale out there? Or maybe bigger?
You need grippier tyres to match your sfiffy springs dude.

faisal said:
T14 is an extension of T13.

Exit speed from T14 dictates your speed at the end of the back straight. So you would want the highest exit speed possible.

It's easier to explain in person.

okok... thanks, will pm you next time to make appointment...heheheee.... will not be back till next year....

faisal said:
Satria R3 stage 1 also possible to take flat in 4th. Downhill in 3rd from T 11 shift up to 4th then turn in, flat on throttle in 4th. Dunno about speed though.

I usually floor it in 4th here but not sure what speed. Will make a note of it next time. :D

Drop to 3rd, brake then turn in at T12. Tail steps out. Yipppeee...heheheh...

Crash said:
I usually floor it in 4th here but not sure what speed. Will make a note of it next time. :D

Drop to 3rd, brake then turn in at T12. Tail steps out. Yipppeee...heheheh...
Taken in 3rd unsettles the car dude. Better in 4th

DRiftAGster said:
Do not follow the tyre marks. Most of the tyre marks are left onto the track when the line is far from optimal. Tyre marks on the inside going into the corner are because people came in too fast and understeered through the corner. Tyre marks early on at the very outside on the exit are because people choked their exit and understeered/oversteered to the edge of the track. Have a close look at F1 and you will notice that in fact the line the drivers take when on a good lap are far from where most of the black tyre marks are. In fact through fast sweepers you might even see two "white" lines with a bit of black in between, one where the left tyres go, one for the right tyres.

for all those lap timing u guys mentioned, it's for full lap or north/south track?

Funny that u dont see rubber "mountains" build up in an F1 race on the corner lines as opposed to the the European kart tracks.
How come u didnt come to Langkawi rubber ducky boat owner?

faisal said:
Taken in 3rd unsettles the car dude. Better in 4th

I think I got it mixed up with T14! Heheh... Yes, it is taken in 4th indeed. My bad!

T14 I take it in 3rd. I used to drop to 2nd, but have since changed. I go slightly wide on approach, and find the straightest point before I brake, downshift and turn in. I usually don't ride the bumps. I've actually overtaken a number of people here at T14, especially those who go too wide.

emmm what are u guys talking about ler.. i left this topic for about a2 months.. and its like 11 pages already.. dammit.

niceputera,

what ever u said about ur car and calculation or trial n error, it just dont make sense. a basic fundamental will never allow things to happen the way u mention. if u say the technology have been improvice, still they are refering to basic fundemental. dont tell me u no more using newton law.

faisal, gary, endless, and others dont be so hard on this fella lah.. he is trying to tell u guys smtg that he believes.. so it really takes time to tell him, what he believe is wrong.

kaikaider,
i got some slow n fast time in sepang as well as batu 3. what ever u mention about the time its just too difficult for me to swallow lerr.. too fast on at standard tire n suspension. err was it a standard suspension?