KL is the cheapest city in the world!

stjames

1)See word doc attached for extract of UBS report showing a table of price comparison for CARS.

2)The Star reported the following:

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/8/10/nation/20060810123829&sec=nation

3)See weblink for full UBS report entitled "Prices and Earnings 2006"

http://www.ubs.com/1/e/ubs_ch/wealth_mgmt_ch/research.html

IT DOESNT SEEM ALL THAT BAD FOR MALAYSIA. WHATS YOUR SAY?

WHat..come on..the prices of cars are compared from different manufacturers...they just compare a mid-size car from different places..for KL they chose proton and for chicago its an Accord ?? what kind of a comparison is that...
The second part should include the earning and spending capacity the population..it doesnt matter how cheap a product is but it matters whether u can afford it or not...

Also i did just glance through the UBS Earnings and prices report..
They say that Copenhagen and OSlo are expensive TO LIVE..but they also have the HIGHEST average wage...
KL supposedly is the cheapest place to live..what about its average wage..
i also looked at other tables like how many work hours will it take to buy a basket of different appliances in different places..again KL did not socre well...

I think the whole report needs to read out...and we as ppl living here know how low the wages are compared to the current inflation..

bro, of course malaysia/KL is "cheapest" city amongst the leading capital city la. our ringgit is unimpressive against other currencies. that all.

you earn 2,500 ringgit monthly & tell me how many months you need to pay off a small sedan or for that matter housing, living expenses etc.

compare to if you are earning USD2,500 or even SG2,500 & how long do they take repay their car loan.

comparitively I wish i'm a working expat in shanghai. while it more expensive city to live in compared to KL/malaysia but i should be looking at >USD10K

collectively, outskirts of city is still cheaper (maybe report is base on??:shocked: ) heehehe

but while i bitch, i'm too rooted into malaysian life & fortunately i'm living ok by my standards. sigh. me only wish i can afford a new porsche.:cry_smile:

The report seems to show that KL is the cheapest city in the world. But its wages arent the lowest in the list, though not very high on the list. In terms of domestic purchase power, i think the methodology aims to reflect living domestically ie. drive a proton in KL and drive a ford focus in UK, eat roti canai in msia but not some steaks.

Clearly, KL not the greatest, some work to be done, but I honestly was pleasantly surprised by some positive aspects as I expected worse results judging from recent events.

and forgot to say that the MAL Govt is manipulating car new prices to protect the phatetic Pro***.

Not trying to ampu govt but its the same korea or UK.... there r policies to protect their car interests

invisibleghost said:
they forget to include our pay also cheapest

not really but our exchange rate is lousy. (hence purchasing power is like arf-arf)
(maybe this has something to do on why we lost billions in speculative exhange a while back??)

ken yeang said:
Statistics can be manipulated........I don't trust them.

Especially over here, easily manipulated to deceive the MANY and to protect the WHINY.

It's another way of telling the citizens .."be grateful lah, we are doing very well COMPARED to bla bla bla"...."cheapest in the region...cheapest everything...bla bla...bla.."

Same old crap of "feel-good" news.

i dont care about the 'cheapest city to live in' thing..its the average wage that should be up a little. plus the protection to proton. how many years i have to simpan for my 350z if the price is like todays? sob..sob..

stjames said:
Not trying to ampu govt but its the same korea or UK.... there r policies to protect their car interests
yes, we have same policy but different result, do you want to compare Hyundai-Kia with Proton?

BlackSamurai said:
yes, we have same policy but different result, do you want to compare Hyundai-Kia with Proton?

I think thats a fair point. Just saying that other countries too have protectionist policies. Well, result wise....we know the answer.

I think relatively we r not all bad news, but wat is frustrating is we could have been up a few notches on many of the tables and it seems many are not yet convinced that the new leadership will take us up those few notches.