Journey of my conversion

wideawake,
You might want to consider changing to what I am using, that is.. use a steering
rack from a R32/R33 RB25 GTS-T steering rack and save all your troubles.

Tell me in advance if you want to take a look at my setup so I will drive my car
out unlike the other day where I only got a call from you when I was already on my way out.

coldair, any chance of having pics of your baby here?

Wideawake : kambade dude. Sweet ride!

Yes Coldair,
Please bring your car to the next TT session. heheh...

It's not your daily driven car issit?? More of a project car? heheh

Originally posted by wideawake@Aug 10 2004, 11:23 AM
Yes Coldair,
Please bring your car to the next TT session. heheh...

It's not your daily driven car issit?? More of a project car? heheh
dude...

all of coldair's cars are his daily driving & project car... except his daughter's car. hehehe... that one.. not yet project car. hehehe.. :P

Topui,
I think I'll bring my car to your mech to fix the power steering lar. He opens 24 hours or not? heheh...

Izso,
Sorry no pics of my car 'cause I don't have a digicam, maybe next time when I have saved enough $$$ to get me one.

wideawake,
Most likely I would be coming out for TT this friday, I'll drive mine out while you also do the same?.

Topui,
I have my hands full already, do not need any more project cars... heheheh.

This is one of the best journal I have come accross in any local forum. Well illustrated progress with pictures to share. I must say you really do great help to others that might be following your footsteps in coverting the same model Laurel like yours.

I really enjoy going through your threads and lets not be humble with your project, even the fastest Skyline or Monster dragster does not have what you had. A well done documented progress of your pride and should be recognised with proudness.

Great passion in what you have done. Even myself could not have documented such progress and going through such detailed research.

I praise you for your evenless hardworkship and your R&D to find compatible parts to replace your old faulty ones.

The price of your well documented progress come in years after when you look back and cherish the moments you had invested to fulfill your passion.

hahah
now i really feel terrible that i didn't have my digi-cam to take pics of this sleeping monster when it was TiTANed!!!

yea it's TiTANed already!!
not really tested yet though, brakes and steering still faulty..

Yes... It is true.. I TITANed my ride already... I wanted to update here but Stanley screwed up in the picture department. heheh.. Just joking Stanley.

The car has not been tested yet. Because we just found out that the rear right drums are leaking fluid.

Thanks for the comments Okido. I will try to make the explanations as detail as possible.

Hey sifu..., yea I see a monster but it's not mine la. Garage-R turns any car into a monster, now tell me who goes there every now and then?...hahahahaha. I hope I did not pecah lubang.... but even if I did not it's common knowledge already !!!.

Still working on that thing la it's tougher than I thought, not ready yet. On the other hand I bought more parts and they are waiting in-line, they also need work to be done before it can be fitted. Wished I got more hands la..

Stanley, don't worry man. We can take pictures later.

At night, I had a chat with my dad what has been done and still needs to be done to the car. He then laughed and said "berapa dah you spend untuk keta tu? lima ribu?"

Then it suddenly struck me that I have spent a lot more than the amount he told me... hahaha.... Scary man....

Originally posted by wideawake@Aug 10 2004, 02:24 PM
Topui,
I think I'll bring my car to your mech to fix the power steering lar. He opens 24 hours or not? heheh...
dude...

thursday la we go there. tomorrow not free ler. anyway, gimme a holler... ;) aight?

later..

Another reason I haven't tested the car yet is.....

The tyre lugs are too short. The screws are barely holding the rims on.... have to get that fixed this weekend. It's because I had to put a 6mm spacer in between the front rims and the disk brakes. If not my 4-pot caliper will be scraping my rims lah...

Looks like I will not be able to drive the car to TT this week.

Hey guys....newbie here....jus wanted to drop a line since i was readin bout wideawake's story....pretty impressive....u know sumthin wide, we have alot in common......as far as ure doin ure conversion to ure c31......it makes da both of us dude.....my c32 is almost done up.....wuts left would be da paint job and da interior.....glad finally i got hold of a laurel buddy.....peace

sorry guys...a lille typo error there.....wanna clearyfy jus one thing....my laurel is not c32.....its c31 same as wide's..peace

wideawake,
The picture of the rim as shown in the picture you posted, you have them in your Laurel now?. It's a 5-hole rim re-drilled for 4-hole use, it's going to be hell of a job trying to properly balance the wheel !!!, I would not that to my car.

The clearance problem between your rims and the 4-pot calipers, use spacers that has lugs build into them and that should rid your problem. Just remember to take a look at mine when you get a chance.

if the PCD's the same,

newer LUGs /studs will solve the problem.

AND properly custom machined spacers (almost any thickness, muahahaa)
will then set the car right :)

yep

true what stanley just say.... u can just replace the lugs with longer lugs. btw, 6mm spacer is not that extreme la. a properly balanced spacer with lugs, like coldair said, would set u back at least RM300 per pair.

The car starting to look cool now aaa.. big brakes already.. hehehe.. now u need VIP style rims la. at least a 17x9 front and 17x10 rear. hehehe.. preferably something like watanabe deep dish or Veilside Andrew V....pergh.. droooling ler. hehehe..

dude... u wanna borrow rims that fit? what size u'r using aaa? 16in or 17 inch? i got 16x8 that will clear the 4pot calipers. but no tires ler. hehehe :D

-edited-

aiyaaa... just looked at ur pic again. 4 lugs only... cannot ler. mine is 5 lugs. hehehe.. oh well..