Journey of my conversion

bro...just wondering... when you drive during the afternoon and the petrol gets hot.. does your car smell of petrol slightly? :D

Well, I smell fumes once in a while. But for a short time only... then it goes away...

BTW, since the last few posts are missing, it is regarding my engine mati2 when stopping. My mech found a hose that was disconnected at the manifold and leaking air. I didn't see it before because it was kinda hidden.

Thanks to 7urnstyle (dunno how to spell your name) for the heads up.

Hmm... the problem of mati engine came back... But it is pronounced more when the aircond is on. When aircond off no problem.....

I just changed to a new cooling coil before the problem started. Is there anything that might be missing here?

ermmm...just try to check ur a/c tuning valve...i had a problem with that before...

my 1 cent... :D

nope...it's the valve where you tune ur car when ur a/c= aircond is on...most cars use alankey to tune... :D

Originally posted by wideawake@Jun 29 2004, 23:06
I just want to share with you my story...

As I have mentioned in a few threads before this, I have an old 1984 Nissan Laurel C31. It's actually my mother's, but since nobody is driving it anymore, I decided to make it my project car.

On 8th June 2004, thanks to a tip from bowden, a fellow forummer, I put down money to book an R32 Skyline halfcut. It was in good condition (at least it looks like it). Hey, I wonder what would an RB20DET in this car feel like. I decided to do the conversion with the halfcut shops workshop. At least, any faulty parts I can easily replace it.

The next day, I called a tow truck to tow my car to the workshop. The tow truck guy made a mistake when preparing to tow, and my car banged head on into the back of the tow truck. Thanks to Nissan inginuity, only the license plate broke. If it was a Proton, I'll be looking for a new bumper by now.

By noon, my car was in front of the workshop... I thought my car was gonna be next to be worked on, but damn... there was a long queue in place.

Every 2-3 days, I will drive infront of the shop to see if they have started on my car or not.... but still, I see it untouched in front of the shop. Sometimes I don't even bother stopping if I see it still parked up front.

2 weeks passed by, and nothing was done. Last Saturday, I dropped by just to talk with the halfcut shop owner... The wife said by monday or tuesday they will start work. The previous week they did 5 conversions....

As unpatient as I am, I made a drive-by again on Monday during lunch time... Still it was untouched. Today after work, I went to the w/shop, and thank god... they already started. The old engine is out, and by tomorrow I think they should proceed with something else...

3 weeks aa waiting time... Well, I'm a bit dissappointed, but that's okay. I'm don't need the car that urgent. Hopefully it will complete by the end of this week. Bowden said they can transplant a GSR or VR4 in 2 days tops!!! That's damn fast...

When the car was towed, I noticed a few things...
1. I need new tyres...
2. I need new suspensions...

And I need them before I go for Puspakom inspection. Btw, the last road tax expired in 2002, so I think there are some extra checks that they will do to. That one no problem, I think I'll get a runner to do it, since I have no time.

Of course, even though the conversion has not finished, I already have future plans for it:

1. Install the front 4-pot brakes (hopefully get a set of rims that can fit)
2. Get a rear axle with LSD and 2 pot brakes
3. Get some custom bodykits.
4. Paint the car black (VIP style) muahahaha.....

Thanks for reading. I'll be updating this thread as it goes along. Below are some pictures of the car and the halfcut that I bought. I forgot to take pictures of the car without the engine this evening... damn..

Erm, and any suggestions, comments appreciated... thanks.
[snapback]272638[/snapback]​
wow, nice. where is the shop? Do they do for Madza also?? Btw, how much u spend on the whole conversion? like half cut, suspension,brakes, etc

Today my clutch was acting out pulak....

in the middle of the jam going back from work, the clutch suddenly lost it's function. Tekan2 straight to the floor without resistance. Put in gear also cannot.... Had to stop for a while, restart engine(didn't know if this actually had any effect), then only can jalan.... haiyooo.. susah hati like this... luckily managed to sampai home also....

AdinR30, what do you think? clutch pump busted??? Or a bleed will fix it?? I didn't detect any leaks from the clutch pump... the fluid was also at the normal level, eventhough I added a bit more after stopping at the roadside..

Looks like the car is grounded for the weekend...

I once kena the same problem....while parking. The reservoir was dry
w/o a drop...pour some fluilds in....then only i notice the fluids leaked
thru the pump at the box....B4 this nothing, i have changed both pumps since....always kena at the wrong time and the wrong place.
In your case, it could maybe due to fluids heating up....as you said
u did pour some fluids in and able to drive home. Check for leaks,
try to bleed the system and put fresh fluids in b4 changing anything.
Usually clutch hydraulics need less attention or topping-up unless it is leak...

I changed the fluid and bleeded the clutch system. After bleeding and the first few clutches, it was okay... Then there was no response at all. The best thing I can do is just opening up the reservoir and closing it back. It worked for the first few clutches also...

Looks like the clutch pump is busted. Anyone knows what model is compatible? Most of the kedai potong guys wouldn't know what a Laurel is... heheheh...

Is A31's pump similar?

One more thing, I think my air-cond compressor is going too.... If I get one from the chop-shop, would it be any good?

Wide, why dont u buy a new pump instead of kedai potong unit.
take the old pump as sample to any spare parts shop.....i bought mine brand new for 60 bucks ( cap ayam la of course....but it works hehehehe)
If i'm not mistaken it belong's to 160J...
A31....local model no manual transmission.

My car is badly bleeding power steering fluid. I couldn't determine whether the leak if from the pump, or from the piping. I took out the piping to inspect it, but could not see any visible leaks.

I notice most of the cars with RB20DET also bleed steering fluid. I just wonder if you guys found any solution?

u sure it's not the steering rack?

Anyway, check your fluid reservoir. sometimes it's leaking from there. ;)