Workshop Recommendation for Bluebird u12 conversion

shahzad86

hi guys & sifus, i'm having a bluebird u12 with major engine failure, parked at my house for bout 2 years. Its my late dad's car which i inherited and finally i have sum $$$ (hope its enuff) to spend on the car.

The car is among my best memories of my dad, so i'm looking to restore the car and 1st thing on the list is to convert the engine to either sr18/sr20.

Pls recomend me a workshop with gud workmanship. And do share your advice and experience. Hope my explaination is not too long. TQ in advance :)

bro the best place i can think of is KSR speed in old glenmarie ....there specialist in SR engine ....if u go to their workshop u will be amazed the amount of u12 they got there and the amount of sr20 engine there.......good luck in ur project bro ....

you can also try onward motorsports in puchong. they are also specialists in nissan engines. :wavey:

roughly how much is the estimated cost for sr20 conversion. I hope its not more than RM6k :afraid:

Beware...some of the workshop..sometimes workmenship charge for SR20 convertion allready "POTONG KEPALA"
Go survey first...lot off workshop can do the SR20 convertion...
There is 1 at Damansara damai...1 in subang 2 and 1 in kuala selangor...

thanx my140876, i'm still surveying, worried to get chop off too and sloppy work. where is the plc in subang 2?

many place can do SR20DET conversion

since it is U12 , my advise is get a U12 based halfcut
so you can utilised everything from there

i not sure your currently is manual or auto
if manual that it make the cost cheaper if you plan to retain back manual
that if the gearbox still working

overall a U12 halfcut costing in between 3k to 4k nowday depending bodypart

then your labour is around 1.2k to 1.5k depending how bad your existing car
but should be easier since it U12 to U12 conversion

overall 6k is achieveable cost just for transplant
but consider some extra for hidden stuff like exhaust, engine oil, wtr pump, belt so on

---------- Post added at 09:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:15 PM ----------

got few workshop i can recommended
but have to look your location

overall many workshop like KSR, A2 and some other can do it
but as you know.. what you pay is what you get
like KSR is good workshop
they can troubleshoot many problem which a lot workshop cannot settle it
but they price might be slightly expensive but you are assured that is sorted

some senario
some people think it is just normal conversion
so any regular workshop with do.
Yes.. that true.. that also you need to make sure the workshop do it properly as well

so it up to your decision.