Journey of my conversion

TiTAN give special special service :)

we're only charging RM100+ per pc of custom machined alloy spacers :)

my fren got a set of Equip Rims that he wanna let go.... 17" X 8.5J (Front) and 17" X 9.5J (Rear)..... the rear one are currently on my car... if interested just PM me and i ask my fren for the price he wanna let go...

if i am free tomolo might snap a pic of it then...

Coldair,
The rims were not redrilled. It is factory spec with 9 holes. So I believe balancing will not be a problem. See you tonight aa... I'm bringing my camera so I can snap your masterpiece... heheh

My local mech suggested that the power steering system might be overheating, thus causing the liquid to be all over the place. I didn't bring the car to him yet, cause that time I was servicing my Satria. Yesterday evening, I started my car and after about 2 minutes, the power steering piping started to be very hot. I think after half an hours drive, the fluid will evaporate and be all over the place. The mech told me that I should extend the piping to make the fluid go around and cool by itself. I also heard that there was something called a power steering cooler from the net. I think it's something like an oil cooler but you attach it to the power steering system. Anyway, that's another story.

I also looked under my car for the possibility to mount the steering rack from R32/R33. I couldn't find the place that can mount it. From my research, the rack is supposed to mount on the crossmember.

Kitwhizz,
Great man.. now I have a gang already... What modifications have you done? Change engine? Where r u from? Come and join us for TT lar... We can share some information. Steering system how? Still box type or changed to rack & pinion already? heheh

wideawake,
9-holes OEM rims ar?, must not be too common I guess. Call me later this evening and we'll talk about your problem over TT, yea... bring your cam.

hey wide wake so hows your braking's okay aready ?. anyway for the power steering , i guess there must be a problem some where , sounds like there is a clog some where which doesn't circulate the fluid properly .

Sup wide.....well....ive dune wif ma conversion and stuff....brakes are in...pretty much to be said in da way of standard conversion im almost dune....after this ma baby is goin for a new look. Full body kit plus a new coat of paint....well...wide..im frm puchong ...wherebout u frm.....well...im kinda glad tht sumone else actually had da idea to do up a c31.....thumbs up bro....id really love to meet up wif ya and see how ure car is doin....later...peace

Originally posted by coldair@Aug 13 2004, 10:55 AM
wideawake,
9-holes OEM rims ar?, must not be too common I guess. Call me later this evening and we'll talk about your problem over TT, yea... bring your cam.
ColdAir: its common with older japanese model of rims... 9 Holes all are PCD 114.3 which cater for both 4 Lugs and 5 Lugs... Most VeilSide rims comes in such Lugs...

Kitwhizz,

Million dollar question of the day....

How is your steering system configured?? The old box system or a newer rack and pinion? Cause this is the only major thing bugging me now...

Thanks.

well..wide....curently my stering system is still runnin on da stock c31's......i dun see the need for u to change the stering system.....does ure stering has a alot of free play? If u wanna change to the rack and pinion system.....the ultimate match would be frm the s13 silvia system....but bare in mind....in would cause u a bomb....if u have a lot of freeplay in ure system...probably ure steering box givin sum prob....u could tighten ure steering box....but do not over tighten it....the results would be u might get ure turnin cycle abit lesser and way harder....let me jus tell u one thing bout the c31's steering system....i agree its very complicated but still...to be compared to the rack and pinion system....the c31's system is much more stable to play in da conners...and not to say...its ultimate to drift....my say....dun waste ure funds on changin ure steering system....better invest it on sumthin else...it wouldbe worth it....peace

14 August 2004

Changed my front studs to longer ones today. Now the nuts has better grip to the studs. I feel a lot better now. I also replaced the rear drum brake pump that was leaking fluid.

http://memimage.cardomain.com/member_images/1/web/469000-469999/469065_9_full.jpg

Has a second and third opinion on my power steering problem. Both mechs confirmed that it is caused by lack of cooling in the power steering fluid system. After driving it for about 10 minutes, the fluid is boiling hot and you can see smoke coming out of the reservoir if it is opened. The pipes are too short and direct to the steering pump. Even my Satria has power steering pipes that routes to the front of the car for cooling purposes.

So, next project... to solve this.
I think I will connect an oil cooler to the second output of my power steering pump, route it through a longer pipe, and connect it back to the reservoir. This should provide some cooling and reduce some pressure in the system.

Any oil coolers for sale?? Cheap2 one lar... heheh

hehe

the cooler is cheap.. it's the piping and the work involve not cheap. hehe... u can shop around chop shop, look for 4x4 transmission cooler... cheap onli.. around rm70 can get. most of the time around rm100 to rm150. no piping ler. ;)

I miss my car...

Last week I got stuff for the steering cooling project already. Got a used VR4 oil cooler for RM50. And then bought some rubber piping and steering fluid which totaled to RM50.

But now I'm in Medan!!! For a week... No modding this week it seems.

11 September 2004

I have installed the steering oild cooler into my car. This is how the setup is done.

The first output from the pump remains the same, which goes to the steering rack. The second output goes to the oil cooler that is mounted in front of the car, through a few feet of pipe, and back to the reservoir. I purposely went generous on the piping to lower down the pressure in the system.

Here is how the mounted cooler looks like.
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/1/web/469000-469999/469065_12.jpg

Here is the output from the steering pump.
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/1/web/469000-469999/469065_13.jpg

Here is the fluid reservoir. I had to open back the input that was welded previously be the mechanic.
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/1/web/469000-469999/469065_14.jpg

Results
The temperature is now more controlled. The fluid no longer gets too hot and boils out of the reservoir. Long journeys are now possible.

14 September 2004

7.30pm - I was at Puspakom Padang Jawa for the inspection. Waited another 30 minutes for the place to open.
8.00pm - In queue for the inspection. Went to the counter and told them I wanted to do an inspection because road tax died more than one year and I changed an engine. Paid RM40 for the inspection
8.20pm - My car was driven on the inspection line and the guy drove it through. He did a few high revs during the process which was hurting my ears.

The inspection went through smooth. No hanky panky at all. After waiting for another 30 mins, I got the report. Overall pass. There was a comment stating:

Side slip - Poor (failed)
I have no idea what this means.

After the inspection, went to next door JPJ and registered the engine change. After that, got my road tax!!!

My car is now street legal!!!

Before this, I haven't really drove the car a lot. Because don't have road tax lah. But I'm driving the car to work to test it's reliability.

I notice if the car is on the road(in a straight line) and if I lift up the pedal, the car will violently shake for about 4-5 seconds. This is very scary at first. But after a while I know what to do with it. I don't know what causes this. The steering will shake left and right, the front will shake left and right, and so does the rear.

I'm going to do balancing to the tyres since I have never done it since I bought it. But it does not happen when accellerating. Only when I lift off.

When accellerating, that is another case. I'll tell u guys about this later.
Next TT can bring this car already lah....

Here are some pics of my fleet. Don't cucuk me aaar....
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/1/web/469000-469999/469065_15.jpg

http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/1/web/469000-469999/469065_16.jpg

I found out what was causing the shaking. It was a faulty steering rack-end. It has so much freeplay at the joints that the wheel wobbles.

I will have it replaced soon.

I think my tripmeter is faulty. Does anyone know if the first gen Apexi RSM has this function? I can see from the specs that the Blue screen RSM has that function.

It has been a long time since I updated this thread. Well, the recent addition to my car is worth mentioning. It is the installation of a fuel surge tank.

12 February 2005 (Saturday) - 8.00pm

Jacked my car body. Took another jack and jacked the rear suspension arm. Put a car stand on the rear axle and removed all the other jacks. Removed the rear seats (finally found out how to do it).

13 February 2005 (Sunday) - 10.00am

Removed the plug from the fuel tank. Drained the fuel tank to 2 x 10litre containers and one pail. The fuel was still pouring out, had to stop draining because no more container left. The reason I tried to empty the tank is too see how much fuel was in there, as the car will always jerk on fuel starvation when the fuel tank is half ful. From what that came out, I had around 25 litres in the tank.

11.00am

Removed the fuel pipes from the old fuel lines. Positioned the surge tank in the rear boot, just behind the rear seat. Looked for holes in the chassis that I can use to route the pipes. The hole under the rear seat is used to route the fuel coming in the surge tank, and a hole in the boot is used to route the pipe going out of the tank.

Drilled 2 holes to hold the surge tank platform. I wanted to drill the other two, but a metal piece under the car was in the way.

2.00pm

Break for lunch.

3.00pm

I realised that I was short of a few parts. Went to the nearby tesco and giant to source for it. The local hardware shop was still closed for CNY. Bought a rubber welcome mat that I then used to put in between the surge tank platform and the car. Some kind of noise reduction it seems.

5.00pm

Continued with securing all the screws and hose clamps. I also routed my brand new spanking 8-gauge wire through the firewall to the rear. I wired the whole thing using an automotive relay. The power from the old pump will trigger power to the surge tank fuel pump.

9.00pm

Finished wiring the whole thing. When I put back the negative terminal of the battery, the new pump was running instantaneously, even when the key is not in. Traced the problem to grounding. Is seems that the platform was a good grounding base. Therefore, had to put some rubber in between for insulation. After that, found out that the pump would not start at all. Traced it again to a faulty relay. Lucky I had a spare relay. Put the ignition into start, and both pumps were turning. It worked!!! What a great feeling it was. The feeling is unimaginable. (let's not get too carried away)

10.00pm

Poured in all the fuel back in to the car. After that, started the car. Boy does it run great. Now for a test drive.

10.30pm

Since my wife wanted some 100plus, I volunteered to go to 7-11 to get it lah.

The test drive

Upon accellerating, the car went smooth. First gear, second gear, third gear, then I ran out of road. Normally, at 2nd gear, I'll get a hard jerk and my body will be thrown forward because the engine retards the ignition. This point of the drive has now vanished. Turning right has always resulted in a series of jerks. That's because the fuel will be thrown to the left of the car, and far from the fuel exit lines that is on the right hand side. With the surge tank, I can now throw the car anywhere I want and the power will still be there. No more jerking.

Fuel delivery is now more constant and the flow is better thanks to my spanking new Bosch 910 fuel pump. To date, this is the best modification I have made.

The noise

I have not replaced my rear seats, so I can hear everything that's happening behind. At slow speeds, the pump will sound like it producing bubbles, which is very noisy. At higher RPMs, the pump sounds smoother. Any ideas on how to reduce the noise in this department?

I'll take the car to work tomorrow. I'll whack it out in Kesas and see how it behaves.

I'll also try to update some pictures in this site. Forgot to take pics during the process, but I'll take some pics of the result when I can see some daylight. Night pictures is not my specialty. One day well spent.

Any suggestions or questions welcomed. Thanks.

Originally posted by wideawake@Feb 14 2005, 00:56
It has been a long time since I updated this thread. Well, the recent addition to my car is worth mentioning. It is the installation of a fuel surge tank.

12 February 2004 (Saturday) - 8.00pm

Jacked my car body. Took another jack and jacked the rear suspension arm. Put a car stand on the rear axle and removed all the other jacks. Removed the rear seats (finally found out how to do it).

13 Februady 2004 (Sunday) - 10.00am

Removed the plug from the fuel tank. Drained the fuel tank to 2 x 10litre containers and one pail. The fuel was still pouring out, had to stop draining because no more container left. The reason I tried to empty the tank is too see how much fuel was in there, as the car will always jerk on fuel starvation when the fuel tank is half ful. From what that came out, I had around 25 litres in the tank.

11.00am

Removed the fuel pipes from the old fuel lines. Positioned the surge tank in the rear boot, just behind the rear seat. Looked for holes in the chassis that I can use to route the pipes. The hole under the rear seat is used to route the fuel coming in the surge tank, and a hole in the boot is used to route the pipe going out of the tank.

Drilled 2 holes to hold the surge tank platform. I wanted to drill the other two, but a metal piece under the car was in the way.

2.00pm

Break for lunch.

3.00pm

I realised that I was short of a few parts. Went to the nearby tesco and giant to source for it. The local hardware shop was still closed for CNY. Bought a rubber welcome mat that I then used to put in between the surge tank platform and the car. Some kind of noise reduction it seems.

5.00pm

Continued with securing all the screws and hose clamps. I also routed my brand new spanking 8-gauge wire through the firewall to the rear. I wired the whole thing using an automotive relay. The power from the old pump will trigger power to the surge tank fuel pump.

9.00pm

Finished wiring the whole thing. When I put back the negative terminal of the battery, the new pump was running instantaneously, even when the key is not in. Traced the problem to grounding. Is seems that the platform was a good grounding base. Therefore, had to put some rubber in between for insulation. After that, found out that the pump would not start at all. Traced it again to a faulty relay. Lucky I had a spare relay. Put the ignition into start, and both pumps were turning. It worked!!! What a great feeling it was. The feeling is unimaginable. (let's not get too carried away)

10.00pm

Poured in all the fuel back in to the car. After that, started the car. Boy does it run great. Now for a test drive.

10.30pm

Since my wife wanted some 100plus, I volunteered to go to 7-11 to get it lah.

The test drive

Upon accellerating, the car went smooth. First gear, second gear, third gear, then I ran out of road. Normally, at 2nd gear, I'll get a hard jerk and my body will be thrown forward because the engine retards the ignition. This point of the drive has now vanished. Turning right has always resulted in a series of jerks. That's because the fuel will be thrown to the left of the car, and far from the fuel exit lines that is on the right hand side. With the surge tank, I can now throw the car anywhere I want and the power will still be there. No more jerking.

Fuel delivery is now more constant and the flow is better thanks to my spanking new Bosch 910 fuel pump. To date, this is the best modification I have made.

The noise

I have not replaced my rear seats, so I can hear everything that's happening behind. At slow speeds, the pump will sound like it producing bubbles, which is very noisy. At higher RPMs, the pump sounds smoother. Any ideas on how to reduce the noise in this department?

I'll take the car to work tomorrow. I'll whack it out in Kesas and see how it behaves.

I'll also try to update some pictures in this site. Forgot to take pics during the process, but I'll take some pics of the result when I can see some daylight. Night pictures is not my specialty. One day well spent.

Any suggestions or questions welcomed. Thanks.
ermmmm u did this last year??