iszit illegal if car paint change without registered?

N/A guy

i plannin to change mt car paint frm white 2 black....

iszit necessary to go to JPJ to register?

cuz scare when there hav a road block, in case the police/JPJ pop up my car bonnet n require 4 evidence that i change engine legally, then needa show my car card n JPJ paper to the police/JPJ. but the thing is at the car card had listed out the car paint...if i didnt re-register again after i had changed to black color, will it be tahan by the police/JPJ?

huh...not like i wan then can chnage edi ar colour???

i'm gonna change mine next week...plz help...

aiyakkk...i chg color oledi..never registered coz d fella at d paint shop told no need to do so nowadays...how a...can register after u done d paint a?

no need to register...

someone went jpj for inspection coz convert 1.3 to 2.0 (satria)
with no rear muffler, mivec bonnet, blue car but regiter card there put red also can pass with no coffee money...

1.3 to 2.0 w/o kopi money can be done. Just have to follow procedure and comply with the requirements lor.

i thought you just have to go to jpj to inform them only rite....???...what else do we need to bring ar...

veli ez onli....i did mine last year....bring ur registration card 2 jpj...tell em wat color u change & kautim...no need 2 pay anything at all...had 2 do it coz my dad won't let me drive da car if i don't update da registration card..

PoWeRz said:
no need to register...

someone went jpj for inspection coz convert 1.3 to 2.0 (satria)
with no rear muffler, mivec bonnet, blue car but regiter card there put red also can pass with no coffee money...

wah...pass without kopi money...thats a first...he went there to change the cars colour or to register his swapped engine..??..if he was going to register his engine...then i also want leh...my car also not registered yet liow...:p

cyclonite said:
1.3 to 2.0 w/o kopi money can be done. Just have to follow procedure and comply with the requirements lor.
may i know what the procedures are to covert 1.3 to 2.0 legally? Corolla KE70 1.3 litre to 2.0 litre SR20DET can do legally ah?
i heard the authorities will test the strength of your vehicle chassis first if your transplant goes over the 25% limit?

my MR2 had 2 previous color,black 1,blue 2,silver 3
car card still say black
i asked in jpj before i buy the car...
they say car color takpe wan...

erm...

ok ....my car is silver colour..
what if i wanna spray my hood to black colour ar????

no money for carbon fibre mar...hahha
too exp

i passed my 1.3-1.6 (its only 22.8 percent increase according to Puspakom calculator) transplant inspection just last week. i went and did it myself, personally at puspakom. no coffee money involved, was asked, or needed. if u still wont take my word for it, god help u.

in my registration card, the car's color is white. i went to puspakom with my current red color. we had an elaborate conversation about this and the inspecting Puspakom officer told me there will be no problem regarding the color with JPJ. do it at your own leisure. if any enforcement officer asks for kopi money bcoz of the color, its clear he's just taking advantage of a loosely enforced law. its not an important 'looked at' rule (at the moment).

off topic;
i even told him (the puspakom officer) i changed 1 mounting position. he told me if it was cut at the body or welded in ANY way, he wont pass me.. so i told a LITTLE white lie (brown lie for malay? haha) that the mount brace is bolted onto the chassis following the halfcut; that i dont know more coz the mechanic kow tim for me. he bought it hahaha so lo and behold, i have a street and insurance legal car! :p

there is NO SUCH THING as 1.3 to 1.6 approval getting more difficult nowadays, all u have to make sure is there is absolutely NO body/engine mounting modification that involves even the slightest cutting or welding. the counter officer calculated my increase himself before issuing my queue number; its only 22.8%. Afterwards this is what he told me and i quote:

"atas 25% bukan tak boleh. boleh, tapi kena ambil borang khas dan apply guna surat" -end quote.

MY intepretation = transplants above 25% are permitted, as long as you request a special kind of inspection through the correct forms, write a show cause letter, and make sure your car complies to the criteria (no radical mounting mods, uprated suspension, uprated brakes to name a few)

coming back to the topic,
so far, car color has absolutely nothing to do with an engine transplant approval. as long as puspakom has passed your transplant, JPJ cannot have nuts to say about the car's color (unless they are EXTRA "$rajin$"). However, i am not saying u shouldnt be bothered about it at all. Keng already stated that it doesnt require any payment, so its a good thing to keep the pink slip up to date if possible. the choice is in ur hands. im just saying u wont be busted for it (unless u are very unlucky hahaha)

AND... my car has a black colored bonnet. :D

Oh, thx for the useful info AE80TypeD!
I think the JPJ runner cant cari makan on us already..

cheerz!