How to Perform a Radiator Flush

Thermostat quite easy to spot I believe for Campro it's on the top hose also, you need to remove the hose to see it maybe.

Most of the time it is there, because thermostat open to release hot water back to radiator....:driver:

Top hose as in the one beside ur green hose?

usually water comes back to the radiator @ the top hose, jus follow the hose than u'll find the outlet. bought a twin hole aluminium rad for my kancil @ rm160, these alu ones cannot use normal coolant, must use made for alu, Toyota brand selling @ same shop for rm25, no budget so wll be using mineral water for the moment till get sum cash. as for ol' rad gonna experiment on total servicing coz it's clogged bad. btw my kancil rad fan running straight from batt, think will be buying new thermostat 2gether wit the coolant & running the system as it should that I know now how to do it.

---------- Post added at 03:33 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:28 AM ----------

I normally plug my hose into filling hole and let the water run....:driver:

if u can remove the thermostat that is rite??

Top hose as in the one beside ur green hose?

Yup, that is the top hose. Anyway, Radiator have two main hoses. One on top and one at the bottom....:driver:

---------- Post added at 08:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:54 AM ----------

usually water comes back to the radiator @ the top hose, jus follow the hose than u'll find the outlet. bought a twin hole aluminium rad for my kancil @ rm160, these alu ones cannot use normal coolant, must use made for alu, Toyota brand selling @ same shop for rm25, no budget so wll be using mineral water for the moment till get sum cash. as for ol' rad gonna experiment on total servicing coz it's clogged bad. btw my kancil rad fan running straight from batt, think will be buying new thermostat 2gether wit the coolant & running the system as it should that I know now how to do it.

---------- Post added at 03:33 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:28 AM ----------

if u can remove the thermostat that is rite??
Twin Hole? or do you mean twin rows, meaning two rows of cooling fins?

Toyota Long Life coolant used to be RM18 then RM20. Maybe gone up but I don't think as high as RM25. Maybe your place more expensive.

If your old radiator is clogged, did you flush before fitting new radiator? If not, the rust in the engine block will be transferred to your new radiator. Best to flush and add coolant as soon as possible, because even though aluminum do not rust, the engine block side will rust. Moreover do not use mineral water, use RO water. Radiator water should be clean, as in the sense no mineral. For me, I just use my filtered water that goes thru' my rocket filter then thru' my ceramic filter. Probably still have some mineral in it but that is the cleanest I can get from home....:biggrin:

Not sure of your Kancil radiator fan switch but mine the thermo switch for the fan is at the bottom of the radiator. The thermostat at the top hose is to release water for circulation....

I did not remove the thermostat, The thermostat is behind where the water is flowing out....

VR2 : If you do that that means you don't get to flush the water in the block?

I completely forgot to take pictures of my recent Radiator swap and thermostat change. DAmmit.

Yup, that is the top hose. Anyway, Radiator have two main hoses. One on top and one at the bottom....:driver:

---------- Post added at 08:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:54 AM ----------

Toyota Long Life coolant used to be RM18 then RM20. Maybe gone up but I don't think as high as RM25. Maybe your place more expensive.

If your old radiator is clogged, did you flush before fitting new radiator? If not, the rust in the engine block will be transferred to your new radiator. Best to flush and add coolant as soon as possible, because even though aluminum do not rust, the engine block side will rust. Moreover do not use mineral water, use RO water. Radiator water should be clean, as in the sense no mineral. For me, I just use my filtered water that goes thru' my rocket filter then thru' my ceramic filter. Probably still have some mineral in it but that is the cleanest I can get from home....:biggrin:

Not sure of your Kancil radiator fan switch but mine the thermo switch for the fan is at the bottom of the radiator. The thermostat at the top hose is to release water for circulation....

I did not remove the thermostat, The thermostat is behind where the water is flowing out....

yep did flush inside the engine 2, tats y know rad is clogged & yep use RO coz it's cheaper 2.

Thats what I thought too. So the top one is going into the block then bottom come out from the block then into radiator again right. LOL

I completely forgot to take pictures of my recent Radiator swap and thermostat change. DAmmit.

U got too excited lah!

Engine Block water is flushed too, as engine is running....:driver:

---------- Post added at 02:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:49 PM ----------

Thats what I thought too. So the top one is going into the block then bottom come out from the block then into radiator again right. LOL

Nope, hot water always comes out from top hose, as it passes thru' the radiator it gets cooled and flows back in from the bottom hose. That is why most have problem with top hose bursting...

---------- Post added at 02:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:49 PM ----------

Nope, hot water always comes out from top hose, as it passes thru' the radiator it gets cooled and flows back in from the bottom hose. That is why most have problem with top hose bursting...

HAAHAHAH I said the other way. 180 degree.

But flushing old coolant when running engine not efficient i think.
I done this method before, need to wait quite sometime only the coolant come out from top and it is very hot.

i did flushing old coolant like what izso did in his diy thread which is something like picture below.

Take off the thermostat so the water easy to flow out from the block.

I done this method before, need to wait quite sometime only the coolant come out from top and it is very hot.

i did flushing old coolant like what izso did in his diy thread which is something like picture below.

So far works for me. Yup, got to wait a while for it to warm up.

From your picture I see that the water goes in from top hose?

So far works for me. Yup, got to wait a while for it to warm up.

From your picture I see that the water goes in from top hose?

yeah, i pour distilled water in from top hose and the water come out from the bottom thermostat area.

For radiator part, i jus release the drain plug.

Hi punk I don't understand this. If you run the water going in from the top hose, how the water runs past if the thermostat is closed? I thought that also runs counter flow to the direction of the water pump.

Eh, Persona also right? Where is the thermostat located at?

Thanks bro!

These plier got 2 design.
One type is to take out inner clip like in pic.
The another type is to take outer clip. ( i not sure how to explain :hmmmm:)

If u want to take it out the thermostat, please make sure u put it back the original position as u take it out including the clip.

Wear safety glass when take out the clip, my clip flew off damn far the moment i took it out.:ahhhhh:

Make sure u dont overheat the car when bleeding the air out.:biggrin:
Monitor the temperature gauge.
Follow out izso diy thread, it is about the same for bleeding.

Ur car still new rite. still in warranty:hmmmm2:

---------- Post added at 11:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:46 PM ----------

Hi punk I don't understand this. If you run the water going in from the top hose, how the water runs past if the thermostat is closed? I thought that also runs counter flow to the direction of the water pump.

I did this when engine if OFF :biggrin:
Look at the rocker cover, i already took off the thermostat.

If u did it when engine is ON
The water will run counterflow like u said.

If u want to take it out the thermostat, please make sure u put it back the original position as u take it out including the clip.

Wear safety glass when take out the clip, my clip flew off damn far the moment i took it out.:ahhhhh:

---------- Post added at 11:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:46 PM ----------

I did my engine flushing the same flow as when if the engine is running afraid might make anything goes wrong. when I did it I've already taken out the ol' rad, so there is more space to do my engine flushing. vr2 those pliers should have in most hardware shops. if not wrong it's called ring pliers, got 2 types, for each job, more @ less like the normal 4" long nose pliers @ that u can change the direction as when u pull the handle either it pulls in the ring @ push it out + bit more expensive 2.

With water running during bleeding should not overheat.

Okay understand now. Engine off. Thought why yours running the other way round...haha:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:21 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:20 AM ----------

I did my engine flushing the same flow as when if the engine is running afraid might make anything goes wrong. when I did it I've already taken out the ol' rad, so there is more space to do my engine flushing. vr2 those pliers should have in most hardware shops. if not wrong it's called ring pliers, got 2 types, for each job, more @ less like the normal 4" long nose pliers @ that u can change the direction as when u pull the handle either it pulls in the ring @ push it out + bit more expensive 2.

I know hardware shop have, but bro. SC have limited tools mah!.....hahaha:rofl: