how to modify D16A???

thank you for all the sifu's opinion....
But im not going to transplant any big V inside... it cost alot.. for half cut and modify....
the best way to speed up D16 is to turbo it, which one of my fren done it, it can bungkus vtec for sure...for 1.6 to 1.6 la....
the basis for big V need around 6k, but turbo need around tat price too..

what i want is to speed up my D16 with some part added.... what is ur opinion????

Do keep in mind that N/A D16 is also quite a number puncher.. Problem is you might have to source through a lot of parts not available here.. :)

But for best balance between daily and power..
I'd say get a Piggyback and NOS it.. hahaha.. Yes! I am Pro-laughing gas.. :p

Actually it would be better to get the Accord SOHC 2.2 engine.. H22A SOHC.. then only do you NOS it..
Gives you a 145hp on the engine itself just the engine alone.. small hp but good loads of torque.. that's all you need for a daily driver.. easily takes you up Genting Highlands..
NOS only comes in when you are getting a little action at your local traffic light.. hehehe..

but that would be illegal ain't it? Hahaha.. :p You'd have problem registering the car.. From 1.6 to 2.2..

hmm... now that i think of it.. the cost for what i mentioned would be well over 7k.. hahahah...

ignore me.. im just in my usual rants of my D-period..

Do not succumb to the B's! :p or K's! hahhahahaa... hope i dont make any enemies here..

the d is already a good engine. no point spending too much unless u want to turbo it and use forged pistons.

asked the price for a proper turbo and was quoted min rm6k so equivalent to big V price.

just change air filter, plugs, exhaust, the usual minor items enough...

run my high compression piston for D-series and racing cam from Cat cams belgium.u should rock ur car!
will around rm2.4k for tat 2 item.thanx!

haha...brother tec....put D16a turbo la...

no need think other la....hehe

WalBro(Apexi) said:
run my high compression piston for D-series and racing cam from Cat cams belgium.u should rock ur car!
will around rm2.4k for tat 2 item.thanx!

Hahaha... somehow I knew you would be coming in here.. :)

Dont mean to be a biatch but here you go.. hahaha... :p
http://blurscrib.topcities.com/Project-7sec/index.html

Flame on you haters!

Hawke said:
the d is already a good engine. no point spending too much unless u want to turbo it and use forged pistons.

asked the price for a proper turbo and was quoted min rm6k so equivalent to big V price.

just change air filter, plugs, exhaust, the usual minor items enough...

Yeap.. same thought.. it's hard to get big numbers if you are going N/A.. but SOHC V-tec by itself is a very good engine already.. very very under-rated here in malaysia.. :|

So far the highest i saw pushed out of a N/A vtec was 14x or 15x on the wheel... let me look for the article from my pile of mags...

blur_civic said:
Dont mean to be a biatch but here you go.. hahaha... :p
http://blurscrib.topcities.com/Project-7sec/index.html

Flame on you haters!

R-E-S-P-E-C-T

IMO... boost your D series 1st... see how

if kaboom... go for big Bro

i got an offer before to boost the D16.. it was to redo all the pulleys into aluminium, port and polish with forged pistons and later in the stage get in 272 cams. It was guaranteed to kick any vtec in the 1.6 series big or small.. it cost less than getting a transplant in together with jpj paper work..

but for me, i'd rather go for N/A. i like the sudden boost feeling from the big vtec. a real sense of thrill.. but that's just me..

i just wonder if i put in the B16 with cams and aluminium pulley will i be able to catch up to the GSRs...

If u plan to play with N/A... dun waste ur dough on ur D series motor. straight away transplant the big Bro..

haha.. figured from ur nick.. wut's the diff of the lil vee and the big vee? (besides the marking on the cover)
the only answer i got before was the cams are diff....
?????

Dun get be wrong.. this d16y8 is a SOHC vtec

the big/small Vtec referring to DOHC motor.. b16a1(small-160hp) and b16a2(big-170hp)

ya i know.. the d means single cam and B means dohc.. the diff in hp is not that much in a big v and small v.. but wut is diff inside?
as far as i've heard, the cams in the big v has a slightly higher degree... is that true??

since ur a fellow single cam, i have one more question (sorry for being such a pain)..
the japan spec for the d16 is a zc, there's a dohc version twin carb and a EFI version. i have the EFI sohc version which i had to change due to my old d16's bottom block condenmed.. is the specs diff?

go to sohchonda.com if u wan to know your D16 engine better...

zc is the engine code before the vtecs came in if i'm not mistaken...
the most powerful honda engine then was a zc twin carb... then they came out with the EFI version.. mine's the EFI version but it's the sohc version..

later came the almighty variable valve, timing and electronic controlled engine which they call VTEC now...