B16B or B16A engine

Less than 10K? Reliable or not one? What to change if budget is less than 10K for B20B setup? I heard a lot need to change one lah.. starting from the rods up to the block oh!

depend how u setup n how fast u wan ur car go.....
example
- b20b block rm 900
-vtech hose rm 500
-water pump rm 250
-timing belt+bearing rm 180
- skim block+piston mod rm 450
- vtech head rm 600
-b16a intake+thortle+extractor rm 350
-eg ecu+wiring 800
-gearbox+clutch+starter rm 2800
-labour chrage market price 1500-1800
-distributer rm 300
-head gasket rm 120
-h22a injector (optional) rm 450
total = 9500

this was most basic setup for b20b n can get 170 whp n torque 19.++

if u thinking to port head maybe extra about 5-600
typer r cam 1300
n so on..... may cost more then 10 k

so y go for b16a/b16b
since b20b got a very good torque if best of fuel consumption then b16a/b16b
its gets lot of low rev power for city/street/uphill driving

u can ask for those has try b4 b16a vs b20b+vtech (i mean both also stock on piston/head/cam) on their own car he will tell what the different

even hattech -v also go for b20b very soon
ada betul ka suhaimie...:P

Oh.. means still use back stock B20 piston and conrods etc?

Suhaimi no need B20 vtec already so fast! Kasi orang chance overtake la mie! :P

DcLoo...
If I already got the B16A inside, mean I can save some penny here :-
- vtech head rm 600
-eg ecu+wiring 800
-distributer rm 300

You already have a B16A then you would want the B20 bottom block, not the VTEC head because you already have it. Don't forget your brake upgrade, safety is important when you go fasssst.

yes.. this most important
when ur car was over 170whp original ek 4 disc won't allowed u stop safety
this i have happen on myself last time so i upgrade it to 4 port
now fell more comfort when driving at high speed/drag...

DcLoo...
If I already got the B16A inside, mean I can save some penny here :-
- vtech head rm 600
-eg ecu+wiring 800
-distributer rm 300

if u have 10k budget can change lots ler..
ahhaa....
piston/con rod/cam/block guard
ur car can go pretty fast ....:omg_smile:

if u have 10k budget can change lots ler..
ahhaa....
piston/con rod/cam/block guard
ur car can go pretty fast ....:omg_smile:

heh heh heh..

DcLoo, mind to share how to make the B20 save to rev more than 8K rpm??? I have seen the block guard broken into pieces in one of the workshop here (block belong to the mech)..some say by doing the balancing can withstand to 10K rpm and some say need to change most part. any advice?

Bro,

I've heard There's no way u can rev more than 8K wif da b20b block unless u send ur block 2 DART(in US) 2 request them 2 resleeve it 4 u. Even that also depends on what size of da piston that u r using. DA safest bet is remain 84 / 84.5 wif resleeve set that mayb u can rev till 10K rpm.

Read last month's HT (not sure which month actually but the cover is a chocolate EK Coupe) article on B Series blocks from the owner of DART himself. He explained in detail characteristics of a good block. He also explained the characteristics of a DART block.

Bani? i'm not even dare to ask woo.....very scared to his monsta wooo..

how come in kuching here, b18cR is cheaper than b16b? i know one B18CR with 25k milleage going for 10k only. anyone interested? can shipped to kl :P
B16B here is too hard to source in kuching.

Just curious.. is that engine only? No gearbox, Ecu, etc?

ooOo..now that's interesting. Too bad i dont have that kinda cash :( *snif

heh heh heh..

DcLoo, mind to share how to make the B20 save to rev more than 8K rpm??? I have seen the block guard broken into pieces in one of the workshop here (block belong to the mech)..some say by doing the balancing can withstand to 10K rpm and some say need to change most part. any advice?

heard that with a proper job done and setup yes it can goes beyond 8kRPM i believed..the key words is ->MALAYSIA BOLEH maaaaa!!!!

but my advise is pls get a gud mechanic hahahahhaahha