Soch Vtec convert to Doch VTEC problem

madrick

Hi, all. I'm using a stock sohc Vtech (auto) engine, can I convert to Dohc VTEC and what are the parts needed and if anyone have done it before how much will it cost? Need advice cause sohc vtech is very slow lar. Last time using saga 1.5 with light mod, I think better than my ej6 now. Thanx.

Regards,
MADRICK

Yo bro, go for Dohc Vtec ... Sohc cannot be converted to Dohc as far as I know ..

Hehe.. for mine, including the workmanship is about 10.5K+ for all.

And the halfcut is about 5K+ (get the brakes along with the halfcut, since you'll definitely want the front and rear disc conversion as well)

After that, you have to contend with:-

Seals, gaskets, hoses, timing belt/water pump, plugs, bushes for the engine mounts, etc. etc.
That would come to about 2-3K+ (or more) depending on how many items must/you want to change, or how many things you got second hand, or reusing stuff from the halfcut.

Of course, for me, since the engine is out, it's a nice time to freshen up the engine bay (add cost for cleaning and spraying), RM1K

Workmanship can vary a lot, but I paid 1.5K for mine, since there was a lot of work to be done.

I think if you want to prepare for all eventualities, consider 10K to be required for starters (it could possibly be cheaper depending on stuff you're changing, but you know how old those halfcuts are, don't you?)

madrick said:
Hi, all. I'm using a stock sohc Vtech (auto) engine, can I convert to Dohc VTEC..

gearbox + pomen:
sohc oto -->sohc manual = below 1.5k

hafkat + pomen:
sohc oto -->dohc oto = below 6.5k
sohc oto -->dohc manual = below 7.5k

basic bajet for eg model. EK, need to ask hattech-v la.. hehe.. :regular_smile:

p/s: refer note fr shiroitenshi_san! that 'xtra thing', u must consider too..

Oic....sure need lots of $$$ to get it all done. Thanx for your info guys. BTW do you guys know the best w/syop for honda conversion? I might need suggestions. hattech-v, which w/shop did you go last time? You also shiroitenshi's?

I did mine in Wang Teng Guan, Jalan Pengkalan Chepa, Kota Bharu, Kelantan.. Still waiting for the car to be towed back from spraying the engine bay, the engine is still on the floor at the moment. I suggest you send for cleaning and spraying as well, since it's the only chance you'll get to get a clean engine bay for a long while.

Stuff done already: CTR 5 lug arms and discs (these costs a tidy sum if you manage to locate one with all CTR upper arms intact, but for your purpose, the EG6/9 discs should be enough, and usually comes with the halfcut. I did mine in anticipation of more power down the road), install sports suspension, changed all gaskets, repainting the valve cover, changed all rubber seals, new battery, changed front suspension subframe (the old one rusted on places), chassis realignment, new bushes, new plugs. You can see the parts I'm putting on my car in my sig. Depending on the quality of the fluids, expect about 300-400 for engine oil, brake fluid, coolant additives, power steering fluid, etc.

Trust me.. I initially thought 8K was enough.. big mistake! You should remember that some of these halfcuts been sitting around for YEARS! You'll lose a lot of money in workmanship costs if a rubber seal/gasket fails in parts where the engine needs to be taken out

its good to do what shirotenshi has done : get engine tip-top before planting it into its new home. better for the long run....

Ya..lah I think that is the best way. But it will take long time before can get it all done.^_^
^ _^

carnage said:
normally 2 weeks can kowtim la... dont worry, good things will come 2 those
who waits...

Actually, it really takes only a day to take out the engine, and another to put in the engine. Servicing the engine (if you have all the parts at hand) will also take only one day or two, depending if you're replacing some parts on the transmission. If your workshop allow you to have a hand in the process, you might be looking at some fun at wrenching.

Just my 2 cents.

last time i did my b16a conversion for 33 days... n everyday i have to come to supervise their job... sigh.... when it done, the mech told me that mine is the first vtec doing conversion there... wtf...

just wanna share my experience...
it takes 5 weaks to have my b16a pnp and engine overhaul...
the reason...my foreman delay my car for other "minor" car work....
I almost wanna change workshop but when the foreman "janji" I give him a 2nd chance....
Now my car is out and "screaming" happily...
It pays to wait....but when u wait to long just hentam ur foremen...
Just my 2 cents...

Write your reply...