how to modify D16A???

I think the cheapest and fastest way to boost power for d16 is to turbo charge the civic,and had a high boast of 1.1,it can hit 280hp or u can boost lower let said 0.8 will had a horsepower of 180 to 190 hp ;)

will turbo charging reduce the life span of the engine and other parts as well? i was told by one of my friend that to turbo charge to 0.5 so that the engine can last longer, is it true? how much diff in hp if having this kind of low pressure turbo compare to original hp? and what's the cost of having my car turbo charge? mine is ori EJ auto.

well...if u dont booast too high let said 0.5 t0 0.8,the engine i think can last around 2 years maxiumm,if u high boast to 1.1 like me...the shelf life for the engine will only last you 1 year or less......but u will have fun cruising on the street beating many car ;)

Dont mind that i try to set things straight here k guys? can't stand bad information..

you CAN'T say for sure how short your engine life will be.. there are too many things to consider...

First of all.. 0.5? 0.8? It is not about the bar although it does play a role.. it is the size of the turbocharger too.. 0.5 on a big turbocharger is different on 0.5 on a smaller one.. so i can actually boost 0.8 on a smaller turbo and still not strain the engine as much as 0.5 on a big turbo...

Second.. just because you boost high does not mean your engine will have a shorter span.. it is all in the tuning.. with bad tuning anyone can fry a piston on a 0.2bar boost on a peanut turbine.. just lean the fuel off.. and there you have it..
but with good tuning.. an engine can run much longer than any "built tough" cars.. nyee hee hee.. (Were you guys thinking Ford or Proton when i mentioned "built tough"? :p anyway.. it's just a pun/expression... no offense intended)

Third.. 2 guys might have the exact same setup.. but one might get his engine blown off first and another guys engine might last for a lifetime.. why? it's the way they drive.. you don't expect a guy who drives like his ass is on fire all the time to have a good healthy engine.. but then again.. tuning comes in to play..

Another thing.. with the same theory i mentioned above.. you can't say how much horsepower on the amount of boost cause you have to take into account the turbocharger too.. :)

blur civic
nice testi!

http://www.d-series.org/forums/showthread.php?t=18027&page=1&pp=20

blur_civic said:
Dont mind that i try to set things straight here k guys? can't stand bad information..

Thanks for sharing blur civic......each to his own....all go down too $$$$$$$ i should said......anyway here is a useful website to share with you guys after many diy experiments....

http://www.e-tuningshop.com/projectA/

cheers ;)

EG8.. wah.. hahaha... you registered to D-series.org? Give me a thread and I'll give you a rep.. ;p

winwar2.. yeah... true.. it all boils down to how much money you want to put in.. it does make the world go round to an extreme extent.. :) checking out projectA now.. :) see lots of EK's..

blur_civic
im a passive reader over there la... did gained some good info over there... D series in Malaysia, heck, we r underdog dude.nemind ler hehehe... at least i still can sourced my D parts easily that will be good already.

lilvee said:
come come... yam cha...

set a date and place...

i'm also upgraded my fuel pump to walbro 255kl/ph... scared not enough fuel

i only wil b free between weekend....
i think better around subang area la.....k....

eg8,
I love their dyno charts man.. :p here.. we even have ppl asking about what D series engine theirs is.. as a matter of fact.. i don't even know FOR SURE whether mine is a D16Y7.. hahahah... :p just took the closest i can get..

EK,
Subang is not a prob.. :) if weekend then definitely have to be the weekend after this coming weekend...

hey guys... seriously go yam cha man.. don't want talk talk then tarak liau...

i had been quoted RM3K++ for bolt on turbo for my D16Y, is the price reasonable? I already got vafc but i still need new whole exhaust system right?

i'm planning on keeping my engine NA
by the way its a d16 non-vtec
to increase the compression ratio is it possible to do so by using a stock gasket, which has 3 layers and removing one layer. is there any other gaskets that can be used?
and how much would the workmanship usually cost?

Workmanship should be the same as the usual changing gasket routine.. the costly part might be from the gasket itself.. :)