Lucky both of you write together then reminded me there's a vacuum hose, when wrongly used, it will increase idling by 500rpm, or vise versa reduce by 500rpm. I also kena this before.
Unfortunately I forgot what is the exact name. But the pipe quite big one, not small small one. i.e. around 25mm diameter.
For my case, at first my mechanic didn't know where to plug it, then simply cucuk into the air-box plenum, causing idling increase from 950rpm to 1500rpm. But the funny thing is after driving one week, then idling slowly reduce to 950rpm. Beautiful, but everytime after remove ECU battery, reset, it will start at 1500rpm. So mafan. Another way to let it reduce to 950rpm (official target, see blacktop manual). Is to RACE the car, i.e. go Sepang 5 laps, or Batu_3 (rip) 5 laps, kautim. i.e. go find a place self racing then OK for me. But this is not the proper way lor.
Later we found out, then my mechanic simply closed the pipe and lubang, but idling also OK but after some time idling drop to mati engine. i.e. after one week. This is exactly like above sentence, where ECU is self learning and compensating.
So, could you guys be facing this issue?
Proper idling is start engine, rev will go up to 1200rpm for 2 seconds then drop to 950rpm. Always, cold morning, hot afternoon, cold night. Regardless next to sea side beach or up in Genting 6000 feet. Regardless of ECU has memory or not.
Good luck.
Guys,
as i mention earlier after replacing the idling vacuum it was fine for 2-3days...
i've continue monitoring it.. but came back to its existing problemo....
its still revving up to 1200rpm or more... but the funny part is it goes up
either when i hit the clutch to change the gear or else when i switch on the aircond...
sometimes it stays at 1000rpm... but most of the time its more.... relly funny... However, i got an advice from my fren...
he mentioned it could be due to VVT pulley as well. yea my engine has that
"diesel" noise yet does it effect the timing as well?? anyone could advice me on this please?
cronixz...my situaition is TERBALIK with u!!my rpm goes down to 500rpm

my car oso got noisy DIESEL sound...maybe it was TRADEMARK for 20v。。lol