help!! my 20v idling problem!!

alex_khoo

Apr 17, 2006
im driving ae92 20v svt..my idling was suck when start sometime it go 1200- 1500rpm !then when it drop to 500rpm, alway mati engine tiba-tiba when open aircond(sometime not open aircond oso mati engine)!! juz tukar to ae92 injection fuel tank 3 week ago...but using caburater fuel tank nth happen:bawling:!!!

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
fuel line need bigger line.. 20v need more fuel than the 4AC

check spark plug, cable plug, coil, distributor..

check ur intake hose behind the AFM.. got holes or not.. my svt have this prob also..

Gudluck :burnout:

alex_khoo

Apr 17, 2006
fuel line need bigger line.. 20v need more fuel than the 4AC

check spark plug, cable plug, coil, distributor..

check ur intake hose behind the AFM.. got holes or not.. my svt have this prob also..

Gudluck :burnout:
bigger fuel line mean wat? plug cable how to check it normal anot? hose got hole mean it leaking?:hmmmm:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
bigger fuel line means the diameter of the pipe transferring the fuel to the engine is bigger.. but usually this doesn't cause it to mati engine.. it just causing loss of power.. a lil bit..

check cable.. is it loose? not connected well.. try to unplug it & plug it back..

check intake hose.. if got holes, it's leaking air & AFM can't function properly.. but u can't see air.. juz look for holes.. pic below..

:biggrin:

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Sounds like you have a leaking vacuum or clogging ISCV. It can be easily fix by a mech who has good experience with 20v. Where is your location?

FGT

May 19, 2007
Sounds like you have a leaking vacuum or clogging ISCV. It can be easily fix by a mech who has good experience with 20v. Where is your location?
+1 for this. Start with the easiest or cheapest stuff first. If it's clogged, it will usually act up when the engine is hot.

Cronixz

Jun 11, 2007
Had the same problem few weeks back... adjust timing still the same... took out d idling vacuum n cleaned n fixed back... within seconds issue persisted... then decided to replaced my idling vacuum ystday from halfcut which costs roun rm150. tested so far looks ok... but slightly higher 1200rpm but goes back 1k within seconds... lots of improvement.

running BT

alex_khoo

Apr 17, 2006
im from setapak...last time my ecu got problem oso fix by u 1...:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 11:55 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:52 AM ----------

i hv check de tank no rust..the tank ori fuel pump dint work so they change another 1 to me!! ya..it happen often when engine in hot condition:driver:

---------- Post added at 11:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:55 AM ----------

Had the same problem few weeks back... adjust timing still the same... took out d idling vacuum n cleaned n fixed back... within seconds issue persisted... then decided to replaced my idling vacuum ystday from halfcut which costs roun rm150. tested so far looks ok... but slightly higher 1200rpm but goes back 1k within seconds... lots of improvement.

running BT
i oso try to adjust timing myself but still the same!!:biggrin:...look like my problem maybe same v u!! where u service ur car in?:driver:

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
im from setapak...last time my ecu got problem oso fix by u 1...:biggrin:
OIC... :biggrin:
Idling problem quite often happening to SVT, but it can be resolve one don't worry.
Try look into the following (take one step first, if problem continue then move to next):
1) Vacuum leak - check all the vacuum hose and make sure no crack and in place tightly. Check your surge tank is sitting properlly.
2) *clean your idling speed cotrol valve. Chinozie website has a good DIY step by step instruction.
3) *clean your AFM's flap
4) *service your 4-throttle
5) admitted to 20V workshop - Cheras, Sg Besi, Puchong, Shah Alam, Old Klg Rd... you name it, we will give you the contact :biggrin:

*by using a good Carb Cleaner

IMHO, fuel supply interruption will cause jerking problem but not idling problem. Correct me if i am wrong ya.

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
happened to one of SVT owner...
the air intake rubber hose cracked...glue it with 1tone glue...solved the problem...

Cronixz

Jun 11, 2007
alex,

In kepong.... I believe Sifu Levin818 knows who I'm talking about...

alex_khoo

Apr 17, 2006
alex,

In kepong.... I believe Sifu Levin818 knows who I'm talking about...
today i send my car to kepong ah choy(goodspeed)

thing i do today~
~change fuel pump( take out n check got many dono is lumpur or karat inside)
~change ISCV( i ask him cannot service! he say better change it:hmmmm2:)
~change AFM tat black rubber( it too hard oledi n got crack)
~open the 4throttle plenum and put glue on it coz he say got air leaking
~check de ECU( take his ECU and try) but lucky my ECU no problem:driver:
~ adjust back the timming which he say my timming is to low( after adjust i found my car got a lil bit pick up...BUT the knocking sound cannot tahan when open aircond??:bawling:)
RESULT...the car no more mati engin tiba-tiba and the idiling normal 1200rpm then awhile drop to 900-1000rpm!
NOW the problem when i back to house and start car 1000rpm then awhile it drop to 450-550rpm and at tis time i open aircond!!! the car mati engine againt:adore: anyone know wat happen??:hmmmm::hmmmm:

kelvinyong83kh

Nov 20, 2010
may i know goodspped ( ah choy ) near by kepong where ar ???? coz currently i cant get any 4AGE engine pro shop yet ..... anyone give me advise ? or better shop near by klang valley area ??? my location at setapak also !!! thanks...

alex_khoo

Apr 17, 2006
at taman ehsan light industry area there! ur car wat probleM?...

hey guys,

just wanna ask if i want to transplant engine which engine should i put?...i'm kinda newbie here....so just wanna ask for some help. i used to own 1.5 wira...did a lot of mods to it, just not satisfied with all the extractor, fuel regulator, pnp, cams and all lah. the price of the mods where equal to a new engine. I plan to have an engine where can give me proper HP and not too much to handle. it also must be a turbo charged wan. the car also planning for everyday use so if...