external wastegate which sounds more ferocious?

- wats the purpose of a downpipe?
- is it advisable for a stock std GSR?
- wats the pros & cons?
- the cost is from 300-700, so expensive?

downpipe is actually for our car to sound more garang while boosting..got those vrsshhhh sound ..but as wht i heard it is not so good compare to those wastegates..it is a cheap ways to play ..its like ur using fishbone to control ur boost and actual aftermarket boost controller like AVC-R..
so to play sound the cheapest way is to use downpipe than using wastegates..
price for downpipe is around RM 300 oni , dat was the price quoted by this werkshop in pandan indah and for wastegate is RM 600 - few thousand depending wht brand ur buying and it is without installation summore..so total up to play a wastegate is around 1k++

pros : u will get more pick-up for those standard settings..
cons : if im not mistaken it will abuse more to ur turbine..
correct me if im wrong..

and i think if ur reli goin for a mod, wastegate is the best choice but for those poor ppl like me, if i have the money i oni can afford for downpipe..

GSR5559,
dude, thanks for ur explanation!

Gosh, it will abuses my turbine? so serious, man!..

I'm a pauper too, dun have much money :P
May i know, is there any sizes of the downpipe is for different range of power gained? just like our exhaust piping (2", 2.5". 3" etc)

Originally posted by PRO|ancer[GSR]@Aug 3 2004, 11:55 AM
GSR5559,
dude, thanks for ur explanation!

Gosh, it will abuses my turbine? so serious, man!..

I'm a pauper too, dun have much money :P
May i know, is there any sizes of the downpipe is for different range of power gained? just like our exhaust piping (2", 2.5". 3" etc)
no prob ude..about abusing turbine dats wht i heard le..dats why it is not advisable.
one it will make ur turbine lose power veri fast..eg: u got no back pressure anymore cus it will directly shoot out ..cant reli xplain well in here le..but jus imagination..

the size of downpipe depends to u le..if u want big den go for the big one le..if u want small den small le..there is no ready made downpipe..it is custom made to ur likings..i thnk this is the way how it werks..wen u go high rpm ur turbine will spools creating air and goes out to the exhaust piping,one route oni rite to the exhaust from the mnifold..but they will make another pipe facing the ground so dat wen u go high rpm it will make those grrr sound..as in haf to exhaust and half to dowpipe..hope im rite..dun reli now much but know how it looks like oni..
and i think if ur turbine is stock and plan to the downpipe , it is better to make it like 2" ..cus stock turbine is smal and dun need too big piping..2" is jus nice i guess

aiyo ur talking about waste pipe izzit ? the way u talk i damn confuse , like how come down pipe can make noise one ? :lol:

http://www.fivio.com/vestax/vr4/vr4wastepipe.jpeg
dump back to the exhaust system

http://www.fivio.com/vestax/vr4/vr4wastepipe2.jpeg
dump out to the atmosphere

yeah vestax at last u showed up..thats wht im trying to explain but even myself duno wht am i toking about oredi..dats why i said correct me if im wrong..jus my 2 cents..

the 1st pic is those original one rite? as in it wont make sound like wastegate but the 2nd pic will make sound rite cus one of he piping is bear naked and shoot out to the atmosphere..am i rite?

wha u two really got it worked out, well done.

one Q: does the wastegate sound blanket the BOV sound when boosting high rpm?

~

vestax,
wat r the significant differences btw this two in terms of power bandwith & "sound" produced?

hehe i donno actually , cause i never use any of them , im just using the standard one which is route back to the system .

well both pictures are showing and aftermarket wastepipe , difference between the first pic with the standard one , it has bigger diameter pipes then the standard ones .

yeah i wana ask oso if got wastepipe, does the bov produce anymore sound..mebi it will gete softer isit? cus the air all flows into the wastepipes ordi..den like dat no need to use bov anymore loe!!

blow off sound still can hear cause blow off is to blow off the pressure in your intercooler pipings when you lift off the throttle pedal = throttle shut close .

wastegate is different , once you hit your peak boost say 0.8 then your wastegate flap will open to by pass the exhaust gas , so that ur turbine wheel slows down cause its aready archiving the max boost . that is when you here the rough lorry sound , cause exhaust gas is been by passed from the wheel . this has notting to do with your blow off .

yeah i get wht u mean bro..i forgot..
wastegate oni sound wen throttle opens and bov psssh wen throttle closes..sori bro..kinda fool here..

well i guess you should read up howstuffworks on turbocharges , u`ll know why the wastegate is there :lol: . anyway the lorry sound only occur when u hit full boost .

if i not mistaken lorry sound oni occur wen hit full boost if using wastegate..but if those wastepipe oni i think even not full boost there will orry sound oredi rite? dats why ppl said it is not advisable to put wastepipe cus it might decrease ur performance at mid range..no back pressure oredi..correct me if im wrong

yeah the flappers are slightly open when it see's boost , when you hit max boost then it will flap open just like your house gate when you want to enter your house :lol: . i donno about back pressure , from what i read turbo engines does not need back pressure , like the n/a does . maybe the flow makes the performance decrease ? anyway im nto sure about this , maybe other sifu can help .

In an N/A engine, you need to size the exhaust diameter ideally so that each exhaust pulse meets an empty space, therefore the vacuum helps to 'suck' the gasses out faster. Confusing?

Ok imagine like this... when u drink teh-o-ais, suck the drink abt 1 cm up the straw, take it out of the glass, then suck 1 cm of air... keep alternating the drink and air... notice that the space of air sucks the drink along. This will not work with a very big straw. That's the concept... the exhaust gas and vacuum suck each other along.

In a turbo engine, the turbine blades have blended up the exhaust pulses, so in effect, a turbo's exhaust exits almost in a stream rather than in pulses.

Therefore, in a N/A engine, you need ideal pipe diameter. In a turbo engine, slap on the biggest ass pipe you can afford to.

ahah..thankz bro anyway understand alittle of it le..means for turbo setup the bigger is fine but for n/a the bigger the piping is there is lesser back pressure and decrese performance..am i rite?
but as i know if turbo using downpipe/wastepipe, performance is not that good compare using real wastegate like tial,hks,etc..becus for wastepipe oni the piping itself shooting the air out without any fange or watever ..as for wastegate there is sumthin inside it to make the air compress inside the housing and blew..am i rite..hope i dun make u guys confuse wif my sentence cus im oso kinda confusing wht am i toking about oso..haha

how does external wastegate sounds like???
any video clips????

Turbo-Kings out there,

anyone can try to enlighten mi (who needs more explanation) in order to understand & clear abt how a downpipe/wastepipe is functioing and their shorts & longs respectively, beside that, i would like to know When & How a wastegate will come into picture? so many doubts here.. Or maybe anyone can provide some websites which got explain the above qns? then can save u guys' effort of writting liao.. :lol: