I thought it was the other way round.. Bigger piping or straight all the way = low end pickup increase?
Bigger piping in the right-size range will increase high end. Straight piping without mufflers at big piping in the right-size range and 4-1 design will make a 100% high end setup. My opinion :)
long time din come in d eheehhee...
Sifu Fred, what project car you doing there? So long didnt see you :| Share with us your experiences. Respect!
thank bro for giving me comment . actualy is it really a correct set up for my piping since my ride is wira 1.5 vdo ecu .. i am using stock 4-1 extractor to bullet then after the bullet i install wira se silence box then to 2'' straight flow muffler all piping is stock 1.5'' . i wander is it correct set up since i loosing high end power (even my stock muffer high end power is better) but i gain some low end power
Bro, actually why you install the WiSE silencer box? WiSE silencer box is actually the catalytic converter that makes your FC bad and indirectly kills the power. In your piping wise, you should go for something like 1.7" if you want nice top speed. (1.5" good for pick up anyway, you can keep the stock piping). Next will be the question why you gain low end torque. This is because you got yourself a straight flow muffler that improves the low end. The stock wira has a big sflow muffler which produces backpressure for you to get good topspeed. Getting rid of it and by replacing straight flow muffler will free up the flow and reduces the delay of expelling the exhaust, thus, u get better power response in lower rpms. Hope you understand with this.
this is my ori xtractor, JDM short 4-1
http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/v/2003105549527701315
i now hav 2" piping (1.8" internal, crush bend) all the way till the end with a straight flow monza. in the middle there is a bullet with some kind of special flow inside, its not straight flow i guest, cant c tro, bought it at rm250, damn xpensive.
my car is a dohc 1.3l, old swift. seems abit out of breath when it reach 7.8k rpm, should i down size the piping? was thinking of downsizing the front part to 1.8", b4 bullet.
Xtorm bro, is that you wanna revv higher 7.8krpm to get the pushing continues? If yes, then you shouldn't downsize it because 7.8krpm is high end of the range, decreasing piping size with push the power to lower band which is not what you wanted. Besides, if you're going for extreme mods later on with your project car for
track draggings(not suitable for city driving), you should go for 2" straight piping all the way without mufflers and reduce the length of the piping by
NOT following the original route. You get me? :D
I'm learning the "BEST MUFFLER IS NO MUFFLER AT ALL" concept.
*this advice is go to track racers, not for illegal street racers*