.: Exhaust Modification Corner :.

chromeless1,

u mean now u r using 1.75" piping all the way from front to back (except muffler)?

1.75" for 1.5L engine might still be ok (bigger than 2" is a no-no)... is ur twintip muffler a straight flow or s-flow? if urs is a s-flow, u might want to consider chg to 4-2-1 xtractor.. IMO, it would be best for low end pickup.. if u already have a straight flow... hm... maybe best maintain the 4-1 extractor...

my 2 sen nia.

ohh..so using the 1.75" piping is still good eh? my muffler now is s-flow..but the FC is consider high i guess..myb wanna try swapping back to the ori 1.5" piping...so what would this setup give?does it gives the same amount of power?and does it lower the FC? i am considering 4-2-1 extractor..waiting for my budget...so for the time being just wanna try-and-error...

Sorry to disturb.

Bro, i see a very big problem with your setup. Why? You got 1.75" piping(increased from 1.5" ori) then you have a SFLOW muffler (instead of WISE ori muffler which is straight flow) and then, u got 4-1 extractor. I wonder if you have a swirling bullet which replaces your stock midbox???

See... a big question mark is that since you're running a manual tranny, why you go all the way for 100% pushing your power band up till so high which i mean you are modifying the setup for a better high rpm power which will sacrifice your pick up a lot. The main problem that is significant here is that your pick up will lousier than your original and there is where your fuel consumes more but produces same amount of power. See once more...

4-1 => high end power
bigger piping to 1.75" => high end power
SFLOW rear muffler => high end power

*this is imbalanced setup for a manual that sacrifices your low end torque.

Hmm, anyway, it is my 2 cents only. If any more opinions from sifu here, pls teach.. help him..

what kweng say i agree too...

4-1 => high end power
SFLOW rear muffler => high end power **

** but SFLOW i dont think is target for high end power.. straight flow
is for high end power.. if i not mistaken la.. thats y turbo MUST use
a straight flow to get the high end power....

my opinion nia..

4-1 => high end power

my opinion nia..

yo sifu i kind of blur.......
how about mine with ori 1.5" piping 4-1 with bulet and SE silence box and straight flow muffler 2" inlet.. mine is manual. Is it my set up for high end or low end? i found my low end better then my ori sflow muffler and high end not as good as my stock sflow..

4-1 => high end power

my opinion nia..

Oh, im referring to NA only and for manual tranny. If auto, sflow is for low end. If it comes to Turbo, totally different case already coz' many aspects need to be taken account with different demand of the individual.

how about mine with ori 1.5" piping 4-1 with bulet and SE silence box and straight flow muffler 2" inlet.. mine is manual. Is it my set up for high end or low end? i found my low end better then my ori sflow muffler and high end not as good as my stock sflow..

Non-sifu here. Bro, limited comments that i can make here since i dunno what car r u driving now. Your setup is what i call BALANCED set up. Surely you will get better pick up comparing to last time with stock sflow muffler. Now u r using free flow muffler that makes you benefit from faster throttle response in low rpm. Well, when u gain something , u will lose something. Your pick up gets stronger, your top speed drops. LIke i said, i can give limited suggestions coz i dunno your car CC and what engine u r running. U can give me a call or msn me([email protected]) anytime.

*my 2 cents afterall

hmm.. i need comment on my car... im driving waja 1.6(A) 4G18.. change my exhaust system except the extractor only.. so basically the setup is like this.. stock extractor than stock center bullet and piping 2" and added swirl center bullet and sflow muffler... btw the piping i follow original exhaust route not straight piping...

1st of all, i m no sifu la. juz advice base on experience only. from ur info, it seems your setup is for high end.. (i am assuming ur 4-1 is not the stock one.. ie a long 4 pipe and join to 1 at the bottom of engine)..

Oh, im referring to NA only and for manual tranny. If auto, sflow is for low end. If it comes to Turbo, totally different case already coz' many aspects need to be taken account with different demand of the individual.
from my experience... when i test drove my fren's 1.6 MT waja NA, changing to straight flow ALSO lose low end torque. must press over 3000rpm only can feel the surge. this is still on stock piping diameter from front to back. he need to change center bullet to a taper type (smaller diameter at center) to get back the backpressure needed for low end torque. i test drove the car many times, thats how i and my fren deduce the conclusion.

doncityz: the waja just change muffler only or already change from top to bottom? Straight flow is the muffler or straight piping from extractor?

As for 12oY, it is not really high end setup. That's why he don't gain high end power currently. Hope he is here to talk more about his car details.

hohoho...thanx kweng and doncityz...so meaning that the ori setup for wira SE is?cuz it uses 4-2-1 extractor (low end), 1.75" piping with midbox (high end) and straight flow muffler (high end)...is it?they say this setup adds 8HP from the normal wira setup...humm..wonder if wira SE users suffers high FC or get pretty much the same as normal wira's FC?...any reviews on this sifuss??cuz myfren says that FC not so diff between normal wira and wiraSE..

Finally, GTi upgraded with N1 racing muffler (titanium) + 2" Pipe + FGK silencer.

It sound so nice and awesome... it wouldn't too loud (which is what I wanted) and I totally can feel my car can sound at the first time. I feel like I am on N1 racing track every time I am on drive. Thanks to KWeng recommendations in http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/. And Ah Wah as well the Exhaust Sifu on workshop there.

The whole thing cost me RM600. Hopefully, I wouldn't meet with police / JPJ road block, may Car God be mercy to have my GTi avoid the authority kacau... worst come to worst... kasi kopi duit loh.

^_^

what do you ppl suggest with the below specs...

b20b vtec turbo, boost level around .7bar

oncityz: the waja just change muffler only or already change from top to bottom? Straight flow is the muffler or straight piping from extractor?

straight flow is only muffler - hotbits. piping is still stock. so, the straight flow muffler reduces backpressure a bit, and already the car suffering low rpm torque.
if chg to straight flow muffler + straight piping fr extractor, a lot of backpressure is reduced... n our guess is low end torque will suffer even more. but high rpm torque does increase. for my fren and i, we are more of a city drivers.. so that low end torque is crucial 4 us. i mean, how often u want to use 5000rpm in city driving, right? unless u r in race track or highway drivers la..

my 1 sen nia.

I thought it was the other way round.. Bigger piping or straight all the way = low end pickup increase?

doncityz: the waja just change muffler only or already change from top to bottom? Straight flow is the muffler or straight piping from extractor?

As for 12oY, it is not really high end setup. That's why he don't gain high end power currently. Hope he is here to talk more about his car details.

thank bro for giving me comment . actualy is it really a correct set up for my piping since my ride is wira 1.5 vdo ecu .. i am using stock 4-1 extractor to bullet then after the bullet i install wira se silence box then to 2'' straight flow muffler all piping is stock 1.5'' . i wander is it correct set up since i loosing high end power (even my stock muffer high end power is better) but i gain some low end power

this is my ori xtractor, JDM short 4-1
http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/v/2003105549527701315

i now hav 2" piping (1.8" internal, crush bend) all the way till the end with a straight flow monza. in the middle there is a bullet with some kind of special flow inside, its not straight flow i guest, cant c tro, bought it at rm250, damn xpensive.

my car is a dohc 1.3l, old swift. seems abit out of breath when it reach 7.8k rpm, should i down size the piping? was thinking of downsizing the front part to 1.8", b4 bullet.

I thought it was the other way round.. Bigger piping or straight all the way = low end pickup increase?
Bigger piping in the right-size range will increase high end. Straight piping without mufflers at big piping in the right-size range and 4-1 design will make a 100% high end setup. My opinion :)

long time din come in d eheehhee...
Sifu Fred, what project car you doing there? So long didnt see you :| Share with us your experiences. Respect!

thank bro for giving me comment . actualy is it really a correct set up for my piping since my ride is wira 1.5 vdo ecu .. i am using stock 4-1 extractor to bullet then after the bullet i install wira se silence box then to 2'' straight flow muffler all piping is stock 1.5'' . i wander is it correct set up since i loosing high end power (even my stock muffer high end power is better) but i gain some low end power

Bro, actually why you install the WiSE silencer box? WiSE silencer box is actually the catalytic converter that makes your FC bad and indirectly kills the power. In your piping wise, you should go for something like 1.7" if you want nice top speed. (1.5" good for pick up anyway, you can keep the stock piping). Next will be the question why you gain low end torque. This is because you got yourself a straight flow muffler that improves the low end. The stock wira has a big sflow muffler which produces backpressure for you to get good topspeed. Getting rid of it and by replacing straight flow muffler will free up the flow and reduces the delay of expelling the exhaust, thus, u get better power response in lower rpms. Hope you understand with this.

this is my ori xtractor, JDM short 4-1
http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/v/2003105549527701315

i now hav 2" piping (1.8" internal, crush bend) all the way till the end with a straight flow monza. in the middle there is a bullet with some kind of special flow inside, its not straight flow i guest, cant c tro, bought it at rm250, damn xpensive.

my car is a dohc 1.3l, old swift. seems abit out of breath when it reach 7.8k rpm, should i down size the piping? was thinking of downsizing the front part to 1.8", b4 bullet.

Xtorm bro, is that you wanna revv higher 7.8krpm to get the pushing continues? If yes, then you shouldn't downsize it because 7.8krpm is high end of the range, decreasing piping size with push the power to lower band which is not what you wanted. Besides, if you're going for extreme mods later on with your project car for track draggings(not suitable for city driving), you should go for 2" straight piping all the way without mufflers and reduce the length of the piping by NOT following the original route. You get me? :D

I'm learning the "BEST MUFFLER IS NO MUFFLER AT ALL" concept.

*this advice is go to track racers, not for illegal street racers*

hmmm then i should considertaking out the so cal good for pickup bullet n put in a straigh flow....?

but 2" short lenght with no muffler, really gain power with such setup?