.: Exhaust Modification Corner :.

anyone try remove bullet just use one flexible pipe? i remove my bullet and using jasma certified muffler, sound not loud and surprisingly fuel consumption is better.

joe_mivec said:
Guest, mind tell me, the good exhaust setup for my Mivec1.6? coz this engine hv high rev behavior, so that the power and torque come late at high rpm only...so how the good setup if i wanna boost little bit low/mid end torque without sacrifiying the good high end torque? thanks...

Bro,

For high end power, 2.2" piping - midbox(straightflow) - SFLOW muffler (what type depends on your ride).

For good low end torque, use back original piping size , 2" piping - bullet(straightflow) - StraightFlow muffler(Titanium Muffler will look good :) )

If remaining top end power but adding a bit of low end torque, 2.2" piping - bullet(straightflow) - StraightFlow muffler (preferbly N1 Style)

20vturbo said:
anyone try remove bullet just use one flexible pipe? i remove my bullet and using jasma certified muffler, sound not loud and surprisingly fuel consumption is better.

Bro, u mean after the 'nenas' one whole straight piping back to JASMA muffler?? If yes, is yours a turbo car with 2.5" or 3" piping? It will not too loud for turbo cars to use such setting. Biasa setup for turbo.

kweng84 said:
Bro,

For high end power, 2.2" piping - midbox(straightflow) - SFLOW muffler (what type depends on your ride).

For good low end torque, use back original piping size , 2" piping - bullet(straightflow) - StraightFlow muffler(Titanium Muffler will look good :) )

If remaining top end power but adding a bit of low end torque, 2.2" piping - bullet(straightflow) - StraightFlow muffler (preferbly N1 Style)

ok i preffer the 3rd one....for StraightFlow muffler (preferbly N1 Style) which one better between ur FGK muffler and ur Titanium muffler? seen ur FGK look smaller than titanium one, did this FGK can gv me good performance without loud sound?

Bro wat u mean by ' geng " Good or bad -- Well since it good for me ........

need some opinion all sifu,

i owned myV 1.0SR.
wat da most suitable setup for me ?!

extrator + 1 bullet + original muffle ?
extrator + 2 bullet (reduce noise) + original muffle ?
extrator only ?!

i want not too loud sound and not very high fc also

hobcai: just my 2 cents...

MANUAL SETUP
1. Change extractor (without the CAT)
2. Change bullet (current one is empty, so throw !)
3. Back piping (change to 1.6", ori is 1.5")
4. Take away the S-Flow muffler (replace with not loud straight flow muffler)

Waaa.... :cry_smile: Kweng, u never told me abt dis thread...nice info bro...keep it up :_:

Been digging the Internet for a while to see whether if I can do calculation for my Kancil 850EZi EFI exhaust system size from extractor down to tthe tailpipes...

Here's what I've got so far...hope it gives u guys help

http://www.team-integra.net/sections/articles/showArticle.asp?ArticleID=50
http://www.team-integra.net/sections/articles/showArticle.asp?ArticleID=355
http://www.team-integra.net/sections/articles/showArticle.asp?ArticleID=47
http://www.team-integra.net/sections/articles/showArticle.asp?ArticleID=48

Thanks to FlameFox for dis links...some of the infos might suprise you for e.g.

1. You can make 4-1 extractor without loss in midrange torque!
2. Backpressure is not good, even ur driving an NA car wif Auto trans!

Furthermore, if you guys want to get a bit technical, u can try these calculators

1. Exhaust Header Length Computation By Bowling & Grippo
2. Calculate What Intake valve OD Would Be From RPM and CID.
3. Calculate what exhaust valve OD would be if you were maxing out the size of the Intake valve OD.

So far I've computed the followng
Input Parameters Are the Following:

* Header Tube OD (inches) = 1.54
* Engine Cubic Inch Displacement = 52
* Engine RPM = 6500

Computation Results:
The best header tube length to use is: 6.358642inches

The gory details also can be seen at http://victorylibrary.com/mopar/header-tech-c.htm

Sorry if my post is too long...just that there too much infos on these sites that I can absorb, maybe sifus here can digest further hehehe

hallo all...

my Mivec 1.6 manual is currently using 2.3 piping..stock manifold and downpipe, changed the center bullet and using loud (but not so loud la) muffler (taken from my fren Civic) with 2.5 outlet.

thinking about the manifold and dowpipe...should i keep it stock or change it?

btw...i`m also using HKS Superflow.

Thanks all.

donCityZ said:
papagoines.. those pages are very insightful. THANKS!
You are welcome...

found those sites while searching for do a tuned length calculation for my car's exhaust header...hope that's help :_:

all sifu..attention pls!!i want to ask wat if i change piping but put it at the ori piping route??will it still improve my torque??or maybe u guys tink its not worth it??thanx in advance....

kweng, i'm the one called u last time, was asked about install 2.5 piping + bullet + titanium muffler to my waja.

1 thing i want to clear my doubt b4 i install the exhaust to my waja. Currenly the JPJ rule got restrict on our mufller outlet size? what is the max we can put on our car?

Hi, I am looking for a suitable exhaust muffler/tailpipe to replace my leaking hotbits muffler/tailpipe on my GTi. I want the sound similiar to hotbits. Any recommendation?

kweng84 said:
hobcai: just my 2 cents...

MANUAL SETUP
1. Change extractor (without the CAT)
2. Change bullet (current one is empty, so throw !)
3. Back piping (change to 1.6", ori is 1.5")
4. Take away the S-Flow muffler (replace with not loud straight flow muffler)

how much does all the parts cost me ??!

below rm700??!

hello...very informative thread...huhu... im want to change my kelisa exhaust....wut kind of setup? i wan some torque power but not too much noise....neways im a newbie

Straight flow bullet (non-swirling) + flat type straight flow muffler (less noise) + 3-1 extractor which the inlet is slightly bigger than stock. Such mods give u better pick up power and midrange as well. If tested okay but top speed drop. Change piping to 1.6" size.

All Sifu here....
I like to change my exhaust system for my waja to 4-2-1 replace ori Catcon to centre bullet and muffler. I think this the basic upgrade.
Wanna ask, i got a second hand putra ori muffler (twin pipe). Is that good to replace my ori muffler? the putra muffler already 7 years old and mine 2 years old.... I heard ori putra also S-flow so it suitable for my auto car.