Evo IX

S9 - I replaced my cat yesterday with a 3" stainless steel straight pipe from JIC. The car seems more responsive and smoother. The decat has resulted in a deeper sounding sound from the exhaust, slightly louder but not unbearable. Do you have a straight pipe on your list of stuff?

Golfer,

Yeah, i think i'll replace tht as well... Wil try de exhuast sound 1st... My is HiPower409, heard is pretty loud... Hahaha... Affraid after changing de straight pipe as well i can no longer come hom in de wee hours liao... Hahaha... But i know tht it definately improve responses of de car...

Got a member intro me a US brand turbo kit - XS Power... Aming ard 400hp+... Hahaha... Pricing wise its cheaper than all Jap brands... But dunno abt it performance n reliability... De kit came with de 'turbo + exhuast manifold + turbo outlet + wastegate'!!! Very interesting as am in de midst of thinking how to solve de E9 problematic turbo thingy...

S9 - I heard of this XS Power but like you said, no one tried it before, so, don't know. Perhaps your friends who introduce you to it tried it before. I assume you have a BC on your list right? Well, hope the BC will help preserve your turbo... Now all you have to do is install 'em mods....

Stock IX BOV

Want to ask all you IX owners if your OE dumpvalve is the same as the MR dumpvalves, i.e. made of aluminium.

Here's a picture of the MR dumpvalve
http://www.gruppe-s.com/Evo/evoeng/mit_mrbpv.htm

Thanks for the confirmation, Golfer.

Storm, you should spend more time praying, i.e. staring, at your engine bay! =D

OK, next question, any of you IX owners who've changed to an aftermarket DV want to let go of your stocker?

Hi all ,
I'm one of the new member from Malacca , azizi , just bought my evo9 last 2 months. Unfortunately I just discover that the evo9 tubine won't last long. Good to know all of you .

Look as that as an excuse to get GT35R turbine kit! :D

But the stock unit should be ok as long as you don't turn up the boost.

asimofrenly,

Hi Azizi!!! :_: Am de Treasurer of de MLOC who r driving de white E9 - Andy!!! Glad tht u can join us here for chat!!! How's ur car doing? Did u mod anything???

Ok, as for de E9 turbine myself oso been doing lotsa hard research abt how to protect it... So for as i know a Boost Controller(BC) is a MUST!!! Eventhough u change small thingy like air fliter n exhuast, it might cos de boost spike up to 1.8bar thus broken ur turbine fins... Which is very dangerous... By getting de BC, u need to hv a seperate Boost Meter(BM) as well... So tht u can compare each other when ur car boost up... Normally BM reading r more accurate than BC... Some might said:'I put my high boost at 1.4bar but de turbine fins still broken...' Its bcos de 1.4bar from de BC might b 1.6 bar on de BM reading... So u need to get ur mechanic to 'communicate' both this BC & BM in order to get de correct reading n bar boosting thus protecting ur turbine!!! Hope this help!!!

Myself gonna do some minor mod this mth end... :_: Hope to meet up with u guyz more man!!!

Cheers!!!!

S9,

My BC shows the Boost hold while the BM shows the peak. So which one is more correct? I'm current using the average of both BM and BC :P

What BC u getting?

Shouldn't both the boost controller and boost meter correlate?

It's measuring the same thing (manifold pressure) and at the same point (vacuum line). Unless you tap one from the fuel pressure regulator and one from the blow-off vacuum, then you may get a variance of 1-2psi.

But again, both should read the same thing. If there's a difference, I'd hazard to guess that the boost meter is the one that's inaccurate.

LanEvo,

Mine is Profect B Spec II n Defi BM... Tht's y am saying u need ur mech to do 'communication' btw de 2... So tht it wil not over boost up to de dangerous level... For example, BC holding at 1.3 bar but ur BM reading at 1.5bar max... So from there u kinda adjust it... if u wanna BM to show 1.4bar, then u set de BC to mayb 1.25 or something due to ur testing... Why is tht there were 2 different reading from de 2 BC n BM, as far as i know is de method/machanisim both gadgets using to get de reading r different although its measuring at de same point mentioned by Mr. Cannonfodder...

:_:

hey there,
how is everyone doing ?? how come our thread so quiet huh? ahhahaha.. just drop by to say hi . M sorry becos i was too bz with work.. been outstation for weeks. hows everyone cars goin ??

s9,
hope to see ur car installed with those performance thingy soon! ..hahaha

LanEvo,
bro, when comin back? m eager to see ur car le? come back sarawak give me a call ya.

EE9,

Back to SG already :P didn't check your message. Well, will give u a call next month when i go back la.

EE9,

Yeah, i'll do it this mth end... Gotta postpone it for another wk from 21st... Diuuuuu... Everytime i wanna to spend time do my car, sure there are something up for me... :angry_smile: Hahaha...

LanEvo,

Rims price wil reacchme soon!!! :_:

S9,
hahahhaa, working is certainly more important than modding your cars! well, u must spend sometimes for ur car too la. The rims u mention is they gonna keep stock in kl or they will just help u to order from japan if u want?

S9 - Good luck with the modding!! Finally !!!
Recently installed a JIC 3"straight pipe (test pipe) and the car is very smooth now and not to mentioned the fuel consumption has also increased.. not sure why but I am certainly getting less mileage now!! I recommend the stariaght pipe for all you mod enthusiast.. Sound wise, slightly louder with lower bass..

Golfer,

So hv u decided on de Ralliart ECU yet? Mmm... From last mth AutoCar mag. ther do hv an artical abt de ECU... According to de editor, although Ralliart quoted 320hp with de ECU, de editor think its definately more than tht - accroding to his 'Butt-Dyno'!!! :_: Hahaha...

Am getting quote from frens abt de Pfc for E9 n de Tomei Ext. cam... Info should b getting back to me soon... Mmmm... B4 doing my 1st mod, am budgeting my 2nd mod dy... LoLzzzz... :_:

any idea how can i get myself getting a test drive for Evo IX ;)...really tempting to try....others Evo also can...anyone ?