Evo Ix

Exhaust system mod

Ok.. I'll start to make it a little more interesting. My latest mod is the exhaust system. Here is what I installed:

HKS Manifold
HKS Extension Kit
HKS Downpipe
HKS Silent Hi-power muffler
Cusco, front brace (non exhaust item)

The process was relatively painless but not without issues. Anyway, all is fixed and the car is running well. Throttle response is quite good. I am getting a very decent increase in hp from this mod. Boost meter showing peak of abt 1.7bar but this is only boost spike. Normally, it is something around 1.3 to 1.4bar. Dyno showed boost is at 1.29bar. So, not sure what exactly the actual peak boost is. Will be doing more work to try to find out why there is a difference and why there is a descrepency in the boost reading and what is showing on the dyno.

Did not change the catalytic converter because I did not want the exhaust to sound too loud. Removing the catalytic would certainly result in a louder exhaust noise.

Got some photos to share..

Exhaust system 2

The Silent Hi-Power is quite quiet on low rpms. almost the same as the oris (might be because the muffler is still new and the fibre inside is still new). However, after a spirited drive, the sound of the exhaust gets louder.... and nicer of course.

More photos..

Golfer,

Hey brader, now on leave for a wk due to de dual festival of Deepavali n Hari Raya! Hahaha... After de full exhuast system installed, how much HP u get? Let me hv a guess! Errr... Abt 15-20hp? Hahaha... U got de most garang E9 ard liao ler... Am aiming to do de same as u man... But only after new yr i guess...

wufpek, Yo fren, 1 of this few days v wil b having yamcha ler... hahaha... wanna join us? Can u pls PM me ur contact so tht i can inform u for de meet up! Ok? :wink:

stopid 9, as for de ARC air box, try SS Racing n N1! Am sure u wil b able to get de quote n part! Cheers!!!

Golfer,
Yo bro, wahlao eh. Ur Car really garang le.. Change so much stuff already huh. :) hows the difference?? Do u dynoed your car already? Cool for the whole exhaust system. Ur peak boost at 1.7 huh?? so high :) mine peak is now at only bout 1.55 only. maybe because of ur header u changed then ur boost jump so high. Cool! happy modding bro!

S9,
Yo man, hows everything?? gonna start modding ur car already?? beh tahan liao issit? So what book do u hunt in kkuniya? Any nice one? hehe..

Stopid9,
Hi man, nice to see new members here! ..hehehe .. Welcome!

EE9 - nice to hear from you my fren.
The throttle response is definately much better and I guess this will really affect my fuel consumption. Yet to complete a full tank of fuel, so, can't comment yet.
The hp increase is quite staggering. Before I installed the exhaust, i dynoed at 265whp. After exhaust, it was up to 318whp. Quite scarry. The 1.7bar was boost spike. The actual is around 1.3 to 1.4 bar. When on dyno, the clutch started slipping at abt7k rpm.

Question - have ou guys had a brake pad change yet? I was told that my brake pad is almost finished and I have only done abt 2700km.. wtf??? maybe i brake too much??
Any recommendations for brake pads?

To all the guys out there celebrating the festivities..Seasons Greetings and Happy Holidays.. Drive safely!!!

Golfer,
it is almost impossible for ur brake pads to finish at 2700km. Maybe u can try different garage and ask them. who knows the mechanic is like just want to earn your money? if for brake pads, go for endless or project miu. Both respectively nice ! :)

EE9 - Thanks for the advice on the brake pads. I will most likely go for Project Mu cause the is an authorised dealer here in Macau. I was quite shock too when I hear that the brake pad needs changing. I will check again. However, I started to hear squeking sound yesterday though!!

EE9,

Hey, i got myself 3 LanEvo mag. + a Evolution mag.... Very informative mag. but damn chat expensive ler... LoLz... 4 mag. cost me few hundred bucks ler... Hahaha... Inside de mag., they did compare all brands after mkt performance parts with de dyno results... But sadly i can onli view de pics + graphs without really knowing or understanding fully what de heck they r writing... LoLz... cos all in Jap. wordings.... Oso there r lots of nice body parts pics too...

Golfer, yeah... as for break pad, de 2 brands u mentioned r de most popular choice at de moment... I think for safety wise, u better change de pads... At de same time do ask de foreman to check ur break system whether izzit in normal working condition? Cos it really sound strange tht it wear so fast... Check de rotor, break hose, break pump n etc!!! Cheers bro.! :biggrin:

Hello guys,

Sorry been very quiet this past cpl of weeks...... been very bz. I tot i replied to stopid9' s question, i guess it did'nt come out. Wanted to wish u guys Selamat hari raya maaf zahir batin and happy holidays.

Wah golfer so many projects already done. On the brake pads, i've just sent for my 15k service, the mechs said i'm left with 30% of my pad. Golfer, there must be something wrong if you're only clocked up 2700km. I'm guessing out of the 3 of us, i'm using my car as daily so mine clocks up more mileage.

ZZ- Nice to hear from you! I use my car as my daily carriage as well but its just that home to work only abt 7kms!!!! so, if I only travel between home to work and home in a day, I only do abt 15kms!!!! So, unless I get into some sorta arrangement to bring my car to the zhuhai track, i've really got no hope in trying to take the car to the limit!! Unless one day I return to Malaysia and bring it home!!! now that would be a treat!!!!

Golfer,

Bringin ur baby back would be treat. Me n Storm r very lucky, we have good bunch ppl in MEOC n MLOC to enjoy our babies with. You'll be glad to know been toying with the idea of minor moddin maybe the exhaust system n air filter but not gonna do it anytime soon no money just finished my money on ICE.

ZZ - Yalah.. everytime I read abt your outings, convoys, TTs, meet-ups, gatherings and etc etc I envy you guys leh...Nvmind, something I can work on!!!
Hey, what ICE have you got installed??

NoTiGuY,

Hey, U means de body kit tht Original Runduce co-developed with Voltex for Evo IX? Yeah man... Tht's damn cool man! I was think of doing tht, but i guess de pricing wil keeping me from it!!! LoLz!!! Must b damn kao expansive lar... But i missed out de vol.24... Shit! I got vol.21, 23 n 25 now... Is vol.24 good ah? Ok... then i must go buy it soon... :biggrin:

Original Runduce: http://www.am-original.co.jp/

Feel free to visit them!!! :dancing2:

Buddies n frens,

Yo, this is de latest body parts from Original Runduce + Voltex for Evo IX!!! It really looks cool for me, what u guys think? If change to this kits, i think de intercooler hv to change to a bigger 1 oso as de intake from de front bumper looks big!!! At de moment stil no pricing announce yet... Hv to wait!

Mmm... Cool!!! :rolleyes:

ah... nice front and rear.. the side skirts are a little too gawdy for me... guess i must getting old... :(

NoTiGuY,

Yo Bro, I went to check for de Vol 24... But cant get it... Sigh!!! I think Vol 26 is out liao... Did u get it?

Golfer + ZinZan + EE9,

Yo, all u guys damn bz lately izzit? Y suddenly so quiet here ler? Hahaha... :biggrin:

Storm,

There's somethin wrong with the site. Twice i've posted n it did'nt show up. Been very bz. This week is bit ez but on the from weekends i wont be around. Any recomendations on place to party in Bangkok.

Golfer,

I've answered ur question since it did'nt show i'll answer again. My head unit is eclipse. My mid range components are DLS. Amp is Helix. I'm currently using cheapo 12' woofers but thinking upgrading to either DLS or rockford. I need the box to be smaller. Can only fit 1 golf bag at the moment.

ZZ - sounds like a pretty good setup. Aiyah, 12 inch how you want to save space? I think there is a recomended size box for different size sub. I use a single 10 inch MTX and it pumps pretty good. Check MTXs out. If you like bass, the MTX is quite solid. I can fit 2 golf bags in my boot with the 10 inch. The box is significanly reduced for a 10 inch. ZZ- sounds like you've got a great job travelling all the time and to nice places... jakarta.. bangkok... any chance coming to macau ah??

S9 - busy busy - just got back from S'pore on the weekend. Too blardy bad got no time to go to M'sia!! Otherwaise can join you guys for a TT!!