Evo Ix

Stormvolution 9 said:
mechfreak,

Wow, so RX8 seems like a cool nice car to hv man... Can rev up to 8500rpm means its a high revving engine... Mmmm... I like its 2+2 concept oso... RX8 is a chick magnet too ler... hehehe... :biggrin: Besides, is de rotory engine hard to mod huh? As far as i know, it is quite a complicated engine ler... Hv u do anything on de body kit side?

Sorry to hear tht u hv such a bad experience on Evo... Tht's y i said am suprised tht there r quite a number of frens + fellow forummers hv de tc problem almost at de same timing.. Cos for de last 2 wks alone, I think i heard abt 4-5 cases of tc failure... Strange!!! STi no doubt is a good choice, but u sure it doesnt hv similar tc problem? But 1 thing for sure, if u r a tail happy driver... STi wil b de right 1 for u ler... especially if u can master de DCCD thingy... hehehe... Good Luck buddy!

hi, just wondering ....wat do u mean by TC ? transfer case ? wat exactly is dat ? sorry duno much really :D

Stormvolution 9 said:
mechfreak,

Wow, so RX8 seems like a cool nice car to hv man... Can rev up to 8500rpm means its a high revving engine... Mmmm... I like its 2+2 concept oso... RX8 is a chick magnet too ler... hehehe... :biggrin: Besides, is de rotory engine hard to mod huh? As far as i know, it is quite a complicated engine ler... Hv u do anything on de body kit side?

Sorry to hear tht u hv such a bad experience on Evo... Tht's y i said am suprised tht there r quite a number of frens + fellow forummers hv de tc problem almost at de same timing.. Cos for de last 2 wks alone, I think i heard abt 4-5 cases of tc failure... Strange!!! STi no doubt is a good choice, but u sure it doesnt hv similar tc problem? But 1 thing for sure, if u r a tail happy driver... STi wil b de right 1 for u ler... especially if u can master de DCCD thingy... hehehe... Good Luck buddy!

may I ask wat exactly is the TC or transfer case problem is ?

Yo frens... hahaha... onli yest. I realised tht my 'tc' doesnt matched with what mechfreak 'tc' meant!!! LoLz... :biggrin: For my tc = Traction Control ler, whereas mechfreak tc = transfer case... Pai seh!!! Traction Control means AYC + ACD. For this 2 control systems, de lubricant oil used r very very important... Although i hvnt changed my (stil new), but heard from lots of sifus said better choose thicker oil... or at least use back de Mitsu oil (ori. oil)... With de right n good lubricant oil, it kinda giving de 2 systems better protection n smoother 'working environment'!

mechfreak, Oh yeah... forgot to tel u tht de turbo kick in onli at 4,400rpm for stock Scooby ler... hehehe... On this, Evo kinda better a bit lar... :tongue: But do u realised tht when come to shifting, Scooby is better... Somemore Scooby ride is more comfort compare to Evo... But Evo do hv more variety of after mkt parts to choose from, and more importantly in most cases r cheaper compare to Scooby's!!!

mechfreak,

Yo brader, mind to share y ur tc having strange sound n how u suspected it oredi 'koyak'? Does it affected ur driving especially when u corner?

Btw, how's de 18" rims feel for de RX8? Is Performance n power do compromise? Hehehe... jus wanna to know more abt de result after changing to bigger rims from de standard 1...

Golfer, lately travel lots for biz? How's ur IX? New parts arrived liao?

wufpek, how's ur car status now huh? Fixed dy? Wei, after it is fixed hor... Do u stil enjoy de warranty?

ZinZan said:
I was there last week, i was staying @ alila hotel in pencenongan. Bit far out not so central. For nightlife did u check out dragonfly or vertigo, very happening. The chickass were amazing.

dragonfly and vertigo is ok.. but there's a lot of happening places overthere... especially in Blok M area.. if you're into shopping i suggest you go to Mangga Dua hehe.. i usually stay in sofyan hotel in Cikini, jakarta.. hmm... maybe will be going overthere next week..

Iezz,

I went mangga 2. Hated it man. Was there for bout half an hour. Block M hmmmm didnt manage to go there.

ZinZan said:
Iezz,

I went mangga 2. Hated it man. Was there for bout half an hour. Block M hmmmm didnt manage to go there.

ic, actually there's not much thing at Mangga 2, only at level 2, optical shop where there's one chinese chick very pretty wo.. hehe.. Block M is like like KLCC , all loaded ppl in Jakarta Shops there.. a lot of chicks there also.. hehe...

Honestly i dont know what's the big fuss with Manggar 2. I tot their KLCC was plaza senayan n Plaza indonesia.

S9 - Got too much work!!! Not enough time to spend on the car, besides, parts still have not arrived yet.. damn, same reason, "on the ship, on its way from yatpun".. Tiu!!
Well, I'm just waiting for the ARC filter to arrive. The rest of the parts are already in HK, waiting for this last piece before they send the stuff over.

ZZ - decided on the meters?

Have not got time to do car part shopping. Been bz with work. I think S9 has changed his rims to 18.

ZinZan + Golfer,

Hey, me as bz as both of u oso... I guess EE9 same lar... Cos he seldom post lately!!! LoLz... :biggrin: As for de 18" rims, I gave up de idea of it liao... Been asking ard for opinion, but mostly said it is only good for looking. It increased fc! Tyres more expensive! Compromise on power (although not much)! Shield above tyres easy worn out! Harsher ride! Thinner tyres means really hv to jaga baik baik when driving @ Msia highway (postholes) which isnt my way of driving n etc!!! Hahaha... So stay @ 17" lor... But looking at few nicer rims...

Yo, heard tht HKS new Silent Hi-Power full Titanium exhuast (Type A / Type B ) not bad ler... Increase at least 12hp (Type B )! Now wanna to know how much izzit!

Stormvolution 9 said:
mechfreak,

Yo brader, mind to share y ur tc having strange sound n how u suspected it oredi 'koyak'? Does it affected ur driving especially when u corner?

had the tc replaced and teh sound is gone :) didnt really test cornering with it coz the noise is too unbearable. dare not take the risk

Btw, how's de 18" rims feel for de RX8? Is Performance n power do compromise? Hehehe... jus wanna to know more abt de result after changing to bigger rims from de standard 1...
the 18's are ok coz they r much lighter than the stock rims.. just have to be very careful with the potholes. car is more stable now due to the wider tyres.

Golfer, lately travel lots for biz? How's ur IX? New parts arrived liao?

wufpek, how's ur car status now huh? Fixed dy? Wei, after it is fixed hor... Do u stil enjoy de warranty?

how good is the e9 compared to the MR? any comments?

mechfreak said:
how good is the e9 compared to the MR? any comments?

Yo brader, basically Evo IX n MR r 95% same!!! Except its much talk abt MIVEC Turbo 4G63 engine! De MIVEC thingy in Evo IX is only controlling its air intake timing if am not wrong... Only for de next generation - Evo X, de MIVEC 4G63 wil b involving valve lifting + air intake timing! So I guess it wil b well over 320hp for stock Evo X!!!

After getting de MIVEC, Evo IX 4G63 hv better response than MR... Any rev above 3000rpm, u can feel power of de car... Its more torquey now... Its raring to go anytime... The turbo kick-in earlier than de MR... In other words, turbo lag r now very very minimal or infact non at all!!! Besides, de aerodynamic of both cars r different of cause! De spec. said with de new designed aerodynamic, de IX engine get better cooling... but by how many % only god knows!!! LoLz... :biggrin:

Yo fellow IX owners, any other advantages over de MR? For me, i can onli think of this few things at this moment ler... hehehe...

S9,

yo brother, how r u? still bz n bz with ur work? i just sent my car to skim the front brake disc, bengkok like hell, just wonder u ppl got face this problem or not.

just curious Evo 9 turbo kick in at what rpm range? coz my MR kick in 3K, the 3K++ already full bar.....:P

Law,

Brake rotors are quite common prob. I've been told by changing the brake pads would reduce the prob. Most of the MEOC members have switched to EBC. Me personally i have not noticed any probs yet. S9 what r ur tots on this?

ZinZan,

o..ic...just wonder this problem coz by the brake pad? i still cant find out what coz it happend. my family CRV and perdana also having this problem, but after skim it then no more problem already. i just skim it, now no more viration when braking, so just tot happend again i will change the disc to better brake disc...

Law,

I've been told its pad transferance (technical term, mite gotten it wrong tho). On my car when the brakes r heated i do feel bit of warble when braking but not so noticeable.