Evo Ix

ZinZan,

what happend to ur turbo? got any pic ?..so weird the new turbo busted, sorry to hear that. so this should be warranty by Mofaz?.

ZinZan,

Hey brader, sorry to hear tht man... Hv u always run de car over de red line? Jus curious! Where it happened? U didnt boost up ur car right? Jus de speed cut thingy only, so i guess they wil hv to replace a brand new turbo to u lar... All de best man, if need any help do let me know!

cyilaw,

Yo fren, how r u doing man? Long time no chat u liao! Everything's fine with u? How's biz? Over myside, its really slow now as most ppl oredi half way holiday mood towards year end... :thumpdown Hahaha... How's both ur cars doing huh? Mine stil de same lar... hahaha...

ZZ - WOW!!!.. Its surely a sad day man!!
I am suprised that the turbo is so fragile.
I think that is why we need atleast some gauges in a turbo car to monitor the vital stats. the least is perhaps a boost gauge to see how much you boost cause that will tell you how hard your turbo is working!!! and also boost controller, cause you never know when those boost spikes will hurt..
Anyway, my heart goes out to you man!!! I hope you get it fixed asap and dealer will ganti baru.. if not, change bigger turbo bro!!! upgrade and mod.

S9 - time to seriously consider the SBC i-color.. its an all in one package and i heard that it retails for abt RM4200 (the display and boost controller). you will need to add sensors for monitoring boost, temperatures and etc.. worth checking out.

Cy: I didnt get any pics but the mofaz ppl caught some pics n goin to send it over to japan. We'll have to see whether it's covered or not. i'll try to get their pics n posted it here.
Storm: I hardly ever redline, i've prob hit the rev cut prob bout 4-5 times in the history of the car. When it happened i was revving bout 4.5k rpm. I heard some high pitched noise tot it was police later realised it came from my engine bay.
Golfer: need advise what turbo upgrade should i go for?

ZinZan,

Brader, if u thinking of upgrading ur turbo... What is ur targeted power like? 360hp? 400hp? 450hp or 500hp? Hehehe... Different turbo wil give u different output n end results... Wil kinda gather more info for u n for everyone of us here for future upgrade! Lately there r lots of good n reliable turbo kits from big brand company like HKS, Apexi, Trust n etc... Mostly r bolt-on! Jus heard from a fren who drove 400hp++ RX-7 n an 400hp+ Evo7 b4, said anything below 400hp, de internal dun not need upgrading or hardening! Mmm... Wil post more detail here once i got more info.! Take care man! :wink:

I was actually thinking of something of equivalent to OEM but then again might as well upgrade

cyilaw,

Yo fren, how r u doing man? Long time no chat u liao! Everything's fine with u? How's biz? Over myside, its really slow now as most ppl oredi half way holiday mood towards year end... :thumpdown Hahaha... How's both ur cars doing huh? Mine stil de same lar... hahaha...

hey hey, i'm doing fine here. i sit at home since mid august, really bad lucky for this year, cant get any job, will try hard on next year, now already bungkus waiting for chinese new year...hahahah...

now still thinking what to do with my wiralution, wanna sell it, but feel sayang, if dont sell just always put there, sayang also. just take out all meter from my wira put into my MR, install the pivot speed meter already to ignore the speed cut, if not benz also over take me ler, hehehe.....but now worry abit when going down to KL, scare my meter will target by those theives...:(

ZinZan,

may be should upgrade or replace with others same spec turbo, if get the OEM then busted again, waste time ler..:)...upgrade to 3037 spec turbo lah, of course not the HKS one, that will cost u a bomb. got way to get cheaper one. i feel that turbo in evo 7 before, very good respone and 3540 spec is quite scary on the power it produce, but will lag for this turbo.

cyilaw,

Hey, so now ur E8 MR very Keng liao lor after all de things being shifted from de other car? Hahaha... So when u r in KL, jus b very careful of where u park ur car lor... Place tht u can always hv n eye on ur car! Besides, hv u get de Voltex Generator liao? :biggrin: My side totally no news liao... If wanna get it, hv to b an ori. 1... Heard tht de price come down a bit liao...

Yo, can i ask u what boost meter u r currently using? Izzit good? Thx! :wink:

allenting said:
Hey there,

Any of u guys outthere own one yet ? plan to get one but i need more info compare to evo viii . Price in west malaysia ? coz i'm at east malaysia and Brunei price is B$ 72k OTR.

Appreciate any info would help.

cheers !

Hi there,

kinda of a newbie here, sorry i did not see this thread earlier, however so just and update i just bought an Evo IX at RM 209 K from Naza World in Kg Baru..but looking at your posting saying in Brunei abt $B 72 K then i guess its better u buy therelah much cheaper mah... :rock:

Stormvolution 9 said:
cyilaw,

Hey, so now ur E8 MR very Keng liao lor after all de things being shifted from de other car? Hahaha... So when u r in KL, jus b very careful of where u park ur car lor... Place tht u can always hv n eye on ur car! Besides, hv u get de Voltex Generator liao? :biggrin: My side totally no news liao... If wanna get it, hv to b an ori. 1... Heard tht de price come down a bit liao...

Yo, can i ask u what boost meter u r currently using? Izzit good? Thx! :wink:

hahaha...i just shifted my meter from wira to my evo, the mostly important thing havent take out from my wira, the haltech..hahhaha....next year will ship this thing to my evo..:P...so now just normal only, not geng at all, ur evo 9 can eat me anytime ler..:P

next monday i will down to KL and stay one night, but not with my evo. going to check out my mech place GT Auto, they installing the 4wd dyno, so next month can start dyno 4wd car already, i going to dyno my evo, wanna know how many power can get from the stock car.
i using defi now, really worry when parking at KL. most i have to park in shopping center, so some time hard to get eyes on my car. can depend the alarm system only..:(..before this i using the HKS Chrono, still prefer defi, more nice to me, so i ship all defi to my evo. u want the HKS?..i wanna let go with controler, cheap cheap..hehehe...

i still searching for the VG, if really can not get cheap type will get the orignial lo, no choice. next week will go KL search again, hopefully can get cheap cheap one then we all got the VG on our car roof...hehehe...

ZZ - started looking at turbo kits. there are many options out there and i am not knowledgeable enough to make any meaningful introduction. i sugest you ask the local mech or other fellow forumers who are more experienced. i am a HKS harcore (as you probably guessed) so, i tend to favour HKS. However, I hear that the Blitz turbos are also quite good and the spooling sound is very nice. To a certain extent, you may have to order kits from Japan or get the dealer/mech to order. There are plenty of options. The HKS signature turbos starts at 500hp output.. a bit of a monster.

Have you heard anything on the warranty?

Golfer - i've been researching on turbo's as well..... i'm quite inclined towards hks GT3037 as well, not that i've used any of their products but rest assured with the quality. Second on the i was thinking of Garret dont even know whether is compatible.

On the warranty nothing yet still waiting

kancillayanz said:
Hi there,

kinda of a newbie here, sorry i did not see this thread earlier, however so just and update i just bought an Evo IX at RM 209 K from Naza World in Kg Baru..but looking at your posting saying in Brunei abt $B 72 K then i guess its better u buy therelah much cheaper mah... :rock:

Yo fren!!! 1st of all, welcome u to the thread!!! And do hang ard in this thread to share more abt ur experience with ur IX!!! So what color is ur IX? Any upgrade yet? Hahaha... Yeeeessss... V got new fren again!

2ndly, u bought ur IX for RM290k or RM209k? Huh?!! If it is RM209k, is tht GSR spec or GT spec? Cos RM209k for a IX GSR spec is really impossible at de present moment especially u r buying from NAZA!!! I wanna buy 1 more to make some $$$ if it is really RM209k... hehehe...

I'll b bring 1 fren to my dealer side to view a IX this coming Sat.! Most properly he wil buy it! He is currently on an E7! Wanna to upgrade to IX!!! hehehe... Evo IX rock!

ZinZan,

Hey, abt de HKS GT3037 turbo kit... It should b a good choice... But i got a fren using it for his E8 with Motec ECU... according to him, it lack like nobody... v hv been convoy together with him b4... its a bit hard for him to 'follow' us as those winding road needs respone more than power... his kick-in is ard 4.5k rpm... when it was about to kick-in, there came a corner... Hahaha... So he was damn 'tulan' lar... But on a straight line... Whewww.... Dun play play... According to many, HKS GT 3037 should not behave in tht way... it should b very responesive... So v suspect it is down to de ECU tuning... but de problem is this fren done his car in a very 'reputable' performance shop in Sunway, somemore using Motec... STRANGE!!!

There is this HKS GT-RS turbo kit with the power ard 400hp... Lots of good feedback from de market at de moment... no internal upgrade (pistons + valves + springs + injectors) needed, jus bolt on... Now asking for de price quote... wil update here soon... As myself oso quite interested in it... By de way, how's ur warranty thingy going? Cheers!

S9,

may be ur frend tuning got problem, coz the E7 with 3037 i test is around 4K++rpm already full bar. btw, he using haltech..hehehehe...all tech tech now...

cyilaw,

Hehehe... Mayb lor, as i said i was suprised oso cos de car r being tuned by a reputable shop ler... Wil get more info n share here... hehehe... But to hv GT 3037 turbo, i think u hv to match it with either HKS 272 or 280 high cam in order to make de turbo work better... cos if it is using de stock cam, it tends to lack a bit lar... I saw an E7 track car with GT 3037 turbo with 272 cam + 2.2 stroker kit using HKS F Con V-Pro ECU... Stil doing tuning... According to de owner, it wil take him few mths time in order to get de best set up/tuning... n oso lotsa $$$!!! :tongue:

Wei, u tested an E7 with GT3037 ah? How's de power like huh? Should b damn scary rite? Cant imagine when it fully kick in tht time how fast de car wil b... Am sure I wil not b able to handle tht kinda power... Sigh!!!

kancillayanz said:
Hi there,

RM 209K for UNREGISTERED E9..???Are U SURE..???

Yeah man, 209k is really cheap.... i don think u can even get 8MR